Connecting Roland D-05 to reason

This forum is for discussing Reason. Questions, answers, ideas, and opinions... all apply.
fmartinez83
Posts: 2
Joined: 28 May 2021

Post 28 May 2021

Hi Everyone,

Need some help connecting my D05 to reason. I tried via the usb and no go, also tried via my audio interface and same thing. It should not be this complicated. I have my SE-02 connected no issues, but the D05 isn't working.

Thanks

User avatar
raymondh
Posts: 1467
Joined: 15 Jan 2015

Post 28 May 2021

Congratulations on having a D-05! Great synthesizer!

I use the 5-pin DIN MIDI connections to connect most of my synths to Reason. The Boutiques are well known for the digital noise/ground loop interference when using USB so I avoid it by using traditional MIDI ports and USB is only for the power supply.

If you've been successful with your SE-02 then you obviously know what you're doing so maybe you have a fault with the D-05?

Here's a few checklist things to try to isolate the problem:
- can you get any sound out of the D-05? try playing the sequencer.
- what midi channel is your d-05 receiving? What MIDI channel are you sending from Reason MIDI Out device? What MIDI channel is your SE-02 receiving?
- Try connecting to a different USB port
- Try connecting to the same usb cable you are using for your SE-02
- connecting your d05 to a USB hub or direct to your computer? Try direct connection and see if that works
- check your computer can 'see' the D-05 USB device - maybe the driver hasn't installed properly.
- all else fails, get yourself a MIDI interface and use traditional cables like me.

Let me know what you find!
Win 10 64-bit | :reason: 11 | Reaper | Scarlet 18i8 | M-Audio Code 61 | KRK VXT-6 | JX-8P | System-8 | D-05 | JP-08 | Sirin

fmartinez83
Posts: 2
Joined: 28 May 2021

Post 30 May 2021

Great, thanks for replying! 2 quick questions:

1. Are you using 2 midi cables? Currently I’m only using 1 going to my midi keyboard

2. Are you using balanced or unbalanced cable to your audio interface? I have both cables just in case.

Thanks

User avatar
moneykube
Posts: 2752
Joined: 15 Jan 2015

Post 30 May 2021

one midi cable should work connected of course to midi out on synth
non balanced more noise... balanced less noise... both should work
https://soundcloud.com/moneykube-qube/s ... d-playlist
Member Of The Awesome League Of Perpetuals -

User avatar
raymondh
Posts: 1467
Joined: 15 Jan 2015

Post 30 May 2021

moneykube wrote:
30 May 2021
one midi cable should work connected of course to midi out on synth
non balanced more noise... balanced less noise... both should work
Yep.

If you're using DIN MIDI and 'stringing' your synthesizers together ( OUT --> IN --> THRU --> IN ), you'll also want to ensure that MIDI Thru is enabled on your boutique synths. From memory it is OFF by default.
Win 10 64-bit | :reason: 11 | Reaper | Scarlet 18i8 | M-Audio Code 61 | KRK VXT-6 | JX-8P | System-8 | D-05 | JP-08 | Sirin

User avatar
moneykube
Posts: 2752
Joined: 15 Jan 2015

Post 02 Jun 2021

raymondh wrote:
30 May 2021
moneykube wrote:
30 May 2021
one midi cable should work connected of course to midi out on synth
non balanced more noise... balanced less noise... both should work
Yep.

If you're using DIN MIDI and 'stringing' your synthesizers together ( OUT --> IN --> THRU --> IN ), you'll also want to ensure that MIDI Thru is enabled on your boutique synths. From memory it is OFF by default.
also a great point
https://soundcloud.com/moneykube-qube/s ... d-playlist
Member Of The Awesome League Of Perpetuals -

User avatar
raymondh
Posts: 1467
Joined: 15 Jan 2015

Post 07 Jun 2021

@fmartinez Any luck with the suggestions?
Win 10 64-bit | :reason: 11 | Reaper | Scarlet 18i8 | M-Audio Code 61 | KRK VXT-6 | JX-8P | System-8 | D-05 | JP-08 | Sirin

  • Information
  • Who is online

    Users browsing this forum: CommonCrawl [Bot], ShelLuser and 2 guests