Reason 11.2 is here!

This forum is for discussing Propellerhead's music software. Questions, answers, ideas, and opinions... all apply.
User avatar
MattiasHG
Posts: 325
Joined: 16 Jan 2015

Post 20 Feb 2020

Hey ReasonTalk, as some of you might've noticed already we just released Reason 11.2! This is a free update for Reason 11 and it includes some real nice things—including a brand new Player (in Reason 11/Reason 11 Suite) and MIDI out from the Reason Rack Plugin. Just launch Reason 11 to auto-update!



You can read the complete release notes here: https://www.reasonstudios.com/en/reason ... ease-notes
You can read some more of what I have to say about it here: https://www.reasonstudios.com/blog/midi ... ack-plugin
We'll have even more to show you about Beat Map on Monday, but you can check it out inside Reason 11.2 already or on this page: https://www.reasonstudios.com/en/reason ... s/beat-map

Hope you like it :)
Last edited by MattiasHG on 20 Feb 2020, edited 1 time in total.

User avatar
chimp_spanner
Posts: 2351
Joined: 06 Mar 2015

Post 20 Feb 2020

Also dragging players straight into the rack without a device there first is a nice little time saver too. Like that a lot.
Enjoy!

http://www.paulortizmusic.com

2017 MBP | 16GB | Steinberg UR44 | Reason 10.4 | Cubase Pro 10.5

User avatar
sonicbyte
Posts: 252
Joined: 16 Jan 2015
Location: Argentina

Post 20 Feb 2020

Of course this will not work inside Reason standalone to control multi-out midi instruments like Kontakt, right?

User avatar
PeZiK
Posts: 28
Joined: 18 Jan 2015
Location: Iceland

Post 20 Feb 2020

Wow, nice!

Sterioevo
Posts: 119
Joined: 02 Apr 2015

Post 20 Feb 2020

Let's hope Ableton adds support to vst midi cc out....

Ermitage
Posts: 68
Joined: 21 Apr 2018

Post 20 Feb 2020

Will BeatMap also be included in version 12 (standard and suite)?

danc
Posts: 354
Joined: 14 Oct 2016

Post 20 Feb 2020

Goodness me.... I was expecting to have to pay for MIDI OUT in RRP. Makes the 11 upgrade cost more palatable.

Now for VST hosting in RRP in 11.3 and we'll be totally landed!

Also... having MIDI CC out included as well means we can use all of our CV makers as controllers within other DAWS ... Can't wait to get home and try it all out.
All my music created, produced and mastered in Reason 11 and Studio One 4.5 (WIndows).


User avatar
reddust
Posts: 653
Joined: 07 May 2018

Post 20 Feb 2020

sonicbyte wrote:
20 Feb 2020
Of course this will not work inside Reason standalone to control multi-out midi instruments like Kontakt, right?
I think not but I hope is the previous step to include this same functionality in the standalone version

exxx
Posts: 91
Joined: 12 Sep 2016

Post 20 Feb 2020

It's a better plugin when used in other daws

Who would use an external LFO?
Last edited by exxx on 20 Feb 2020, edited 1 time in total.

User avatar
orthodox
Posts: 1017
Joined: 22 Jan 2015

Post 20 Feb 2020

A nice set of features! It will make whiners shut up for at least a month. Until they get bored and start it over again.
Last edited by orthodox on 20 Feb 2020, edited 1 time in total.
Never imagine yourself not to be otherwise than what it might appear to others that what you were or might have been was not otherwise than what you had been would have appeared to them to be otherwise. -- L.Carroll

Ad0
Posts: 92
Joined: 13 Jun 2017

Post 20 Feb 2020

Great! Also finally drag MIDI pattern from DR Rex!!!

Now what's left is the VST hosting. Just allow it, plz.

User avatar
WillyOD
Posts: 252
Joined: 20 Jan 2015
Location: Left of stardust

Post 20 Feb 2020

It's funny to see Ryan/Props use other DAWs in their video and Reason as a plugin. I guess.... that is the future :(
You can do it, put your back into it. Check out my cool website at jopo.bike.

User avatar
orthodox
Posts: 1017
Joined: 22 Jan 2015

Post 20 Feb 2020

WillyOD wrote:
20 Feb 2020
It's funny to see Ryan/Props use other DAWs in their video and Reason as a plugin. I guess.... that is the future :(
Why? It was just the feature they described, which makes sense for the Plugin mostly.
Never imagine yourself not to be otherwise than what it might appear to others that what you were or might have been was not otherwise than what you had been would have appeared to them to be otherwise. -- L.Carroll

User avatar
tronam
Posts: 304
Joined: 04 Mar 2015

Post 20 Feb 2020

orthodox wrote:
20 Feb 2020
A nice set of features! It will make whiners shut up for at least a month. Until they get bored and start it over again.
A month? I predict the whining will begin today. ;)
iMac (Retina 5K, 27-inch, 2019) | Intel 8-Core i9 9900K | Radeon Pro Vega 48 | 48GB RAM

Mataya
Posts: 51
Joined: 03 May 2019

Post 20 Feb 2020

Hi,

first of all, Ryan is back! That's a treat. Thank you.

