Reason/Suite/Intro/Lite 11.3.6 released!

This forum is for discussing Reason. Questions, answers, ideas, and opinions... all apply.
User avatar
Reasonistas
RE Developer
Posts: 834
Joined: 15 Jan 2015
Location: Morristown, NJ USA

Post 01 Dec 2020

https://help.reasonstudios.com/hc/en-us ... -released-
We're happy to announce the release of Reason 11.3.6, Reason 11.3.6 Suite, Reason 11.3.6 Intro and Reason 11.3.6 Lite.

Here's what's new:
  • Fixed a bug where Reason would not receive audio input on some versions of macOS in certain situations.
  • Fixed a bug where it was not possible to run pattern devices inside a Combinator in Reason Rack Plugin.
ImageImageImage

User avatar
Loque
Moderator
Posts: 8345
Joined: 28 Dec 2015

Post 01 Dec 2020

Uh...they are getting faster :thumbs_up:
:reason: 11, Win10 64Bit.

User avatar
Creativemind
Posts: 3766
Joined: 17 Jan 2015
Location: Stoke-On-Trent, England, UK

Post 01 Dec 2020

Loque wrote:
01 Dec 2020
Uh...they are getting faster :thumbs_up:
Gonna go make a coffee, can't take the excitement.
:reason:

Propellerhead Reason 11.3 / Cockos Reaper 6.19 / Cakewalk By Bandlab / Pro Tools First / Steinberg Cubase LE 5
http://soundcloud.com/creativemind75/iv ... soul-mix-3

User avatar
Billy
Posts: 802
Joined: 09 Dec 2016

Post 01 Dec 2020

Wonder if it's the new testers initiative that is enabling this?

But it's excellent work either way and seems to be very quick turn around.

User avatar
eusti
Moderator
Posts: 2621
Joined: 15 Jan 2015

Post 01 Dec 2020

Is anybody else experiencing this: Screenshots taken in the new version don't come up in the list view until the project file is reopened?
Tested it with a bunch of Waves effects... Mac Catalina 10.15.5

D.

User avatar
guitfnky
Posts: 2816
Joined: 19 Jan 2015

Post 01 Dec 2020

Creativemind wrote:
01 Dec 2020
Loque wrote:
01 Dec 2020
Uh...they are getting faster :thumbs_up:
Gonna go make a coffee, can't take the excitement.
smaller, more frequent updates to address bugs is a good thing. better than them leaving bugs in there until they put out a splashier update. not every release needs to be exciting.

PhillipOrdonez
Posts: 1605
Joined: 20 Oct 2017
Location: Colombia

Post 01 Dec 2020

Keep the updates coming, you're working hard and i for one love it 🤗

User avatar
Boombastix
Posts: 1930
Joined: 18 May 2018
Location: Bay Area, CA

Post 01 Dec 2020

They broke VST graphics for some plugins on Mac, in 11.3.5. No plan to fix?
10% off at Waves with link: https://www.waves.com/r/6gh2b0
Disclaimer - I get 10% as well.

User avatar
eusti
Moderator
Posts: 2621
Joined: 15 Jan 2015

Post 01 Dec 2020

Boombastix wrote:
01 Dec 2020
They broke VST graphics for some plugins on Mac, in 11.3.5. No plan to fix?
Nope. I reported that bug to them and they replied something along the lines of "we expect the plugin developers to fix it on their end..."
I was quite taken aback by that answer too... Then I realized that most VSTs worked after I updated them to the latest version... Outliers are some older Waves plugins (that are not on 11 or 12), with Sibilance crashing Reason 11.3.6 now...

D.

olive6741
Posts: 202
Joined: 11 May 2016

Post 02 Dec 2020

Boombastix wrote:
01 Dec 2020
They broke VST graphics for some plugins on Mac, in 11.3.5. No plan to fix?
To check if broken graphics for some plugins on Mac are responsability of third party developpers, a simple way is to load them (as AU, but it is relevant) in last GarageBand. If they are not working as expected in GarageBand, then the answer is probably something that should be fixed by third party VST developper. New SDK in MacOS broke some VSTs (for example WaveArts V5 or Photosounder Spiral). Many VST have been fixed already by their developper (Waves and McDsp are amongst them). Double check if you have last versions.

User avatar
hamsterfactor
Posts: 3
Joined: 22 Nov 2020

Post 08 Dec 2020

Ta, updated!
:reason: Suite 11 | macOS 10.14 | iMac

User avatar
Boombastix
Posts: 1930
Joined: 18 May 2018
Location: Bay Area, CA

Post 08 Dec 2020

eusti wrote:
01 Dec 2020
Boombastix wrote:
01 Dec 2020
They broke VST graphics for some plugins on Mac, in 11.3.5. No plan to fix?
Nope. I reported that bug to them and they replied something along the lines of "we expect the plugin developers to fix it on their end..."
I was quite taken aback by that answer too... Then I realized that most VSTs worked after I updated them to the latest version... Outliers are some older Waves plugins (that are not on 11 or 12), with Sibilance crashing Reason 11.3.6 now...

D.
Bad policy in my opinion, to break VST comparability in a minor update. They should have waited until v12 if they had managed this correctly. Doesn't affect me since I'm on Windows, but I still think it is poorly managed since they were not forced to update their SDK and other developers seems to have not.
10% off at Waves with link: https://www.waves.com/r/6gh2b0
Disclaimer - I get 10% as well.

User avatar
buddard
RE Developer
Posts: 900
Joined: 17 Jan 2015
Location: Stockholm

Post 10 Dec 2020

Boombastix wrote:
08 Dec 2020
eusti wrote:
01 Dec 2020


Nope. I reported that bug to them and they replied something along the lines of "we expect the plugin developers to fix it on their end..."
I was quite taken aback by that answer too... Then I realized that most VSTs worked after I updated them to the latest version... Outliers are some older Waves plugins (that are not on 11 or 12), with Sibilance crashing Reason 11.3.6 now...

D.
Bad policy in my opinion, to break VST comparability in a minor update. They should have waited until v12 if they had managed this correctly. Doesn't affect me since I'm on Windows, but I still think it is poorly managed since they were not forced to update their SDK and other developers seems to have not.
I'm guessing that they updated to the latest SDK so they can start building Reason natively for Apple Silicon. (Note, this is pure speculation on my part!)

I don't think that RS can be held responsible for other VST manufacturers not implementing their GUI scaling correctly. :)
It's not like every VST broke, it was just the ones that had this underlying flaw that happened to be exposed under the new SDK.
They would have to fix the problem sooner or later anyway, and this might have helped speed that process up. ;)

  • Information
  • Who is online

    Users browsing this forum: Ahrefs [Bot], CommonCrawl [Bot], Rising Night Wave and 3 guests