Upgrading to R11: Opinions solicited

This forum is for discussing Reason. Questions, answers, ideas, and opinions... all apply.
Social Exodus

17 Feb 2020

Without getting into anyone's religious beliefs regarding Reason, given my situation described below -- what would you do?

First, I am a hobbyist but I love tinkering around in Reason. The rack metaphor feels like home since I was a telephone plant and tech control worker in my now distant past. I own R10 plus I also have Reaper and Cakewalk by Bandlab for the Windows world. I'm one of those oddballs that don't think a MAC is all that and a free drink myself. Also, I own many of the RE's that would come with the Reason Suite, at least the ones I'd want EXCEPT the new(er) Reason Bass and Drum extensions that replaced the older refills (which you can't get anymore?), plus the broken out parts of the SSL mixer would be a plus. Also, even if they are minor, the workflow enhancements would be nice too. I have zero desire to use this as a VST at this point but IF this new capability has zero effect on using it as a standalone DAW then I.'m OK with it being there.

The Reason Bass and Drum Bundle runs $179 which is most of the way to the $249 Reason Suite upgrade price of $249 and that's all that comes with it. Obviously that makes this attractive to just upgrade, but my concern is that R11 is maybe getting a bit piggish on resources? I have an older i5 3.40MHz Ivy Bridge machine but I have maxed out it's memory to 32gb and it runs Windows 10 and R10 flawlessly. So I don't want to upset that apple cart if upgrading to R11 is problematic that way.