Keep search term in browser search box.

This forum is for discussing Propellerhead's music software. Questions, answers, ideas, and opinions... all apply.
User avatar
Namyo85
Posts: 224
Joined: 11 Mar 2017

Post 18 Nov 2019

Hello, haven't posted on this forum for a long time. There's many reasons for this including becoming disillusioned with all things 'Reason' including this site, that said, a lot of that was due to how I responded to posts on here and how I felt about Reasons limitations. I have to take some responsibility for 'how things were'. I also had some serious problems to solve in my life which I'm getting on top of now, I'm winning basically and I'm back with a more positive attitude. Have to say despite not posting I have been visiting from time to time and reading posts on here, probably won't post too often but it's good to be back. :puf_smile:

Anyway, to the point. I want to suggest that Reasons search box retains the search term when switching between 'Instruments' Effects' and 'Utilities'. It disappears each time which is annoying, ok I can copy the word and paste it in but that's still a drag. I don't know if it's been fixed in version 11, I'm still on 9.5. Thanks guys.

User avatar
diminished
Posts: 1581
Joined: 15 Dec 2018

Post 18 Nov 2019

You posted here before my time, but welcome back!

The search box clearing itself when switching categories is probably on top of my list of the things most annoying in Reason.
:reason: Most recent track: The Test (feat. MrFigg) || Others: on my YouTube channel •ᴗ•

xboix
Posts: 141
Joined: 22 Oct 2019

Post 18 Nov 2019

diminished wrote:
18 Nov 2019
...most annoying in Reason.
I'd expand that to include the whole search thing in general. Why can't they catalogue my refills and sounds folders and give me a sensible search speed?

User avatar
Oquasec
Posts: 2567
Joined: 05 Mar 2017

Post 18 Nov 2019

I feel like reason search speed is fast since it scans folders in realtime.
like a 35gb library or something.
Producer/Sound Designer.

User avatar
diminished
Posts: 1581
Joined: 15 Dec 2018

Post 18 Nov 2019

It seems like the missing sound search goes through each item in a folder and compares it to the search string one by one.. Matlab is faster..

Yeah alright. It's the whole shitty browser on top of that list.
:reason: Most recent track: The Test (feat. MrFigg) || Others: on my YouTube channel •ᴗ•

User avatar
Namyo85
Posts: 224
Joined: 11 Mar 2017

Post 18 Nov 2019

Windows 7's own search works at light speed in comparison. I often search for missing samples with W7 then navigate to the folder in Reasons browser then tell it to look there. What I find bizarre is if you direct the search one folder up, Reason won't search that folder then the subfolder which the sample is in, it starts from the top and 3 weeks go by before it finds the sound. :-?

User avatar
Oquasec
Posts: 2567
Joined: 05 Mar 2017

Post 18 Nov 2019

Is that a windows thing or a reason thing?
Producer/Sound Designer.

User avatar
Namyo85
Posts: 224
Joined: 11 Mar 2017

Post 18 Nov 2019

Definitely a Reason issue. So many users report the browsers slow speed amongst other things.

  • Information
  • Who is online

    Users browsing this forum: CommonCrawl [Bot], dezma, Matsj61 and 18 guests