Reason, coronavirus, authentication servers, internet services, interruption, usability?

This forum is for discussing Propellerhead's music software. Questions, answers, ideas, and opinions... all apply.
User avatar
etyrnal2
Posts: 86
Joined: 29 Jan 2017

Post 19 Mar 2020

:question: :o Will coronavirus cause interruption in the ability to use Reason if there are interruptions to authentication servers, or interruptions to internet services between users and Reason's Authentication Servers ?

If people are suck in their homes for quarantine, I imagine many will want to use Reason. If there are interruptions in Internet services either in Sweden, or wherever one may live, or interruptions in the Reason Authentication Servers, users will be unable to use Reason ? :o :o
:reason: :record: :recycle: :re: :adapted: :ignition: :essentials: :refill: :rebirth:

User avatar
bxbrkrz
Posts: 1392
Joined: 17 Jan 2015

Post 19 Mar 2020

Running Reason without an internet connection
If you want to use the program without an internet connection, it is also possible to authorize your computer (or write your license to an optional Ignition Key or Balance audio interface).

This is what you need to do:

Download and run the Codemeter Installer.

This may require that you restart your computer.

Go to Authorize Computer and Keys, and select one of the options there.

Once your licenses have been written to your computer (or Ignition Key hardware), Reason will run in authorized mode without asking for username and password.

Note: You can authorize one computer at a time. If you need to switch to another computer, don't forget to deauthorize the current one first! This is done by going to the same Authorize Computer and Keys page again, this time selecting Deauthorize.

https://www.reasonstudios.com/authorization

User avatar
etyrnal2
Posts: 86
Joined: 29 Jan 2017

Post 24 Mar 2020

bxbrkrz wrote:
19 Mar 2020
Running Reason without an internet connection
If you want to use the program without an internet connection, it is also possible to authorize your computer (or write your license to an optional Ignition Key or Balance audio interface).

This is what you need to do:

Download and run the Codemeter Installer.

This may require that you restart your computer.

Go to Authorize Computer and Keys, and select one of the options there.

Once your licenses have been written to your computer (or Ignition Key hardware), Reason will run in authorized mode without asking for username and password.

Note: You can authorize one computer at a time. If you need to switch to another computer, don't forget to deauthorize the current one first! This is done by going to the same Authorize Computer and Keys page again, this time selecting Deauthorize.

https://www.reasonstudios.com/authorization
None of this seemed to apply if you happen to have any demos or trials running. All the sudden you can be prevented from using the software you paid for if you aren't online, and you happen to have trials or demos running. Instead of Reason Just Suspending the use of the demos or trials, it prevents you from using everything you paid for.
:reason: :record: :recycle: :re: :adapted: :ignition: :essentials: :refill: :rebirth:

User avatar
xboix
Posts: 244
Joined: 22 Oct 2019

Post 24 Mar 2020

Authorise your computer then you'll be sorted when the zombie apocalypse arrives.

User avatar
EnochLight
Posts: 6113
Joined: 17 Jan 2015
Location: your mom

Post 24 Mar 2020

etyrnal2 wrote:
24 Mar 2020
None of this seemed to apply if you happen to have any demos or trials running. All the sudden you can be prevented from using the software you paid for if you aren't online, and you happen to have trials or demos running. Instead of Reason Just Suspending the use of the demos or trials, it prevents you from using everything you paid for.
Huh?!

This is incorrect.

If you have authorized your computer for offline use, any RE's you've purchased and own along with Reason will be authorized for offline use as well. If you are running any demo/trial RE's, and the authentication server is down or your Internet is out, those demo/trial RE's won't be available, but everything else you own (Reason, any purchased RE's) will of course still be available:

Win 10 | Reason 11 |  Studio One 4.5 | i7 3770k @ 3.5 Ghz | 16 GB RAM | Reactor 1TB SSD | RME Babyface Pro | Nektar Panorama P-4 | Akai MPC Live | Roland System 8 and System 1 | Roland TR-8 with 7x7 Expansion | Roland TB-3 | Roland VT-4 | Roland MX-1

PhillipOrdonez
Posts: 860
Joined: 20 Oct 2017
Location: Colombia

Post 24 Mar 2020

etyrnal2 wrote:
24 Mar 2020
bxbrkrz wrote:
19 Mar 2020
Running Reason without an internet connection
If you want to use the program without an internet connection, it is also possible to authorize your computer (or write your license to an optional Ignition Key or Balance audio interface).

