Newbie - When to use the different racks left and right

This forum is for discussing Reason. Questions, answers, ideas, and opinions... all apply.
BobbyDismay
Posts: 15
Joined: 14 Dec 2020

Post 07 Jan 2021

I've been through a few beginners tutorials but no one seems to explain; when do you drag instruments below other instruments/players, and when do you pop them in a different rack altogether? I'm talking about when you're creating a new sound to be sequenced separately from what's above it.

I've watched tutorials where the operator creates their entire set of instruments and players and effects one on top of the other in one rack, then others where they go to a new rack for each part.

Is it just personal preference visually?

Thanks!

User avatar
16161d
Posts: 40
Joined: 26 Jan 2015

Post 07 Jan 2021

Personal preference. It’s a handy way of organising things in the examples you mentioned. Because of how everything is wired up, you can have thing in any order you like really, what matters is the connections on the back and what makes sense to you. I think the extra rack space was introduced in Reason 6? I’ve always been used to the single rack, anything else just feels very wrong to me. I could see myself using one lane to put a bunch of useful utility like audio and CV splitters/mergers, some LFO’s and other CV stuff, but it feels wrong to me when I load up anything other than an empty rack. :?

EDIT: also think of a project using hundreds of devices, the extra space helps with organising and navigating the rack comfortably rather than scrolling for 2 minutes to find that reverb you misplaced somewhere in the rack.
Last edited by 16161d on 07 Jan 2021, edited 1 time in total.

User avatar
guitfnky
Posts: 3041
Joined: 19 Jan 2015

Post 07 Jan 2021

100% personal preference. some people keep everything in one enormously tall rack. some put different instrument groups in different racks (I do this and it works pretty well, for me).

User avatar
Billy+
Posts: 1583
Joined: 09 Dec 2016

Post 07 Jan 2021

BobbyDismay wrote:
07 Jan 2021
I've been through a few beginners tutorials but no one seems to explain; when do you drag instruments below other instruments/players, and when do you pop them in a different rack altogether? I'm talking about when you're creating a new sound to be sequenced separately from what's above it.

I've watched tutorials where the operator creates their entire set of instruments and players and effects one on top of the other in one rack, then others where they go to a new rack for each part.

Is it just personal preference visually?

Thanks!
It's very much personal preference, there is no need to do it but I personally like to use the rack below the hardware interface for mastering chain and mixing fx devices while creating extra rack for devices of similar frequency spaces.

[hardware] [low][lowmid][mid][midhigh][high]
Perpetual License Crew
11.5 vst midi last chance.
:Nektar P6: : Mac Mini: :EiEPro: :Alesis M1 Mk2: :🎧KNS8400: :🎤Marantz MPM 1000:

User avatar
bxbrkrz
Posts: 2226
Joined: 17 Jan 2015

Post 07 Jan 2021

BobbyDismay wrote:
07 Jan 2021
I've been through a few beginners tutorials but no one seems to explain; when do you drag instruments below other instruments/players, and when do you pop them in a different rack altogether? I'm talking about when you're creating a new sound to be sequenced separately from what's above it.

I've watched tutorials where the operator creates their entire set of instruments and players and effects one on top of the other in one rack, then others where they go to a new rack for each part.

Is it just personal preference visually?

Thanks!
Also check out ReMark. A very useful tool.

https://www.reasonstudios.com/shop/rack ... on/remark/


BobbyDismay
Posts: 15
Joined: 14 Dec 2020

Post 07 Jan 2021

Ok thanks for the responses! Totally see how ReMark could be handy.

User avatar
Loque
Moderator
Posts: 8646
Joined: 28 Dec 2015

Post 07 Jan 2021

Its like a rack, you build it like you want.

There are a few automatic things, which can be usefull to know, like drag a fx below another device, and it gets chanined inside (if its the last, it will be added) or Players need to be droped on top of a instrument.

And i am sure, you already know, that you can have more than just a rack left and right ;-)
:reason: 11, Win10 64Bit.

  • Information
  • Who is online

    Users browsing this forum: BonsaiMacKay, CommonCrawl [Bot], Kevin Sunray and 6 guests