Synth sound: dirty, flabby, horn-like tone?

This forum is for discussing Reason. Questions, answers, ideas, and opinions... all apply.
invadergir

31 Mar 2020

Hi all,

So, I have this idea for a sound in my head, and since I'm still pretty new to synth programming, I was hoping someone could point me in the right direction for this. What I'd like to build is a heavy-ish lead tone (dirty / distorted sounding), with a horn-like attack and lots of sustain. Horn-like to the point of almost being flabby or "farty", if you know what I mean (like if you were playing a trombone without the trombone).

Would something like that just be a matter of tweaking the ADSR envelope until it sounds like a horn? I found a Maelstrom patch that gets me close, but I can't quite get all the way there with it. (My ADSR tweaks didn't quite do what I needed.) I also got sorta close by taking a patch and playing it extra low, which caused some low frequency flapping, but of course that is too unstable depending on the notes you play; plus it sounded pretty thin and "fake".

Any ideas? Maybe which synth to use and what to tweak maybe? I'm on the R11 Suite.

Thanks in advance for any help...

Bjørn Felle

31 Mar 2020

i would try with Europa. the unison will help to give a sawtooth oscillator a chorusy brass sound, and putting some attack on the filter envelope will help. you could even modulate an envelope to the oscillator pitch so that each note starts slightly sharp and quickly glides on pitch which would make it sound like a more natural horn if that makes sense

Jackjackdaw

31 Mar 2020

Try Monotone, Here's a patch a knocked up for you, not far from the init sound.
Attachments
Flabby Mono.zip
(781 Bytes) Downloaded 37 times

invadergir

04 Apr 2020

Awesome, thanks guys, I'll give it a try!