Advise studio speakers

This forum is for discussing Reason. Questions, answers, ideas, and opinions... all apply.
Zulalancho

22 Mar 2021

Hello everybody! I've been working with Reason for a little over 2 months, I'm still sitting in FL writing something like hip-hop, I only used headphones, but now I want to buy speakers, they must be of very good quality so that I can clearly hear what I'm writing! Here I read what is the difference between active and studio, and I need studio monitors! What can you recommend in a budget of up to $ 800 per pair?
I was advised Audioengine HD 6 how are they?

nebraskafire

22 Mar 2021

I have JBL MK2 these a very good and affordable at the same time. But you will need some acoustic treatment for you room if you have an untreated room otherwise you will mix against your room and this is very frustrating.

DaveyG

22 Mar 2021

You'll get more opinions than you want but here are my suggestions:

1. Don't put large speakers in a small room.
2. Plan to spend half your budget on room treatment (including speaker stands).
3. Positioning bad speakers well gives better results than positioning good speakers badly.
4. Suggested brands: Adam Audio, Presonus, Genelec. Avoid Rokits. I think Audioengines are HiFi speakers rather than studio monitors.

Other opinions are available!

adfielding

22 Mar 2021

Zulalancho wrote:
22 Mar 2021
Here I read what is the difference between active and studio, and I need studio monitors!
I'm not going to weigh in on which monitors you should go for as that will primarily come down to where you're using them and your allotted budget. However, I just wanted to comment that there's a fair amount of mis-information in that particular link - so much so that I absolutely would NOT trust anything else written on that particular site!