This is what you need to do:

Download and run the Codemeter Installer.

This may require that you restart your computer.

Go to Authorize Computer and Keys, and select one of the options there.

Once your licenses have been written to your computer (or Ignition Key hardware), Reason will run in authorized mode without asking for username and password.

Note: You can authorize one computer at a time. If you need to switch to another computer, don't forget to deauthorize the current one first! This is done by going to the same Authorize Computer and Keys page again, this time selecting Deauthorize.

https://www.reasonstudios.com/authorization
None of this seemed to apply if you happen to have any demos or trials running. All the sudden you can be prevented from using the software you paid for if you aren't online, and you happen to have trials or demos running. Instead of Reason Just Suspending the use of the demos or trials, it prevents you from using everything you paid for.
You didn't pay for the trials, that's why they are trials 😂

If you authorise, you may not be able to use the trials, but you'll be able to use everything you own.

User avatar
gullum
Posts: 676
Joined: 15 Jan 2015
Location: Faroe Islands

Post 24 Mar 2020

I think if there are interrupt's in Internet services I seriously have other things to worry about then Reason or my trials. An Internet services interrupt or crash would it would render most countries almost useless in terms of anything doing with money, no internet you could not buy food online or in a shop.

User avatar
hurricane
Posts: 1121
Joined: 14 Oct 2017

Post 24 Mar 2020

etyrnal2 wrote:
19 Mar 2020
If there are interruptions in Internet services either in Sweden, or wherever one may live, or interruptions in the Reason Authentication Servers, users will be unable to use Reason ? :o :o
If/when the world loses internet, losing access to Reason would be the least of my problems.

Did you write this on the beach while on spring break?

Seriously, dude. :|
https://soundcloud.com/hurricane-music | https://metapop.com/hurricane
Mac mini (Late 2012) | Logic Pro X | Reason 10.4 | DX7 | DX7s | TX7 | CZ-1 | JP-8080 | Virus Classic | Roland XP-80/XP-30/RD-700/TR-09 | UR22mkII | Emagic AMT8 | StudioLogic SL990 PRO

User avatar
bxbrkrz
Posts: 1392
Joined: 17 Jan 2015

Post 24 Mar 2020

etyrnal2 wrote:
24 Mar 2020
bxbrkrz wrote:
19 Mar 2020
Running Reason without an internet connection
If you want to use the program without an internet connection, it is also possible to authorize your computer (or write your license to an optional Ignition Key or Balance audio interface).

This is what you need to do:

Download and run the Codemeter Installer.

This may require that you restart your computer.

Go to Authorize Computer and Keys, and select one of the options there.

Once your licenses have been written to your computer (or Ignition Key hardware), Reason will run in authorized mode without asking for username and password.

Note: You can authorize one computer at a time. If you need to switch to another computer, don't forget to deauthorize the current one first! This is done by going to the same Authorize Computer and Keys page again, this time selecting Deauthorize.

https://www.reasonstudios.com/authorization
None of this seemed to apply if you happen to have any demos or trials running. All the sudden you can be prevented from using the software you paid for if you aren't online, and you happen to have trials or demos running. Instead of Reason Just Suspending the use of the demos or trials, it prevents you from using everything you paid for.
You don't have to of course, but let us know if you got it sort it out from all the thread's feedback.
Stay safe.

  • Information
  • Who is online

    Users browsing this forum: CommonCrawl [Bot] and 2 guests