Reason 11.0.1

This forum is for discussing Propellerhead's music software. Questions, answers, ideas, and opinions... all apply.
PhillipOrdonez
Posts: 634
Joined: 20 Oct 2017
Location: Norway

Post 28 Oct 2019

Loque wrote:
28 Oct 2019
PhillipOrdonez wrote:
28 Oct 2019


No Loque, I've only tried this in live 10 with the reason rack plugin (RPP) :(
Maybe i was no clear enough, can you repeat this test in Reason only?
Here it is, maximum zoom level in reason:

https://www.dropbox.com/s/ml3y9c29rcjpj ... 3.png?dl=0

User avatar
Loque
Posts: 6295
Joined: 28 Dec 2015

Post 28 Oct 2019

PhillipOrdonez wrote:
28 Oct 2019
Loque wrote:
28 Oct 2019

Maybe i was no clear enough, can you repeat this test in Reason only?
Here it is, maximum zoom level in reason:

https://www.dropbox.com/s/ml3y9c29rcjpj ... 3.png?dl=0
Ok, thanks. I guess Lookahead was enabled. Than its quite obvious, that there is still something odd.
:reason: 11, Win10 64Bit.

PhillipOrdonez
Posts: 634
Joined: 20 Oct 2017
Location: Norway

Post 28 Oct 2019

Loque wrote:
28 Oct 2019
PhillipOrdonez wrote:
28 Oct 2019


Here it is, maximum zoom level in reason:

https://www.dropbox.com/s/ml3y9c29rcjpj ... 3.png?dl=0
Ok, thanks. I guess Lookahead was enabled. Than its quite obvious, that there is still something odd.
Yes, lookahead enabled.

User avatar
MattiasHG
Posts: 307
Joined: 16 Jan 2015

Post 29 Oct 2019

PhillipOrdonez wrote:
28 Oct 2019
MattiasHG wrote:
28 Oct 2019


You're processing the audio, so there will be audible differences—one of the tracks is running through effects, they're not identical. But the timing/delay should be correct. Otherwise, with 5 Maximizers, there wouldn't be phasing but an audible delay. Try it with Ozone Maximizer or BV512 in FFT EQ mode for example. Especially with Ozone, which adds a TON of latency, it'd be like adding a DDL-1 if it didn't work. :)
I tried it again using the maximisers (4 units, all with lookahead on). I also tried with not one but two Ozone 9 maximiser vst on another track. Here is how they line up:

https://www.dropbox.com/s/k4edjaxf0ik9z ... 2.png?dl=0
After a lot of head-scratching I've figured this out! It seems the Maximizer is reporting latency wrong (like, down to 1ms or less). This is actually also present in Reason standalone. In other words, latency reporting is correct but what this device reports is not. We'll see if we can fix this for Maximizer. But overall, Reason Rack Plugin will report correctly to the host.

User avatar
MrFigg
Posts: 3169
Joined: 20 Apr 2018

Post 29 Oct 2019

MattiasHG wrote:
29 Oct 2019
PhillipOrdonez wrote:
28 Oct 2019


I tried it again using the maximisers (4 units, all with lookahead on). I also tried with not one but two Ozone 9 maximiser vst on another track. Here is how they line up:

https://www.dropbox.com/s/k4edjaxf0ik9z ... 2.png?dl=0
After a lot of head-scratching I've figured this out! It seems the Maximizer is reporting latency wrong (like, down to 1ms or less). This is actually also present in Reason standalone. In other words, latency reporting is correct but what this device reports is not. We'll see if we can fix this for Maximizer. But overall, Reason Rack Plugin will report correctly to the host.
Hej Mattias. I’m guessing you’ve probably read the thread regarding Balance/ Ignition keys. I KNOW this isn’t a support centre but there’s a lot of guessing and even some concern going on so would you maybe be willing to comment on what’s actually happening so we can get on with our lives?

PhillipOrdonez
Posts: 634
Joined: 20 Oct 2017
Location: Norway

Post 29 Oct 2019

MattiasHG wrote:
29 Oct 2019
PhillipOrdonez wrote:
28 Oct 2019


I tried it again using the maximisers (4 units, all with lookahead on). I also tried with not one but two Ozone 9 maximiser vst on another track. Here is how they line up:

https://www.dropbox.com/s/k4edjaxf0ik9z ... 2.png?dl=0
After a lot of head-scratching I've figured this out! It seems the Maximizer is reporting latency wrong (like, down to 1ms or less). This is actually also present in Reason standalone. In other words, latency reporting is correct but what this device reports is not. We'll see if we can fix this for Maximizer. But overall, Reason Rack Plugin will report correctly to the host.
Takk for confirming I'm not crazy 😃 I hope you guys figure this out soon, I like using the maximiser as a soft clipping unit on a lot of channels when mixing.

