PC randomly shuts down

This forum is for discussing Reason. Questions, answers, ideas, and opinions... all apply.
eudopia

19 Nov 2019

hi all - new user here.

i'm trying out Reason and have an issue where my PC will completely and suddenly shut down for no apparent reason. it has only happened a handful of times over the last couple of weeks.

i'm new to music production and DAWs in general so have no prior experience. PC specs are:

i7 980x CPU
GTX 1070 GPU
24gb RAM
W7

i'm using the onboard sound from an Asus p6x58d-e MB and this morning i experienced a shutdown with no MIDI controllers or any other inputs attached, so it was purely Reason using the computer keys to play sounds. the rack only had a few instruments in it and i was playing a single instrument at the time of the shutdown so CPU usage was very low.

is there anywhere in particular i should be looking to solve this issue?

xboix

19 Nov 2019

My first thought is overheating.
Actually, that's my only thought!

Loque

19 Nov 2019

xboix wrote:
19 Nov 2019
My first thought is overheating.
Actually, that's my only thought!
That would make sense. I once did not had enough silver paste on the CPU...
Reason12, Win10

miyaru

19 Nov 2019

Open up your pc, detach the cpu cooler, losen your cpu, clean your cpu and contact surface of your cooler and apply new cooling paste.

Then re-assemble your cpu and cooler - that should do the trick........
Greetings from Miyaru.
Prodaw i7-7700, 16Gb Ram, Focusrite Scarlett 18i20 3rd gen, ESI M4U eX, Reason12, Live Suit 10, Push2, Presonus Eris E8 and Monitor Station V2, Lexicon MPX1,
Korg N1, Yamaha RM1x :thumbup:

ThatKevinHanleyGuy

19 Nov 2019

Heat is a good guess, and I’ve also had this happen when a power supply was about to go bad. Even though CPU usage was low, playback in Reason is naturally going to increase the load on the PC, both heat and power.

Could also be a bad stick of RAM which is harder to diagnose.
soundcloud.com/thatkevinhanleyguy

eudopia