Faderfox EC4

This forum is for discussing Reason. Questions, answers, ideas, and opinions... all apply.
greatexpectations
Posts: 5
Joined: 07 Nov 2016

Post 23 Jan 2020

Hi everybody. I just started using Reason and have a Faderfox EC4 midi controller. For those not familiar, this controller has 16 endless encoders that can be assigned to 16 groups so that you have 256 parameters per setup (and potentially 16 different setups!). I would like to create a mapping for Reason, something like:

Group 1 : control macros for combinators and sends for the selected mixer channel and the master fader
Group 2 : control the volume fader for channels 1-16
Group 3 : control the volume fader for channels 17-32
Group 4 -16 : mappings to various Reason instruments and fx

I actually have no idea where to start with this. Could anybody point me in the right direction or offer a tutorial? Thanks
Last edited by greatexpectations on 23 Jan 2020, edited 1 time in total.

User avatar
Chizmata
Posts: 565
Joined: 21 Dec 2015

Post 23 Jan 2020

first, check if reason has presets for that controller.

second, you can make assignments by right-clicking reason devices' knobs etc., but these would have to be saved as a preset .reason file
you open for every new song

third, you can edit your own midi mapping. this is a bit complicated though and i cant explain it from the top of my head. but all of these things are well explained in the reason manual ("help" in reason).

User avatar
jam-s
Posts: 1093
Joined: 17 Apr 2015
Location: Aachen, Germany

Post 25 Jan 2020

You will be interested in creating a remote file for your controller. Here's some info on this: https://www.soundonsound.com/techniques ... les-reason
If you're in Aachen, come and visit us at the Voidspace.

greatexpectations
Posts: 5
Joined: 07 Nov 2016

Post 26 Jan 2020

Thank you both for your help.

greatexpectations
Posts: 5
Joined: 07 Nov 2016

Post 27 Jan 2020

So I started to modify the codecs etc. but I have encountered my first problem. I have set it up so that some encoders are mapped to the combinator rotaries. This works except that they only control the most recently opened combinator and not the selected combinator. Any suggestions as to what is going on?

User avatar
jam-s
Posts: 1093
Joined: 17 Apr 2015
Location: Aachen, Germany

Post 27 Jan 2020

The rotaries should control the combinator that has the little green arrow (that shows which device has midi focus) lit.
If you're in Aachen, come and visit us at the Voidspace.

Mogge
Posts: 1
Joined: 01 Aug 2020

Post 01 Aug 2020

Are you satisfied with the Faderfox? I am thinking of getting one myself, would be willing to share codec with ya :)
I can also get them to include the codec in Reason if we have a make some good ones.

Question, do you also make the display the parameter names?

djsmex
Posts: 131
Joined: 23 Aug 2016

Post 03 Aug 2020

It looks like from the video, the encoder names are programmed on the unit and are limited to 4chars each. I don't own one of these myself but do have older faderfox controllers which I still use.
http://www.faderfox.de/ec4.html

User avatar
artotaku
Posts: 508
Joined: 09 May 2015
Location: Munich, Germany

Post 03 Aug 2020

djsmex wrote:
03 Aug 2020
It looks like from the video, the encoder names are programmed on the unit and are limited to 4chars each. I don't own one of these myself but do have older faderfox controllers which I still use.
http://www.faderfox.de/ec4.html
I also had a look at the Ableton Remote script and it does not send any MIDI messages to control the encoder names. So it seems like editing is on the device only.
Maybe it´s possible with special sysex messages (like a dev or admin mode) but we don´t know, it´s nowhere mentioned in the manual. Best is to ask faderfox.

User avatar
artotaku
Posts: 508
Joined: 09 May 2015
Location: Munich, Germany

Post 14 Oct 2020

artotaku wrote:
03 Aug 2020
djsmex wrote:
03 Aug 2020
It looks like from the video, the encoder names are programmed on the unit and are limited to 4chars each. I don't own one of these myself but do have older faderfox controllers which I still use.
http://www.faderfox.de/ec4.html
I also had a look at the Ableton Remote script and it does not send any MIDI messages to control the encoder names. So it seems like editing is on the device only.
Maybe it´s possible with special sysex messages (like a dev or admin mode) but we don´t know, it´s nowhere mentioned in the manual. Best is to ask faderfox.
Update. Sending sysex to change the names seems to be possible since there is an online editor (https://www.privatepublic.de/faderfox-editor/ec4/) that does it. Unfortunately, there is no official public developer information about the protocol for the sysex messages. So either you reverse engineer the JavaScript code of the online editor (wouldn´t be that hard) or ask faderfox if you can get any information.

  • Information
  • Who is online

    Users browsing this forum: CommonCrawl [Bot], Rising Night Wave and 1 guest