Does Reason work with Mac Mini M1?

This forum is for discussing Reason. Questions, answers, ideas, and opinions... all apply.
npinero1
Posts: 36
Joined: 17 Jan 2015

Post 04 Jan 2021

Happy new year everyone.
I was planning on getting a new Mac Mini with the M1 chip because I do video editing, but I also want to use Reason on this Mac. So I was wondering if anyone had tried using Reason within this Mac, and If so, can you share your experience on how well or not well it worked?

Thank you in advance.
:reason: :re: :refillpacker: :reload: :ignition:

Thousand Ways
Posts: 177
Joined: 18 Jun 2015

Post 04 Jan 2021

As far as I know, Reason isn't yet compatible with any new Macs that have the M1 chip.

Baylo
Posts: 81
Joined: 17 Jan 2015

Post 04 Jan 2021

There is a full compatibility statement here: https://help.reasonstudios.com/hc/en-us ... ed-Dec-15-

User avatar
fieldframe
Posts: 916
Joined: 19 Apr 2016

Post 04 Jan 2021

There's a thread I can't find at the moment, but another user reported that Reason 11 runs fine on an M1.

When you launch Reason (or any other Mac app compiled for Intel), there's a behind-the-scenes translation to Apple Silicon using a system called Rosetta2. It works seamlessly for most, software, although there are a few exceptions.

In ideal conditions, Rosetta-translated apps can run at 80% native speed, so some Intel-based apps actually run faster on an M1 than on many Intel chips. Various factors can make translated performance slower, though, and in the same thread, an M1 user ran one of those Reason benchmark song files and it didn't perform quite as well. It was still perfectly usable, just not on par with some of the other M1 benchmarks out there.

Basically, you can use Reason on an M1 without issue right now, but you may not be blown away by the performance until Reason Studios releases an ARM-native version.

[edit] Per the above link, Reason can only be run in online mode on an M1. CodeMeter (Reason's offline copy-protection scheme) uses what's known as a kernel extension in MacOS, which is one of the types of software Rosetta2 doesn't support.
The Iron Law of Reason forums: All topics eventually turn into feature request threads; the only difference is how many posts it takes.

Looking for UI design? DM me for a portfolio.

npinero1
Posts: 36
Joined: 17 Jan 2015

Post 04 Jan 2021

Awesome, thank you. I am not in a huge rush but I am having issues with audio tracks in Reason on my current iMac mid 2011. I think 9.5 years is long enough for a computer especially with the broader set of productions I plan on doing.

I hope that optimization is coming soon.
:reason: :re: :refillpacker: :reload: :ignition:

User avatar
fieldframe
Posts: 916
Joined: 19 Apr 2016

Post 04 Jan 2021

Actually, if you're coming from a 2011 iMac, I think you'll see a major improvement regardless of Reason's less-than-stellar Rosetta2 performance! Your new M1 Mac might run Reason like a 2017-2018 Mac until there's a native version, but that would still give you some more audio tracks to work with.
The Iron Law of Reason forums: All topics eventually turn into feature request threads; the only difference is how many posts it takes.

Looking for UI design? DM me for a portfolio.

Thousand Ways
Posts: 177
Joined: 18 Jun 2015

Post 04 Jan 2021

:oops: Well, I got this wrong.

npinero1
Posts: 36
Joined: 17 Jan 2015

Post 04 Jan 2021

I appreciate it, thanks!
:reason: :re: :refillpacker: :reload: :ignition:

User avatar
tronam
Posts: 371
Joined: 04 Mar 2015

Post 05 Jan 2021

On the M1 MacBook Pro it's been running reliably under Rosetta so far, although I haven't extensively tested its VST performance/compatibility yet. They did all scan successfully though and appear to load properly. One difference I've noticed is quite snappy rack scrolling, even on large multi-column racks. That's a bit surprising because I'm accustomed to a pretty low chunky frame rate while scrolling, even on higher end systems with dedicated GPUs.

