440 +/- tuning per song

This forum is for discussing Propellerhead's music software. Questions, answers, ideas, and opinions... all apply.
User avatar
WeLoveYouToo
Posts: 155
Joined: 01 Jul 2017
Location: portland, or

Post 10 Oct 2019

so, i am pretty sure there is no way around this, but has anyone experimented with alternate tunings?
in the "reason-->preferences-->audio-->master tune" there is a slider which lets you change where middle A is.
i have a couple different songs which all need different tuning.
the most annoying thing is booting reason up one day and starting work on a song, recording to a pitch and metronome, then realizing i just recorded sour notes becasue i had my master tune set to another song file.
i really need a way to save master tune on aper-song level, but since that's probbaly impossible, and hack ideas?
right now i can just tune the individual instruments to the correct "off" pitch, but that can be a headache in other ways.

and in case you are curious, the reason i need this feature is becasue i am working on some tracks with vintage instruments that cannot be tuned to concert A, and i want to capture their nuances but also add some electronic elements.

User avatar
BradfordMoeller
Posts: 27
Joined: 06 Oct 2016

Post 11 Oct 2019

There's a rack extension that might help you with this, MicroTune by Oshen K, slap it in the master section before composing, and off you go!
:reason:)))

User avatar
selig
Moderator
Posts: 7998
Joined: 15 Jan 2015

Post 11 Oct 2019

There may be some confusion using the term "Alternate Tuning", which suggests a scale that doesn't use equal tempered intervals, vs an overall tuning shift using the Master Tune control.
Assuming you're talking about the Master Tune control, and you're not wanting to use alternate tuning tables for an instrument, you are correct that the setting is not saved "per song". It is saved for the entire application, meaning it's saved even if you quit and re-launch Reason, and AFAIK there is no way to have this applied per song (same as sample rate etc. and other controls on the Audio tab of the Prefs). :(
Selig Audio, LLC

User avatar
BradfordMoeller
Posts: 27
Joined: 06 Oct 2016

Post 11 Oct 2019

selig wrote:
11 Oct 2019
There may be some confusion using the term "Alternate Tuning", which suggests a scale that doesn't use equal tempered intervals, vs an overall tuning shift using the Master Tune control.
Assuming you're talking about the Master Tune control, and you're not wanting to use alternate tuning tables for an instrument, you are correct that the setting is not saved "per song". It is saved for the entire application, meaning it's saved even if you quit and re-launch Reason, and AFAIK there is no way to have this applied per song (same as sample rate etc. and other controls on the Audio tab of the Prefs). :(
True; I should have been more clear as well- the rack extension I mentioned could be used for this, but you'd be tuning all of the notes in tandem, (I.e. each note tuned up 16 cents to get very close to A=444hz, or each note tuned down 32 cents to get very close to A=432hz), so you'd still maybe need to adjust per song, even if saved In the master section of a template.

I'm curious about the logistics of attaining the ability to tune a song/instrument by hz instead of cents within a DAW.
:reason:)))

User avatar
selig
Moderator
Posts: 7998
Joined: 15 Jan 2015

Post Yesterday

BradfordMoeller wrote:
11 Oct 2019
True; I should have been more clear as well- the rack extension I mentioned could be used for this, but you'd be tuning all of the notes in tandem, (I.e. each note tuned up 16 cents to get very close to A=444hz, or each note tuned down 32 cents to get very close to A=432hz), so you'd still maybe need to adjust per song, even if saved In the master section of a template.

I'm curious about the logistics of attaining the ability to tune a song/instrument by hz instead of cents within a DAW.
"MicroTune" is a monophonic CV device, so you couldn't use it in the master section or on instruments play chords as I understand it (or does it support "polyCV" and not mention it in the shop page?).

Also worth noting, adjusting Master Tune will affect all synths and drum machines (!) but not audio tracks. Plus you only have ±100 cents to work with, so maybe not enough range to accommodate some acoustic instruments if they are really out of tune (thinking old pianos etc, here).

What may be better in the long run is to record your external instruments and then adjust their tuning in the inspector (where you have a wider range to work with). The trade off here is your recorded instruments will be pitch shifted, which may or may not sound as "pristine" as desired (or it may not matter!). You'll may have to try a few different approaches to see which works best.

@WeLoveYouToo
Not knowing your workflow, but one problem with using any non-standard tuning overall is that any acoustic instruments that ARE tuned to A-440 will have to be recorded and tuned internally - in the end I would rather adjust the pitch of ONE instrument that is out of tune rather than "every instrument but one" in a song.
Selig Audio, LLC

User avatar
ljekio
Posts: 680
Joined: 21 Jan 2015

Post Yesterday

selig wrote:
Yesterday

@WeLoveYouToo
Not knowing your workflow, but one problem with using any non-standard tuning overall is that any acoustic instruments that ARE tuned to A-440 will have to be recorded and tuned internally - in the end I would rather adjust the pitch of ONE instrument that is out of tune rather than "every instrument but one" in a song.
Theoretically it can shift audiotracks to master tune too. With embedded pitch shift.
Afair, Cubase can tune audiotrack follow to master tune.

User avatar
selig
Moderator
Posts: 7998
Joined: 15 Jan 2015

Post Yesterday

ljekio wrote:
Yesterday

Theoretically it can shift audiotracks to master tune too. With embedded pitch shift.
Afair, Cubase can tune audiotrack follow to master tune.
Wait - do you mean "theoretically Reason Studios could ADD this ability with some future update", or is there some workaround you're aware of that could implement this?
Selig Audio, LLC

User avatar
ljekio
Posts: 680
Joined: 21 Jan 2015

Post Yesterday

No, of course I meant the first option. With hope for the future (although I personally do not need it).
I just wanted to say that if desired, this can be arranged not only for MIDI and synthesizers, but also for audio.

User avatar
BradfordMoeller
Posts: 27
Joined: 06 Oct 2016

Post Yesterday

selig wrote:
Yesterday
BradfordMoeller wrote:
11 Oct 2019
True; I should have been more clear as well- the rack extension I mentioned could be used for this, but you'd be tuning all of the notes in tandem, (I.e. each note tuned up 16 cents to get very close to A=444hz, or each note tuned down 32 cents to get very close to A=432hz), so you'd still maybe need to adjust per song, even if saved In the master section of a template.

I'm curious about the logistics of attaining the ability to tune a song/instrument by hz instead of cents within a DAW.
"MicroTune" is a monophonic CV device, so you couldn't use it in the master section or on instruments play chords as I understand it (or does it support "polyCV" and not mention it in the shop page?).

Also worth noting, adjusting Master Tune will affect all synths and drum machines (!) but not audio tracks. Plus you only have ±100 cents to work with, so maybe not enough range to accommodate some acoustic instruments if they are really out of tune (thinking old pianos etc, here).

What may be better in the long run is to record your external instruments and then adjust their tuning in the inspector (where you have a wider range to work with). The trade off here is your recorded instruments will be pitch shifted, which may or may not sound as "pristine" as desired (or it may not matter!). You'll may have to try a few different approaches to see which works best.

@WeLoveYouToo
Not knowing your workflow, but one problem with using any non-standard tuning overall is that any acoustic instruments that ARE tuned to A-440 will have to be recorded and tuned internally - in the end I would rather adjust the pitch of ONE instrument that is out of tune rather than "every instrument but one" in a song.
Ah right! Thank you, its been so long since I've used it.
:reason:)))

  • Information
  • Who is online

    Users browsing this forum: CommonCrawl [Bot] and 1 guest