A new and free player that is actually really cool and useful and it's so well presented in a video, that I love it without even trying it for my self.

MIDI out! Wow.

Thank you reason studios, I'm a fan again.

One thing do. Can I load a vst with midi out sequencer and send that sequencer data into redrum for example now?

tx
M

User avatar
orthodox
Posts: 1017
Joined: 22 Jan 2015

Post 20 Feb 2020

tronam wrote:
20 Feb 2020
orthodox wrote:
20 Feb 2020
A nice set of features! It will make whiners shut up for at least a month. Until they get bored and start it over again.
A month? I predict the whining will begin today. ;)
Yeah, I admit I was wrong. It's already begun.
Never imagine yourself not to be otherwise than what it might appear to others that what you were or might have been was not otherwise than what you had been would have appeared to them to be otherwise. -- L.Carroll

fretshot7
Posts: 388
Joined: 02 Apr 2018

Post 20 Feb 2020

gotta say im not tempted to upgrade from v10 :shock:

User avatar
Loque
Posts: 6754
Joined: 28 Dec 2015

Post 20 Feb 2020

Uhh...nice! Some good additions to the VST and now they can even use the modulation devices. Finally the other DAWs got good CV :-D

I am curious, what i can do with the MIDI out in Reason itself and if it introduces some improvements.

Also curious, if I can drag from Redrum within Reason. Would be really cool, to drag it even back - like a MIDI clip into Redrum or Matrix and than save it in a patch.

The new Authorizer hopefully fixes some general problems a few ppl reported in the last months...

I am not sure about this new Player. I think i need to play around with and see/hear what it does. I guess, it can be very usefull for some glitch stuff and fills too. But the most important is, IT HAS CV INPUTS ❤. Finally RS remembered what Reason is cool about and now also the VST guys can easily create an envelope follower from a channel and send it to another channel having the Beatmap in it... :thumbs_up:

Look at this beautiful back!
Image
Last edited by Loque on 20 Feb 2020, edited 3 times in total.
:reason: 11, Win10 64Bit.

User avatar
MrFigg
Posts: 3686
Joined: 20 Apr 2018

Post 20 Feb 2020

fretshot7 wrote:
20 Feb 2020
gotta say im not tempted to upgrade from v10 :shock:
But you said in the other thread that you were tempted hahaha.

viewtopic.php?f=4&t=7516103&p=487936#p487936
Last edited by MrFigg on 20 Feb 2020, edited 1 time in total.
丰2ॐ

fretshot7
Posts: 388
Joined: 02 Apr 2018

Post 20 Feb 2020

fretshot7 wrote:
20 Feb 2020
gotta say im tempted to upgrade from v10 :shock:

fretshot7
Posts: 388
Joined: 02 Apr 2018

Post 20 Feb 2020

MrFigg wrote:
20 Feb 2020
fretshot7 wrote:
20 Feb 2020
gotta say im not tempted to upgrade from v10 :shock:
But you said in the other thread that you were tempted hahaha.
i am just tried to correct it - no idea where the 'not' came from haha im either losing it or someone changed it for a laugh, my guess is im losing it ...

User avatar
MrFigg
Posts: 3686
Joined: 20 Apr 2018

Post 20 Feb 2020

fretshot7 wrote:
20 Feb 2020
MrFigg wrote:
20 Feb 2020


But you said in the other thread that you were tempted hahaha.
i am just tried to correct it - no idea where the 'not' came from haha im either losing it or someone changed it for a laugh, my guess is im losing it ...
Stay strong man. You know what I mean.
丰2ॐ

User avatar
orthodox
Posts: 1017
Joined: 22 Jan 2015

Post 20 Feb 2020

fretshot7 wrote:
20 Feb 2020
gotta say im not tempted to upgrade from v10 :shock:
I am tempted, but I'll wait as I don't make music atm.
Never imagine yourself not to be otherwise than what it might appear to others that what you were or might have been was not otherwise than what you had been would have appeared to them to be otherwise. -- L.Carroll

fretshot7
Posts: 388
Joined: 02 Apr 2018

Post 20 Feb 2020

MrFigg wrote:
20 Feb 2020
fretshot7 wrote:
20 Feb 2020

i am just tried to correct it - no idea where the 'not' came from haha im either losing it or someone changed it for a laugh, my guess is im losing it ...
Stay strong man. You know what I mean.
haha v11 is far more attractive with a cool new player in there. I ain't ever gonna learn another daw, so its a couple of new effect devices, the new player, and a few sequencer bits n bobs. Am I missing anything else?

danc
Posts: 354
Joined: 14 Oct 2016

Post 20 Feb 2020

exxx wrote:
20 Feb 2020

Who would use an external LFO?
I would use the Reason REs for LFO and output to MIDI CC because you can chain a whole load of REs to make some awesome LFOs.

Maybe it's because I've used REs for so many years that I don't have to think twice about what I want to do.

So.... .maybe I can do the same inside my other DAW... But just feel comfortable with Reason to give me what I want.
All my music created, produced and mastered in Reason 11 and Studio One 4.5 (WIndows).


  • Information
  • Who is online

    Users browsing this forum: CommonCrawl [Bot], drno, geronimo, Trendiction [Bot] and 2 guests