On second thought, this shouldn't be an issue at all, as long as lookahead isn't on though, correct? I cannot test this right now (using maximisers without lookahead on, see if there's any delay at all), but logic tells me it shouldn't, though I would want to be sure.

User avatar
Last Alternative
Posts: 1148
Joined: 20 Jan 2015
Location: the lost desert

Post 29 Oct 2019

Are we still supposed to wait to get Catalina?
https://lastalternative.bandcamp.com
:reason: 10.4 | iMac (27" Retina 5K, late 2015): OS Mojave, i7 Skylake @ 4GHz, 1TB SSD, 32 GB RAM, Radeon M395X | lots of sick gear

User avatar
Biolumin3sc3nt
Posts: 503
Joined: 16 Jan 2015

Post 29 Oct 2019

Last Alternative wrote:
29 Oct 2019
Are we still supposed to wait to get Catalina?
Until there's an official announcement, I would say wait on it

User avatar
Loque
Posts: 6295
Joined: 28 Dec 2015

Post 30 Oct 2019

PhillipOrdonez wrote:
29 Oct 2019
MattiasHG wrote:
29 Oct 2019


After a lot of head-scratching I've figured this out! It seems the Maximizer is reporting latency wrong (like, down to 1ms or less). This is actually also present in Reason standalone. In other words, latency reporting is correct but what this device reports is not. We'll see if we can fix this for Maximizer. But overall, Reason Rack Plugin will report correctly to the host.
Takk for confirming I'm not crazy 😃 I hope you guys figure this out soon, I like using the maximiser as a soft clipping unit on a lot of channels when mixing.

On second thought, this shouldn't be an issue at all, as long as lookahead isn't on though, correct? I cannot test this right now (using maximisers without lookahead on, see if there's any delay at all), but logic tells me it shouldn't, though I would want to be sure.
Hum...if it is "just" a rounding problem, it is not the only one in the Reason world. IMO Reasonstudios should not fix the problem, iZotope should fix it - but i guess, they wont do it. Once i wrote to Softube, because FET does not report lookahead at all, the answer was so disappointing, that i only have bad words left for Softube and will never buy software from them again.
:reason: 11, Win10 64Bit.

User avatar
MattiasHG
Posts: 307
Joined: 16 Jan 2015

Post 30 Oct 2019

Last Alternative wrote:
29 Oct 2019
Are we still supposed to wait to get Catalina?
Yes. We're working on an update that is fully compatible. We can't guarantee full compatibility with the currently available versions.

User avatar
MattiasHG
Posts: 307
Joined: 16 Jan 2015

Post 30 Oct 2019

PhillipOrdonez wrote:
29 Oct 2019
Takk for confirming I'm not crazy 😃 I hope you guys figure this out soon, I like using the maximiser as a soft clipping unit on a lot of channels when mixing.

On second thought, this shouldn't be an issue at all, as long as lookahead isn't on though, correct? I cannot test this right now (using maximisers without lookahead on, see if there's any delay at all), but logic tells me it shouldn't, though I would want to be sure.
Correct, shouldn't be an issue if lookahead isn't on. :)

PhillipOrdonez
Posts: 634
Joined: 20 Oct 2017
Location: Norway

Post 30 Oct 2019

MattiasHG wrote:
30 Oct 2019
PhillipOrdonez wrote:
29 Oct 2019
Takk for confirming I'm not crazy 😃 I hope you guys figure this out soon, I like using the maximiser as a soft clipping unit on a lot of channels when mixing.

On second thought, this shouldn't be an issue at all, as long as lookahead isn't on though, correct? I cannot test this right now (using maximisers without lookahead on, see if there's any delay at all), but logic tells me it shouldn't, though I would want to be sure.
Correct, shouldn't be an issue if lookahead isn't on. :)
Thank you!

  • Information
  • Who is online

    Users browsing this forum: CommonCrawl [Bot] and 5 guests