to Jiggery

This forum is for discussing Reason. Questions, answers, ideas, and opinions... all apply.
User avatar
dannyF
Banned user
Posts: 359
Joined: 14 Jun 2019
Location: Uranus

Post 25 Jun 2021

Hi there. I notice when setting up a combinator buttons with Animus that min and max values for the "Enabled" parameter can only be "Off" or "Bypassed" ?

But there is no "Enabled" or "On" option ?

jiggery.png
You do not have the required permissions to view the files attached to this post.

User avatar
Italophile
Posts: 89
Joined: 16 Jan 2015

Post 27 Jun 2021

Works fine for me.
Screenshot 2021-06-27 204247.jpg
You do not have the required permissions to view the files attached to this post.

User avatar
Gardinski
Posts: 296
Joined: 04 Feb 2015

Post 27 Jun 2021

Italophile wrote:
27 Jun 2021
Works fine for me.
Likewise. Fine for me too. Are you sure you're not scrolling too fast between the options, DannyF? 'On' should definitely be there, between 'Off' & 'bypass', but the mouse/trackpad sometimes seems to jump really quickly from one extreme to the other when there are only three positions.

Perhaps you could try holding 'SHIFT' whilst you scroll. That generally slows the rotation of knobs/faders to allow for fine-tuning.

User avatar
dannyF
Banned user
Posts: 359
Joined: 14 Jun 2019
Location: Uranus

Post 27 Jun 2021

Italophile wrote:
27 Jun 2021
Works fine for me.
Screenshot 2021-06-27 204247.jpg
Did you try setting it to Bypass AND On ?

User avatar
Italophile
Posts: 89
Joined: 16 Jan 2015

Post 28 Jun 2021

dannyF wrote:
27 Jun 2021
Italophile wrote:
27 Jun 2021
Works fine for me.
Screenshot 2021-06-27 204247.jpg
Did you try setting it to Bypass AND On ?
Yes, all 3 values are available in both slots.
Screenshot 2021-06-28 084818.jpg
You do not have the required permissions to view the files attached to this post.

User avatar
Gardinski
Posts: 296
Joined: 04 Feb 2015

Post 28 Jun 2021

dannyF wrote:
27 Jun 2021
Did you try setting it to Bypass AND On ?
Yes. Bypass & On is really the only way you'll get any usable sounds out of it (assuming it's a simple combi with an instrument running straight into Animus). 'OFF' would kill the signal, effectively muting the instrument, so if you want to switch between wet and dry, you'll need 'Bypass and On'.

Either way though, it definitely shouldn't prevent 'on' from being available as an option in the 'mod routing' window.
Last edited by Gardinski on 28 Jun 2021, edited 1 time in total.

User avatar
Gardinski
Posts: 296
Joined: 04 Feb 2015

Post 28 Jun 2021

If you're still struggling to get 'On' to work, try this as a workaround... Instead of 'Enable' and 'Bypass/On', try configuring the button to trigger 'Dry/Wet' (with min set to 'zero' and max set to 40 percent, or however wet you want it).

For the patch you're using, it should have the same effect as 'Bypass/On'.

User avatar
rgdaniel
Posts: 492
Joined: 07 Sep 2017
Location: Canada

Post 28 Jun 2021

Holding Shift while scrolling up or down will definitely make it easier to dial in the settings.

User avatar
challism
Moderator
Posts: 2907
Joined: 17 Jan 2015

Post 29 Jun 2021

Gardinski wrote:
28 Jun 2021
dannyF wrote:
27 Jun 2021
Did you try setting it to Bypass AND On ?
Yes. Bypass & On is really the only way you'll get any usable sounds out of it (assuming it's a simple combi with an instrument running straight into Animus). 'OFF' would kill the signal, effectively muting the instrument, so if you want to switch between wet and dry, you'll need 'Bypass and On'.

Either way though, it definitely shouldn't prevent 'on' from being available as an option in the 'mod routing' window.
A bit off topic here, but I've always wondered why devices even have that "off" position. Seems pretty useless to me. Does anybody ever use the off position on purpose? Sometimes I do by accident, and it's always annoyed me.

I'm glad you guys go this Combi issue sorted for the OP.
~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~
Players are to MIDI what synthesizers are to waveforms.

ReasonTalk Rules and Guidelines

User avatar
challism
Moderator
Posts: 2907
Joined: 17 Jan 2015

Post 29 Jun 2021

Gardinski wrote:
28 Jun 2021
Yes. Bypass & On is really the only way you'll get any usable sounds out of it (assuming it's a simple combi with an instrument running straight into Animus). 'OFF' would kill the signal, effectively muting the instrument, so if you want to switch between wet and dry, you'll need 'Bypass and On'.
A bit off topic here, but I've always wondered why devices even have that "off" position. Seems pretty useless to me. Does anybody ever use the off position on purpose? Sometimes I do by accident, and it's always annoyed me.

I'm glad you guys got this Combi issue sorted for the OP.
~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~
Players are to MIDI what synthesizers are to waveforms.

ReasonTalk Rules and Guidelines

User avatar
MrFigg
Posts: 6981
Joined: 20 Apr 2018

Post 29 Jun 2021

challism wrote:
29 Jun 2021
Gardinski wrote:
28 Jun 2021
Yes. Bypass & On is really the only way you'll get any usable sounds out of it (assuming it's a simple combi with an instrument running straight into Animus). 'OFF' would kill the signal, effectively muting the instrument, so if you want to switch between wet and dry, you'll need 'Bypass and On'.
.

