The Reason 1.0 Contest

This forum is for discussing Reason. Questions, answers, ideas, and opinions... all apply.
fullforce
Posts: 316
Joined: 18 Aug 2018

Post 12 Nov 2020

The Amiga 1200 I scored a few weeks ago is gonna pwn all your puny Reason 1 shit.
This is a block of text that can be added to posts you make. There is a 255 character limit.

User avatar
BRIGGS
Posts: 1021
Joined: 25 Sep 2015
Location: Orange County California

Post 12 Nov 2020

fullforce wrote: ↑
12 Nov 2020
The Amiga 1200 I scored a few weeks ago is gonna pwn all your puny Reason 1 shit.
No way! My Atari 800xl w/ cassette tape drive, will eat that thing for lunch. nom nom nom :lol:

Image
Last edited by BRIGGS on 13 Nov 2020, edited 1 time in total.

PhillipOrdonez
Posts: 1452
Joined: 20 Oct 2017
Location: Colombia

Post 12 Nov 2020

Well this is so much fun. Still waiting for the official post by Reason studios with the list of rules though.

I'm loving this challenge already, who knew it would be so much fun to only use the reason 1.0 instruments? I'm not even using user samples yet though, and might just go full-on factory sound bank-only for this challenge though, don't want to make something and then be told I need to replace it cause it's the rules πŸ€“

User avatar
adfielding
Posts: 787
Joined: 19 May 2015

Post 13 Nov 2020

PhillipOrdonez wrote: ↑
12 Nov 2020
Thanks for clearing that out! If you could only use the rec files as is it would have been pretty useless to me. I first got into Reason around the same year and I don't remember using much of rex loops. What were those Easter eggs on version 1?
In v1 you could trigger start-up/info screens on the Matrix/NN-19/Dr REX by clicking on their respective logos in the rack. The Subtractor also had the falling-out screw which is still a thing, but all of the other easter eggs were removed for v2. Not sure why, but I'm sure there's some reasoning (heh) behind it.

edit: I'm vaguely toying with the idea of getting involved with the contest but I'd love to try writing something actually using Reason 1 - feels like it'd be cheating to use all of the quality-of-life improvements of modern Reason (for instance: you can't detach the sequencer or use a scroll-wheel to scroll in the rack in Windows!), even if I were to restrict myself to the older devices. I'm a glutton for punishment.

User avatar
supersplaron
Reason Studios
Posts: 121
Joined: 15 Jan 2016
Location: Stockholm

Post 13 Nov 2020

We'll get back to you with more official info on the challenge. Probably early next week.

User avatar
Jackjackdaw
Posts: 698
Joined: 12 Jan 2019

Post 13 Nov 2020

bxbrkrz wrote: ↑
12 Nov 2020
They should add a Reason 1 download option on our accounts.
.rsn file sharing only. 100% old school.
Agreed. If its just using R11 and pretending, I'm out.

User avatar
bxbrkrz
Posts: 1924
Joined: 17 Jan 2015

Post 13 Nov 2020

Jackjackdaw wrote: ↑
13 Nov 2020
bxbrkrz wrote: ↑
12 Nov 2020
They should add a Reason 1 download option on our accounts.
.rsn file sharing only. 100% old school.
Agreed. If its just using R11 and pretending, I'm out.
It's a double challenge: remembering what not to use, and being creative within a limitation most of us has forgotten a long time ago. The sequencer was a big part of that core limitation too. It was very bizarre to me (coming from Cubase). I never used Reason 1. I started with Reason 3.
Let's say it was the same challenge, but from Akai, pretending to work on the MPC 60 MK1, but using the MPCX. The workflow is part of the journey.

At the end of the day, it's a fun game. We should just have fun :puf_smile:

User avatar
Loque
Posts: 7988
Joined: 28 Dec 2015

Post 13 Nov 2020

bxbrkrz wrote: ↑
13 Nov 2020
Jackjackdaw wrote: ↑
13 Nov 2020


Agreed. If its just using R11 and pretending, I'm out.
It's a double challenge: remembering what not to use, and being creative within a limitation most of us has forgotten a long time ago. The sequencer was a big part of that core limitation too. It was very bizarre to me (coming from Cubase). I never used Reason 1. I started with Reason 3.
Let's say it was the same challenge, but from Akai, pretending to work on the MPC 60 MK1, but using the MPCX. The workflow is part of the journey.

At the end of the day, it's a fun game. We should just have fun :puf_smile:
:-D Somehow i just realized that there was no sequencer. This challange will be pretty hard for sure!
:reason: 11, Win10 64Bit.

PhillipOrdonez
Posts: 1452
Joined: 20 Oct 2017
Location: Colombia

Post 13 Nov 2020

Loque wrote: ↑
13 Nov 2020
bxbrkrz wrote: ↑
13 Nov 2020

It's a double challenge: remembering what not to use, and being creative within a limitation most of us has forgotten a long time ago. The sequencer was a big part of that core limitation too. It was very bizarre to me (coming from Cubase). I never used Reason 1. I started with Reason 3.
Let's say it was the same challenge, but from Akai, pretending to work on the MPC 60 MK1, but using the MPCX. The workflow is part of the journey.

At the end of the day, it's a fun game. We should just have fun :puf_smile:
:-D Somehow i just realized that there was no sequencer. This challange will be pretty hard for sure!
There was a sequencer. Plus Ryan said on the stream that the sequencer is fair game.

I've already finished my song so they better not come up with bogus new rules. Ryan himself used the sequencer when he was leading by example πŸ˜‘

User avatar
antic604
Posts: 298
Joined: 02 Apr 2020

Post 13 Nov 2020

So how does one actually obtain Reason 1.0? Further to finding the installer itself, I though one can't use the version they had no valid license for?
MPC One // A4 Mk1 // OT Mk1 + Bitwig 3 // Reason 11 // Studio One 5 Pro @ Lenovo Y730 15'' i7-8750h
my music - https://soundcloud.com/antic604

User avatar
Loque
Posts: 7988
Joined: 28 Dec 2015

Post 13 Nov 2020

antic604 wrote: ↑
13 Nov 2020
So how does one actually obtain Reason 1.0? Further to finding the installer itself, I though one can't use the version they had no valid license for?
Relax. Probably its enough to use only those old devices. I think that Reason 1.0 isnt running anymore on someones machine.
:reason: 11, Win10 64Bit.

User avatar
LarsK
Posts: 70
Joined: 20 Jun 2015

Post 13 Nov 2020

Loque wrote: ↑
13 Nov 2020
bxbrkrz wrote: ↑
13 Nov 2020

It's a double challenge: remembering what not to use, and being creative within a limitation most of us has forgotten a long time ago. The sequencer was a big part of that core limitation too. It was very bizarre to me (coming from Cubase). I never used Reason 1. I started with Reason 3.
Let's say it was the same challenge, but from Akai, pretending to work on the MPC 60 MK1, but using the MPCX. The workflow is part of the journey.

At the end of the day, it's a fun game. We should just have fun :puf_smile:
:-D Somehow i just realized that there was no sequencer. This challange will be pretty hard for sure!
You might be thinking of Rebirth.

User avatar
Loque
Posts: 7988
Joined: 28 Dec 2015

Post 13 Nov 2020

LarsK wrote: ↑
13 Nov 2020
Loque wrote: ↑
13 Nov 2020

:-D Somehow i just realized that there was no sequencer. This challange will be pretty hard for sure!
You might be thinking of Rebirth.
Yeah! Now we are talking! :thumbs_up:
:reason: 11, Win10 64Bit.

User avatar
antic604
Posts: 298
Joined: 02 Apr 2020

Post 13 Nov 2020

Loque wrote: ↑
13 Nov 2020
antic604 wrote: ↑
13 Nov 2020
So how does one actually obtain Reason 1.0? Further to finding the installer itself, I though one can't use the version they had no valid license for?
Relax. Probably its enough to use only those old devices. I think that Reason 1.0 isnt running anymore on someones machine.
Oh, then that's not fun anymore :)
MPC One // A4 Mk1 // OT Mk1 + Bitwig 3 // Reason 11 // Studio One 5 Pro @ Lenovo Y730 15'' i7-8750h
my music - https://soundcloud.com/antic604

User avatar
Electric-Metal
Posts: 648
Joined: 10 Dec 2015
Location: Landstuhl, Germany

Post 13 Nov 2020

antic604 wrote: ↑
13 Nov 2020
Loque wrote: ↑
13 Nov 2020

Relax. Probably its enough to use only those old devices. I think that Reason 1.0 isnt running anymore on someones machine.
Oh, then that's not fun anymore :)
It actually is :) . The only real headache for me is lookin at this stack of red devices :D
:?: The question is - Who cares :?:

User avatar
EsotericSound
Posts: 89
Joined: 17 Feb 2016

Post 14 Nov 2020

I've been working on a track for this challenge and I find it quite fun to go back to the old instruments. And funny thing is, after spending most of the night listening to mono subtractor patches, I took a break and listed to Adam's last live stream track and man my ears are pleasantly blown away by the stereo width. :D

Anyway, make sure you all set the switch on the back of the mixer to "COMPATIBLE EQ" for authenticity.

scotward57
Posts: 18
Joined: 28 Jul 2019

Post 14 Nov 2020

PhillipOrdonez wrote: ↑
13 Nov 2020
Loque wrote: ↑
13 Nov 2020

:-D Somehow i just realized that there was no sequencer. This challange will be pretty hard for sure!
There was a sequencer. Plus Ryan said on the stream that the sequencer is fair game.

I've already finished my song so they better not come up with bogus new rules. Ryan himself used the sequencer when he was leading by example πŸ˜‘
The main point is that as obedient Reason users, we were taught a valuable lesson from the makers at Reason Studios. They saw how agitated we were all getting this week with all of the other DAW updates. They basically said "go to your room and don't come out until you learned to appreciate the toys we've already given you".

And just like children, we went to our rooms and used our imaginations to create something instead of acting like spoiled brats that always get what they want. It's brilliant!

Just to illuminate the point, go to any DAW forum right now and you will find a lot of Ableton, Logic and Cuba's whining. They didn't create anything meaningful.

User avatar
robotgard
Posts: 127
Joined: 08 Sep 2018

Post 14 Nov 2020

I love Reason 1. Everything you need, nothing more. I made a portable version for myself for Windows. It can work without installing from a USB stick. No Warez!

https://yadi.sk/d/UFduzNgccb6bTA?w=1

Reason 1.exe - program
Reason 1 Sound Bank.dat - sound bank (or you can insert your CD with a sound bank in the CD-drive).
ReFill Packer 1.exe - ReFill Packer 1 if needed

Put everything in one folder and run the Reason 1.exe
You must insert the Soundbank CD into the CD drive and enter your serial number on first start.

I have long been no Sound bank CD and CD-drive, so I use the CD-emulation and CD-image Sound bank. So I added the iso folder. There is a Win CD Emu portable CD emulator and iso CD SoundBank.

Default Song.rns I made empty.
ReWire.dll and REX Shared Library.dll replaced with newer ones.

It works on Windows XP and Windows 7x64 successfully. I do not use Windows 10, but I think it will work too.

arnigretar
Posts: 3
Joined: 15 May 2020

Post 14 Nov 2020

Just fired up my G3 machine with my Reason 1.0 :reason:

Image

glass-puppy
Posts: 37
Joined: 08 Feb 2019

Post 14 Nov 2020

scotward57 wrote: ↑
11 Nov 2020
On the week that Ableton Live 11 and Cubase 11 are announced, Ryan Harlin is leading the way back to Reason 1.0.

NICE!!!!

It's like that feeling you had as a kid when you had all of your toys and gadgets and your parents yank you by the collar and forced you to go on a camping trip. It felt terrible at first but after the trip was over, you appreciated the lessons learned.

Truthfully, most of the Reason devices are fluff and not necessary for making good music. You just have to work harder. Besides, most of the tricks that most of the recent devices have up their sleeve just make you sound like everybody else.

And we can all use a break from sidechain compression and wobbling. I hear that stuff and it's the first sign of an amateur hiding in his/her COVID basement.

This week you have to focus on songwriting and melody. The drums are still important but not the end all be all.

Best of luck during the contest!
Who's Ryan Harlin and is there a prize pretty please?

User avatar
selig
RE Developer
Posts: 8868
Joined: 15 Jan 2015
Location: The NorthWoods, CT, USA

Post 14 Nov 2020

arnigretar wrote: ↑
14 Nov 2020
Just fired up my G3 machine with my Reason 1.0 :reason:

Image
Aw man, an original iMac - had that very same computer (my fourth Mac IIRC, after the Quadra 950 and before the big G3 tower). :)
Selig Audio, LLC

User avatar
bxbrkrz
Posts: 1924
Joined: 17 Jan 2015

Post 14 Nov 2020

arnigretar wrote: ↑
14 Nov 2020
Just fired up my G3 machine with my Reason 1.0 :reason:

Image
The Reason 1.0 contest is done. You won! :puf_smile:

User avatar
supersplaron
Reason Studios
Posts: 121
Joined: 15 Jan 2016
Location: Stockholm

Post 16 Nov 2020

arnigretar wrote: ↑
14 Nov 2020
Just fired up my G3 machine with my Reason 1.0 :reason:

Image
Oh, that's super nice! Do you mind if we share this to our socials?

chaosroyale
Posts: 476
Joined: 05 Sep 2017

Post 16 Nov 2020

Do you really wanna keep promoting the image that Reason is something from 20 years ago, for nostalgic old guys living in the past, not a modern ongoing tool for contemporary music makers...

Meanwhile, did you check out the features of Live 11? It doesn't run on a G3 tho, so I guess Reason is better for people trapped in a time-loop in 1999.
supersplaron wrote: ↑
16 Nov 2020
arnigretar wrote: ↑
14 Nov 2020
Just fired up my G3 machine with my Reason 1.0 :reason:

Image
Oh, that's super nice! Do you mind if we share this to our socials?

User avatar
Loque
Posts: 7988
Joined: 28 Dec 2015

Post 16 Nov 2020

chaosroyale wrote: ↑
16 Nov 2020
Do you really wanna keep promoting the image that Reason is something from 20 years ago, for nostalgic old guys living in the past, not a modern ongoing tool for contemporary music makers...
...
I agree so far. All those old dudes wanting analog synths, retro EQs and compressors, Mic emulations, pre-amps that "humm" and all that crap from the 60s to the 90s are just a bunch of ignorant guys, not liking the clean modern sound of an alias free digital synth with pure digital effects :lol: :thumbs_up:

</sarcasm>

I think its interesting to try to get something awesome out of old synths and fx. One of my favorite albums was made with only one ("1" !!!) synth of the seventies. Check it out if you like:
:reason: 11, Win10 64Bit.

  • Information
  • Who is online

    Users browsing this forum: CommonCrawl [Bot] and 6 guests