SSL style mixer, visual or modelled too?

This forum is for discussing Propellerhead's music software. Questions, answers, ideas, and opinions... all apply.
User avatar
miyaru
Posts: 52
Joined: 28 Oct 2019
Location: Zaanstad, The Netherlands

Post 04 Nov 2019

Hi I have been using Reason 10 years back, and now again with an update to 11 suite.

I find the SSL style mixer user friendly and good looking, but is it soundwise modelled after a real SSL?
Greetings from Miyaru.
Prodaw i7-7700, 16Gb Ram, Focusrite Saffire Pro40, Reason Suite 11, Live Suit 10, Push2, Presonus Eris E8, Lexicon MPX1,
Korg N1, Korg R3, NI Massive, Rob Papen's Predator 2, Sonarworks Reference 4 and Scaler.

User avatar
Periwinkle
Posts: 166
Joined: 09 Jul 2019
Location: London England

Post 04 Nov 2019

Image

.“Art should comfort the disturbed and disturb the comfortable.”

― Banksy

User avatar
miyaru
Posts: 52
Joined: 28 Oct 2019
Location: Zaanstad, The Netherlands

Post 04 Nov 2019

That answers my question....... Used to work with a real SSL at the Amsterdam SAE years back, so can't compare directly, as this was like 18 years back........ I like the layout, and it's easier as Ableton Live where you have to make a template with all the stuff in or add it manually every time. The live 8 band EQ sounds also good, and together with my Push2 it is easy to operate.

But since one week I have Reason 11 suite and I like the layout of the SSL as a standard mixer for it!
Greetings from Miyaru.
Prodaw i7-7700, 16Gb Ram, Focusrite Saffire Pro40, Reason Suite 11, Live Suit 10, Push2, Presonus Eris E8, Lexicon MPX1,
Korg N1, Korg R3, NI Massive, Rob Papen's Predator 2, Sonarworks Reference 4 and Scaler.

User avatar
Boombastix
Posts: 904
Joined: 18 May 2018
Location: Bay Area, CA

Post 04 Nov 2019

If you want a great console transformer type plugin, try this one: https://www.plugin-alliance.com/en/prod ... x-500.html
It is only $29 now. Used to be $99. Note, the full channel may sell for $29 on BF.
10% off at Waves with link: https://www.waves.com/r/6gh2b0
Disclaimer - I get 10% as well.

User avatar
Periwinkle
Posts: 166
Joined: 09 Jul 2019
Location: London England

Post 04 Nov 2019

The general consensus seems to be that the eq curves and dynamic characteristics are fairly faithful but that it lacks the colouration if the desks. Most people seem to agree that this is a good thing.
Image

.“Art should comfort the disturbed and disturb the comfortable.”

― Banksy

User avatar
Djstarski
Posts: 295
Joined: 20 Jan 2015

Post 05 Nov 2019

Just to remind everyone the the SSL mixer in Reason was modelled on the SSL 9000k . Which was a clean mixer not coloured . I think some users believe its modelled after the E or G .

User avatar
miyaru
Posts: 52
Joined: 28 Oct 2019
Location: Zaanstad, The Netherlands

Post 05 Nov 2019

Periwinkle wrote:
04 Nov 2019
Most people seem to agree that this is a good thing.
I agree with that, colouration can be added afterwards, but if it is there it is hard or even impossible to take it away........
Greetings from Miyaru.
Prodaw i7-7700, 16Gb Ram, Focusrite Saffire Pro40, Reason Suite 11, Live Suit 10, Push2, Presonus Eris E8, Lexicon MPX1,
Korg N1, Korg R3, NI Massive, Rob Papen's Predator 2, Sonarworks Reference 4 and Scaler.

User avatar
Lempface
Posts: 157
Joined: 27 Jan 2018

Post 05 Nov 2019

Djstarski wrote:
05 Nov 2019
Just to remind everyone the the SSL mixer in Reason was modelled on the SSL 9000k . Which was a clean mixer not coloured . I think some users believe its modelled after the E or G .
Would be pretty nice to have a button per channel to toggle between K/E/G modelling.
Reason 11 Suite | Bitwig Studio 3 | Native Instruments Komplete 12 Ultimate Collector's | Komplete Kontrol M32 | Maschine Mikro MK2 | Maschine Jam

User avatar
Djstarski
Posts: 295
Joined: 20 Jan 2015

Post 05 Nov 2019

Lempface wrote:
05 Nov 2019
Djstarski wrote:
05 Nov 2019
Just to remind everyone the the SSL mixer in Reason was modelled on the SSL 9000k . Which was a clean mixer not coloured . I think some users believe its modelled after the E or G .
Would be pretty nice to have a button per channel to toggle between K/E/G modelling.
Yes , that would be sweet . With the added colour to the E and G .And keep the K clean .

User avatar
miyaru
Posts: 52
Joined: 28 Oct 2019
Location: Zaanstad, The Netherlands

Post 05 Nov 2019

+1 for me too please!!!!!
Greetings from Miyaru.
Prodaw i7-7700, 16Gb Ram, Focusrite Saffire Pro40, Reason Suite 11, Live Suit 10, Push2, Presonus Eris E8, Lexicon MPX1,
Korg N1, Korg R3, NI Massive, Rob Papen's Predator 2, Sonarworks Reference 4 and Scaler.

  • Information
  • Who is online

    Users browsing this forum: CommonCrawl [Bot], Trendiction [Bot], Wee Joe and 5 guests