olive6741
Posts: 224
Joined: 11 May 2016

Post 05 Jan 2021

I Tested Reason 11 on the new Mac Book Air M1 of my daughter - 'entry' model - (for few hours this weekend) and it works. But in terms of performance my results are mixed, as there are drop outs in the audio stream when multicore is enabled in Reason. When I disable multicore support, it looks like it works better (and however 4 Cores of M1 are used), but I can't obtain same performance than running Reason on my quad core Intel Mac Book Pro 2018 13" (when multicore enabled). Less heat obviously. And silence. M1 MBA is great on this side. And Rosetta 2 is an impressive translation layer! All in all, it's finally impressive it just works IMHO. (in my test, there were 2 DIVA synths, one in 'best' and another in 'divine' and some 3 other 'lighter' VSTs FX + 7 Europa RE synth, each (and Divas) playing 5 notes generated by Chords and Arpeggio players (intruments patches with some sustain - just to obtain somehow musical though heavy) + 14 RE fx (Sweeper and Quartet x7) + 1rhytmic and Beatmap before reaching 'audible' limit (drop outs) - 44.1Khz - internal coreaudio - 512.) Had some troubles with other buffer size (bigger or smaller). I understand it is said 'non-compatible' by Reason Studios, because there are some drawbacks - but in fact, it's not too bad.

User avatar
antic604
Posts: 655
Joined: 02 Apr 2020

Post 05 Jan 2021

tronam wrote:
05 Jan 2021
...I'm accustomed to a pretty low chunky frame rate while scrolling, even on higher end systems with dedicated GPUs.
That's because Reason doesn't use GPU to render the GUI. All is done on CPU. This will change with the new, high-res update, though.
Music tech enthusiast.
DAW, VST & hardware hoarder.
My "music": https://soundcloud.com/antic604

User avatar
tronam
Posts: 371
Joined: 04 Mar 2015

Post 05 Jan 2021

antic604 wrote:
05 Jan 2021
tronam wrote:
05 Jan 2021
...I'm accustomed to a pretty low chunky frame rate while scrolling, even on higher end systems with dedicated GPUs.
That's because Reason doesn't use GPU to render the GUI. All is done on CPU. This will change with the new, high-res update, though.
Right, not GPU accelerated, but the rack assets still have to exist in GPU memory and I’m wondering if the overall responsiveness is benefiting from the M1’s unified memory architecture.

User avatar
antic604
Posts: 655
Joined: 02 Apr 2020

Post 05 Jan 2021

tronam wrote:
05 Jan 2021
antic604 wrote:
05 Jan 2021


That's because Reason doesn't use GPU to render the GUI. All is done on CPU. This will change with the new, high-res update, though.
Right, not GPU accelerated, but the rack assets still have to exist in GPU memory and I’m wondering if the overall responsiveness is benefiting from the M1’s unified memory architecture.
If it's not rendered by GPU, then the assets are not in there either. Only the final image which was pieces together by the CPU from the assets in RAM is sent to GPU to display.

So while I don't agree with the premise, you're definitely onto something about the speed of unified / embedded RAM :)
Music tech enthusiast.
DAW, VST & hardware hoarder.
My "music": https://soundcloud.com/antic604

npinero1
Posts: 36
Joined: 17 Jan 2015

Post 05 Jan 2021

olive6741 wrote:
05 Jan 2021
I Tested Reason 11 on the new Mac Book Air M1 of my daughter - 'entry' model - (for few hours this weekend) and it works. But in terms of performance my results are mixed, as there are drop outs in the audio stream when multicore is enabled in Reason. When I disable multicore support, it looks like it works better (and however 4 Cores of M1 are used), but I can't obtain same performance than running Reason on my quad core Intel Mac Book Pro 2018 13" (when multicore enabled). Less heat obviously. And silence. M1 MBA is great on this side. And Rosetta 2 is an impressive translation layer! All in all, it's finally impressive it just works IMHO. (in my test, there were 2 DIVA synths, one in 'best' and another in 'divine' and some 3 other 'lighter' VSTs FX + 7 Europa RE synth, each (and Divas) playing 5 notes generated by Chords and Arpeggio players (intruments patches with some sustain - just to obtain somehow musical though heavy) + 14 RE fx (Sweeper and Quartet x7) + 1rhytmic and Beatmap before reaching 'audible' limit (drop outs) - 44.1Khz - internal coreaudio - 512.) Had some troubles with other buffer size (bigger or smaller). I understand it is said 'non-compatible' by Reason Studios, because there are some drawbacks - but in fact, it's not too bad.
Super helpful, thanks!!!
:reason: :re: :refillpacker: :reload: :ignition:

  • Information
  • Who is online

    Users browsing this forum: buddard, CommonCrawl [Bot], Harlin, oolaa, plesio, turn2on and 3 guests