Reason in a live environment

This forum is for discussing Reason. Questions, answers, ideas, and opinions... all apply.
Barriott

06 Mar 2021

Hi.

I'm fairly new to the idea of this.

Reason asks to be linked to the internet every time I load of an instance of it. If I playing, or indeed practicing in a place that doesn't have the t'net I'll be stuck in demo mode and unable to access rack extensions etc

Does anyone know s way of getting round this?

antic604

06 Mar 2021

Barriott wrote:
06 Mar 2021
Ignition Key? But only if you're on Windows and this might not work for too long either.

Just switch to some other DAW, before you spend too much money on Reason and REs.
Music tech enthusiast.
DAW, VST & hardware hoarder.
My "music": https://soundcloud.com/antic604

stillifegaijin

06 Mar 2021

You can currently write authorization licenses to 1 ignition key and 1 computer. This negates any need to have internet. When you authorize the licenses you need to do it for both Reason and for your Rack Extensions. You can sync all licenses from your Reason account using the "Manage License" links under Reason and Rack Extensions.

Before COVID cancelled all my live performances I had been using Reason live since 2004. Sometimes just for synth sounds, sometimes for full backing tracks, effects, and midi program changes. I have an Ignition Key with one set of authorizations plugged into my desktop (Note antic604 is wrong about Ignition Key being only for Windows. Ignition Keys work fine with Apple/Mac and always have) and I have another set of authorization on my laptop specifically for live performance.

Another note - from what I understand Reason+ does not currently support any offline authorizations so it's basically useless for live performance without a stable and constant internet connection. But all previous versions of Reason will be fine if you authorize both Reason and Rack Extensions licenses to your laptop.

antic604

06 Mar 2021

stillifegaijin wrote: