Waves H-Comp Compressor free in Shop just now.

This forum is for discussing Reason. Questions, answers, ideas, and opinions... all apply.
User avatar
bxbrkrz
Posts: 1829
Joined: 17 Jan 2015

Post 23 Aug 2020

fieldframe wrote:
22 Aug 2020
I still don't understand the point of Reason Studios selling third-party VSTs if they don't use Authorizer.

Giveaway aside, if a plugin were the same price at the RS shop and at the VST developer's site, why would anyone buy it through RS when you need an account at the developer's site to activate it anyway?
I agree.

User avatar
hurricane
Posts: 1442
Joined: 14 Oct 2017

Post 23 Aug 2020

In a current KVR thread about Waves, one user says:

"Those who love Waves use it and talk about sound, those who hate it usually don‘t use it and talk about WUP and ignoring the fact that their CP changed a lot and got better..."

:thumbs_up:

I have some V10 and V11 plugins installed on my system. A fair amount of them have expired WUPs. It's been like this for years. I've never had to pay $240 to keep using them. So here are some fun facts for you all:

No, you don't have to pay $240 a year to keep using your Waves plugins. YOU DON'T HAVE TO PAY $240 A YEAR TO USE YOUR WAVES PLUGINS. You can keep using the plugins you already have for YEARS on your current OS and any OS that supports them, and not pay anything EVER.

You can use Waves V9, V10, and V11 plugins on the same system AT THE SAME TIME if your OS supports all 3. And you still don't have to pay $240 to do that.

If you accidentally remove your V9 plugins, you can use Waves Central to reinstall them.

Waves Central has greatly improved the updating and managing of Waves plugins on your system. It's not at all like the old version.

If your WUP expires, you don't have to do a thing. Your plugins will work as they currently work. Your plugins do not expire. You can keep using them on your current system. Think of WUP as a warranty service. When your WUP expires you can chose to buy an extended warranty. Your original plugins area unaffected, they are yours, they will work, you don't have to pay a thing to continue using them on your current system.
https://soundcloud.com/hurricane-music | https://soundcloud.com/hurricaneaudiolab
Mac mini | Logic Pro X | Reason 10.4 | DX7 | DX7s | TX7 | CZ-1 | JP-8080 | Virus Classic | Roland XP-80/XP-30/RD-700/D2/TR-09 | microKorg I 03R/W | SL990 PRO

PhillipOrdonez
Posts: 1325
Joined: 20 Oct 2017
Location: Colombia

Post 23 Aug 2020

Just installed. Pretty painless.

Now regarding that wup. Do they have sales on that?

User avatar
Boombastix
Posts: 1673
Joined: 18 May 2018
Location: Bay Area, CA

Post 23 Aug 2020

PhillipOrdonez wrote:
23 Aug 2020
Just installed. Pretty painless.

Now regarding that wup. Do they have sales on that?
Actually they just had a 25% off on WUP. But I didn't buy cause I don't need it. My v11 runs just fine on my W10 machine. (I understand it was probably meant as a joke, but they actually had a sale on WUP, yes indeed...)
10% off at Waves with link: https://www.waves.com/r/6gh2b0
Disclaimer - I get 10% as well.

PhillipOrdonez
Posts: 1325
Joined: 20 Oct 2017
Location: Colombia

Post 23 Aug 2020

Boombastix wrote:
23 Aug 2020
PhillipOrdonez wrote:
23 Aug 2020
Just installed. Pretty painless.

Now regarding that wup. Do they have sales on that?
Actually they just had a 25% off on WUP. But I didn't buy cause I don't need it. My v11 runs just fine on my W10 machine. (I understand it was probably meant as a joke, but they actually had a sale on WUP, yes indeed...)
I just wonder for when the times comes that I need it, I hope there will be a much larger discount than 25 percent 😱

Heater
Posts: 344
Joined: 16 Jan 2015

Post 24 Aug 2020

Thanks for the heads up.

User avatar
Heigen5
Posts: 871
Joined: 25 Sep 2018
Location: Finland / Suomi

Post 24 Aug 2020

I got it but can't use it (yet) as Win7 is not supported.

Michaellos
Posts: 105
Joined: 18 May 2016

Post 24 Aug 2020

Heigen5 wrote:
24 Aug 2020
I got it but can't use it (yet) as Win7 is not supported.
The same with me, I will try to remain on Win 7 for as long as I can, still hate Win 10.
I hope RS will not remove Win 7 support

Tiny Montgomery
Posts: 46
Joined: 22 Apr 2020

Post 25 Aug 2020

Have only picked up waves plugins on sale or free. My fav is the J37 tape. A 150 dollar plugin for free? I downloaded it as soon as I got the email and used it on a drum buss last night. Thanks Reason Studios, I don't have many 3rd party compressors and can't justify spending much more on my hobby this year.
Last edited by Tiny Montgomery on 27 Aug 2020, edited 2 times in total.

Tiny Montgomery
Posts: 46
Joined: 22 Apr 2020

Post 25 Aug 2020

hurricane wrote:
23 Aug 2020
In a current KVR thread about Waves, one user says:

"Those who love Waves use it and talk about sound, those who hate it usually don‘t use it and talk about WUP and ignoring the fact that their CP changed a lot and got better..."

:thumbs_up:

I have some V10 and V11 plugins installed on my system. A fair amount of them have expired WUPs. It's been like this for years. I've never had to pay $240 to keep using them. So here are some fun facts for you all:

No, you don't have to pay $240 a year to keep using your Waves plugins. YOU DON'T HAVE TO PAY $240 A YEAR TO USE YOUR WAVES PLUGINS. You can keep using the plugins you already have for YEARS on your current OS and any OS that supports them, and not pay anything EVER.

You can use Waves V9, V10, and V11 plugins on the same system AT THE SAME TIME if your OS supports all 3. And you still don't have to pay $240 to do that.

If you accidentally remove your V9 plugins, you can use Waves Central to reinstall them.

Waves Central has greatly improved the updating and managing of Waves plugins on your system. It's not at all like the old version.

If your WUP expires, you don't have to do a thing. Your plugins will work as they currently work. Your plugins do not expire. You can keep using them on your current system. Think of WUP as a warranty service. When your WUP expires you can chose to buy an extended warranty. Your original plugins area unaffected, they are yours, they will work, you don't have to pay a thing to continue using them on your current system.
Exactly.

I copy the new waveshells from the default location to my custom vst 2 folder and job done.

jlgrimes
Posts: 481
Joined: 06 Jun 2017

Post 25 Aug 2020

Boombastix wrote:
22 Aug 2020
Billy wrote:
22 Aug 2020
I've got a few free waves plugins but have never managed to get them running for one reason or another.
I have collected 9 free Waves plugins, all v11. Using them on Reason 10.4 and Windows 10. Easy to install, never any issues.

Probably helpful if those who have problems state their versions etc, seems to be issues and misunderstandings using v11 combining with V10/9 etc... Not sure if Mac users have more issues or not.
Waves plugins generally works well.

The biggest gripes I ran into:

1. They only let you authorize on one computer. Two PCs would be ideal for me as I have one stationary Desktop and one mobile laptop that I can't use Waves on.

2. Upgrade policy is pretty bad. (Be sure to save your original installs). I got forced into an update when I bought a new PC. The old software version was no longer available for download on their site. I had to pay like $100 or so to update my software. The upgrades were no feature Enhancements just some minimal GUI improvements. For most other software vendors, these updates would have been free or like $10-$20. It seems like Waves kind of capitalize on users needing to still use the plugin well in the future.

That said Waves makes nice VSTs especially the compressors. H Comp is one of the plugins I already own.

User avatar
Last Alternative
Posts: 1160
Joined: 20 Jan 2015
Location: the lost desert

Post 29 Aug 2020

I got the free compressor but it’s too much of a hassle to use. Thanx anyways. Zero excitement for Reason these days....
https://lastalternative.bandcamp.com
:reason: 10.4 | iMac (27" Retina 5K, late 2015): OS Catalina, i7 Skylake @ 4GHz, 1TB SSD, 32 GB RAM, Radeon M395X | lots of nice gear

User avatar
Marco Raaphorst
Posts: 2477
Joined: 22 Jan 2015
Location: The Hague, The Netherlands

Post 29 Aug 2020

locking the release to tempo sync works nicely. unique compressor.

Marco Raaphorst

maker of fancy intervallic things
https://melodiefabriek.com

User avatar
Loque
Posts: 7767
Joined: 28 Dec 2015

Post 30 Aug 2020

Marco Raaphorst wrote:
29 Aug 2020
locking the release to tempo sync works nicely. unique compressor.

What makes it unique? Sync modes? The Mace has it all.
:reason: 11, Win10 64Bit.

User avatar
Marco Raaphorst
Posts: 2477
Joined: 22 Jan 2015
Location: The Hague, The Netherlands

Post 30 Aug 2020

Loque wrote:
30 Aug 2020
Marco Raaphorst wrote:
29 Aug 2020
locking the release to tempo sync works nicely. unique compressor.

What makes it unique? Sync modes? The Mace has it all.
Yes love the sync mode. For this piece the Cakewalk RE-2A didn't really work, but this one did. Can do super steady synced compression. And sounds analogy warm.
Marco Raaphorst

maker of fancy intervallic things
https://melodiefabriek.com

Popnfrsh24
Posts: 76
Joined: 02 Feb 2019
Location: Indianapolis, IN

Post 30 Aug 2020

Just signed in after months of inactivity....looks like I found the right date to sign in! Thanks for the post!

User avatar
Marco Raaphorst
Posts: 2477
Joined: 22 Jan 2015
Location: The Hague, The Netherlands

Post 08 Sep 2020

I am a huge Cakewalk RE-2A fan for many years. Now I prefer the H-Comp. It's such a fantastic compressor. A classic.
Marco Raaphorst

maker of fancy intervallic things
https://melodiefabriek.com

Vincent7344
Posts: 4
Joined: 22 Nov 2017

Post 14 Sep 2020

Would anyone know why I can’t download this VST?

It is registered in My Products, but when I enter the code at Waves, it says the product is registered under another account.

Thanks in advance for any help.

User avatar
Boombastix
Posts: 1673
Joined: 18 May 2018
Location: Bay Area, CA

Post 14 Sep 2020

Vincent7344 wrote:
14 Sep 2020
Would anyone know why I can’t download this VST?

It is registered in My Products, but when I enter the code at Waves, it says the product is registered under another account.

Thanks in advance for any help.
Talk to Waves support, they normally respond quickly.
10% off at Waves with link: https://www.waves.com/r/6gh2b0
Disclaimer - I get 10% as well.

Vincent7344
Posts: 4
Joined: 22 Nov 2017

Post 14 Sep 2020

Boombastix wrote:
14 Sep 2020
Vincent7344 wrote:
14 Sep 2020
Would anyone know why I can’t download this VST?

It is registered in My Products, but when I enter the code at Waves, it says the product is registered under another account.

Thanks in advance for any help.
Talk to Waves support, they normally respond quickly.
I did talk to them in chat before I posted here.

They were somewhat less than helpful. They didn’t want to check to see who the code was registered to and they weren’t interested in the receipt from Reason Studios.

At least I haven’t lost any money to them.

User avatar
hurricane
Posts: 1442
Joined: 14 Oct 2017

Post 14 Sep 2020

Vincent7344 wrote:
14 Sep 2020
Would anyone know why I can’t download this VST?

It is registered in My Products, but when I enter the code at Waves, it says the product is registered under another account.

Thanks in advance for any help.
If it is indeed registered to your account, did you then try to download it from Waves Central?
https://soundcloud.com/hurricane-music | https://soundcloud.com/hurricaneaudiolab
Mac mini | Logic Pro X | Reason 10.4 | DX7 | DX7s | TX7 | CZ-1 | JP-8080 | Virus Classic | Roland XP-80/XP-30/RD-700/D2/TR-09 | microKorg I 03R/W | SL990 PRO

Vincent7344
Posts: 4
Joined: 22 Nov 2017

Post 15 Sep 2020

hurricane wrote:
14 Sep 2020
Vincent7344 wrote:
14 Sep 2020
Would anyone know why I can’t download this VST?

It is registered in My Products, but when I enter the code at Waves, it says the product is registered under another account.

Thanks in advance for any help.
If it is indeed registered to your account, did you then try to download it from Waves Central?
Yes, I tried to download if from Waves, per the instructions, but it says that the serial number is registered under a different account.

As I said, it appears in My Products on my Reason Studios account under VSTs,, and I have a receipt from Reason saying it had been purchased.

  • Information
  • Who is online

    Users browsing this forum: CommonCrawl [Bot], Farrusca, graeme75, qn5 and 1 guest