Reason New Features & 11.1 Speculation

This forum is for discussing Reason. Questions, answers, ideas, and opinions... all apply.
Creativemind

03 Oct 2019

Hi All!

So we have Reason 11 and a small handful of workflow enhancements very welcomed by me but...

I hate to say this, still not fully implemented to their fullest.

The octave shift in the midi editor, for me should've included moving the note/s back to the beginning of the clip you're in. So essentially another shortcut but I'd group them both together. I often play something in and with me not being a pianist I will often play the chord sequence in three times, getting closer to what I was going for each time. Usually the third attempt is closest. So I delete the first 2, then ctrl a to select the remaining third attempt, ctrl k to quantize and I would love to be able to ctrl alt back arrow to automatically shift the notes back to the beginning of a clip. Ctrl back arrow is already a shortcut (grid division movement) and ctrl shift arrows are move back or forth a slightly larger amount, if it's 1.1.1.1, it will be 1.2.1.1) etc.

The Show Played and Selected Notes missed 2 things off too. The note displayed on the note (F# Bb etc) and no shading across the midi editor. So I can't easily find which key on my midi controller the note is in the midi editor by following a shading up / down the midi editor. 8 have to look back and forth. More time consuming and strain on the eyes.

The mute midi notes doesn't include scrolling to quickly scroll mute a row of notes. They can do it, you can scroll across the steps on ReDrum to select them so do-able. Should've also extended the scroll muting to work on midi and audio clips in the sequencer.