A bit off topic here, but I've always wondered why devices even have that "off" position. Seems pretty useless to me. Does anybody ever use the off position on purpose? Sometimes I do by accident, and it's always annoyed me.

I'm glad you guys got this Combi issue sorted for the OP.
I think it’s to save on DSP. You can switch them off when they are not being used
丰2ॐ

User avatar
orthodox
RE Developer
Posts: 1671
Joined: 22 Jan 2015

Post 29 Jun 2021

challism wrote:
29 Jun 2021
A bit off topic here, but I've always wondered why devices even have that "off" position. Seems pretty useless to me. Does anybody ever use the off position on purpose? Sometimes I do by accident, and it's always annoyed me.
It is there in case you should use it as a Send effect. I use it on parallel reverbs/delays sometimes.

User avatar
plaamook
Posts: 1697
Joined: 22 Jan 2015
Location: Abajo del mar...

Post 29 Jun 2021

MrFigg wrote:
29 Jun 2021
challism wrote:
29 Jun 2021

.

A bit off topic here, but I've always wondered why devices even have that "off" position. Seems pretty useless to me. Does anybody ever use the off position on purpose? Sometimes I do by accident, and it's always annoyed me.

I'm glad you guys got this Combi issue sorted for the OP.
I think it’s to save on DSP. You can switch them off when they are not being used
But Bypass saves DSP. Off just mutes the whole signal chain.
I''m w challism. Pointless feature.
You can check out my music here.
https://m.soundcloud.com/ericholmofficial

User avatar
MrFigg
Posts: 6981
Joined: 20 Apr 2018

Post 29 Jun 2021

plaamook wrote:
29 Jun 2021
MrFigg wrote:
29 Jun 2021


I think it’s to save on DSP. You can switch them off when they are not being used
But Bypass saves DSP. Off just mutes the whole signal chain.
I''m w challism. Pointless feature.
Sure. I’m with you both.
丰2ॐ

User avatar
selig
RE Developer
Posts: 9449
Joined: 15 Jan 2015
Location: The NorthWoods, CT, USA

Post 29 Jun 2021

challism wrote:
29 Jun 2021
Does anybody ever use the off position on purpose? Sometimes I do by accident, and it's always annoyed me.
Yes, I actually do find it useful, though only on rare occasion to be sure. A few of the ways I've found it useful are to mute a parallel chain to save DSP, to turn on/off a secondary signal such as a side-chain input or similar, or during trouble shooting on large complex setups that otherwise don't have a device anywhere that allows muting that particular part of the signal path.
Selig Audio, LLC

User avatar
challism
Moderator
Posts: 2907
Joined: 17 Jan 2015

Post 29 Jun 2021

MrFigg wrote:
29 Jun 2021
plaamook wrote:
29 Jun 2021


But Bypass saves DSP. Off just mutes the whole signal chain.
I''m w challism. Pointless feature.
Sure. I’m with you both.
We should get matching T-shirts or something.
selig wrote:
29 Jun 2021
orthodox wrote:
I appreciate you both weighing in on this one. I've often wondered what the use case was for this feature. Now I know. Thanks. I still want matching T-shirts, though.
~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~
Players are to MIDI what synthesizers are to waveforms.

ReasonTalk Rules and Guidelines

EdGrip
Posts: 2217
Joined: 03 Jun 2016

Post 01 Jul 2021

challism wrote:
29 Jun 2021
Gardinski wrote:
28 Jun 2021


Yes. Bypass & On is really the only way you'll get any usable sounds out of it (assuming it's a simple combi with an instrument running straight into Animus). 'OFF' would kill the signal, effectively muting the instrument, so if you want to switch between wet and dry, you'll need 'Bypass and On'.

Either way though, it definitely shouldn't prevent 'on' from being available as an option in the 'mod routing' window.
A bit off topic here, but I've always wondered why devices even have that "off" position. Seems pretty useless to me. Does anybody ever use the off position on purpose? Sometimes I do by accident, and it's always annoyed me.

I'm glad you guys go this Combi issue sorted for the OP.
I'm pretty sure that IF anyone has ever used the "off" position on purpose, they are a vanishingly tiny fraction of Reason users. Even back in the Old Days, pre-SSL, I can't imagine what it was supposed to be for. And yet it's sat there, annoying everyone, this whole time. It's a great example of Propellerheads' nonsense. ;)

User avatar
orthodox
RE Developer
Posts: 1671
Joined: 22 Jan 2015

Post 01 Jul 2021

It is already there and it can't be removed for compatibility. So the really pointless thing here is that feeling of annoyance.

User avatar
challism
Moderator
Posts: 2907
Joined: 17 Jan 2015

Post 01 Jul 2021

orthodox wrote:
01 Jul 2021
It is already there and it can't be removed for compatibility. So the really pointless thing here is that feeling of annoyance.
I wish I could switch annoyance to off or bypass mode. Unfortunately, it's not as easily done as it is to accidentally switch a device to off, though. But it's not a big issue in the grand scheme of things. I rarely even touch the on/off switch.
~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~
Players are to MIDI what synthesizers are to waveforms.

ReasonTalk Rules and Guidelines

  • Information
  • Who is online

    Users browsing this forum: CommonCrawl [Bot], dioxide, drun robots, guitfnky, JunctionArsonist, MuttReason, Proboscis and 3 guests