Can you download the SDK without registering a company?

This forum is for discussing Rack Extensions. Devs are all welcome to show off their goods.
User avatar
stratatonic
Posts: 1027
Joined: 15 Jan 2015
Location: CANADA

Post 10 Sep 2019

When I go to the developer website https://www.propellerheads.com/developers

there is a line there:
Anyone can register as a developer, but only companies can sell Rack Extensions or ReFills in the Propellerhead Shop

But I don't see an option to register as a developer, only to register a company.
And that link wants a Website / TIN-Number / Company registration number / EUVAT-Number

So I'd like to register as a developer, but I have no company details. I'm going in circles.

User avatar
artotaku
Posts: 461
Joined: 09 May 2015
Location: Munich, Germany

Post 10 Sep 2019

stratatonic wrote:
10 Sep 2019
When I go to the developer website https://www.propellerheads.com/developers

there is a line there:
Anyone can register as a developer, but only companies can sell Rack Extensions or ReFills in the Propellerhead Shop

But I don't see an option to register as a developer, only to register a company.
And that link wants a Website / TIN-Number / Company registration number / EUVAT-Number

So I'd like to register as a developer, but I have no company details. I'm going in circles.
You don´t need a company to apply as developer.

The number is crucial as soon as you want to release a RE to the public (don´t know if this also true if you only release REs without a price tag, though).

User avatar
stratatonic
Posts: 1027
Joined: 15 Jan 2015
Location: CANADA

Post 10 Sep 2019

artotaku wrote:
10 Sep 2019

You don´t need a company to apply as developer.

The number is crucial as soon as you want to release a RE to the public (don´t know if this also true if you only release REs without a price tag, though).
I don't need a company, but I am stalled on this requirement:
Reverse domain developer ID
which needs to be filled in before I can submit.

ForgottenClank
Posts: 32
Joined: 14 Nov 2018

Post 10 Sep 2019

stratatonic wrote:
10 Sep 2019
I don't need a company, but I am stalled on this requirement:
Reverse domain developer ID
which needs to be filled in before I can submit.
You can use any ID you like and it can be changed later. You don't need to own the domain you use for the reverse domain ID. Just do "com.maybeuseyourcompanynamehere".

User avatar
Lempface
Posts: 115
Joined: 27 Jan 2018

Post 10 Sep 2019

Yeah I'm currently toying w/ the SDK now and I haven't created a company yet. It was a bit of a PITA though.
Reason 10 | Bitwig Studio 3 | Native Instruments Komplete 12 Ultimate

User avatar
stratatonic
Posts: 1027
Joined: 15 Jan 2015
Location: CANADA

Post 10 Sep 2019

ForgottenClank wrote:
10 Sep 2019
stratatonic wrote:
10 Sep 2019
I don't need a company, but I am stalled on this requirement:
Reverse domain developer ID
which needs to be filled in before I can submit.
You can use any ID you like and it can be changed later. You don't need to own the domain you use for the reverse domain ID. Just do "com.maybeuseyourcompanynamehere".
Thanks for your help :)
Lempface wrote:
10 Sep 2019
Yeah I'm currently toying w/ the SDK now and I haven't created a company yet. It was a bit of a PITA though.
I'm in! The last bit of PITA was having Props keep telling me to put my email address in.
It was in every available box and still I was asked to supply an email address.
Much later I see that I had a comma instead of a period in one of the the addresses... :redface:

ForgottenClank
Posts: 32
Joined: 14 Nov 2018

Post 10 Sep 2019

If any of you guys need any help, feel free to reach out to me. I have had a hard time grasping a lot of the concepts at the beginning and clarifying some things from the start can be really helpful and save you a lot of trial and error.

User avatar
stratatonic
Posts: 1027
Joined: 15 Jan 2015
Location: CANADA

Post 10 Sep 2019

ForgottenClank wrote:
10 Sep 2019
If any of you guys need any help, feel free to reach out to me. I have had a hard time grasping a lot of the concepts at the beginning and clarifying some things from the start can be really helpful and save you a lot of trial and error.
Awesome! :cool: Thanks again!

RobC
Posts: 1118
Joined: 10 Mar 2018

Post 10 Sep 2019

I wanna get into REs, too, but I feel I better learn Reaktor first, to sketch things out.

User avatar
Oquasec
Posts: 2392
Joined: 05 Mar 2017

Post 12 Sep 2019

Completely stopped using Reaktor around the time Reason 9 was made public.
Producer/Sound Designer.
Currently checking out peff & hydlide's archives.
FL & Reason 11.

RobC
Posts: 1118
Joined: 10 Mar 2018

Post 13 Sep 2019

Oquasec wrote:
12 Sep 2019
Completely stopped using Reaktor around the time Reason 9 was made public.
How come? It has tons of possibilities...

User avatar
selig
Moderator
Posts: 7902
Joined: 15 Jan 2015

Post 13 Sep 2019

RobC wrote:
10 Sep 2019
I wanna get into REs, too, but I feel I better learn Reaktor first, to sketch things out.
That's how I prototype all my product ideas.
You cannot effectively prototype with the SDK, nor is it designed for that work.
Selig Audio, LLC

User avatar
Oquasec
Posts: 2392
Joined: 05 Mar 2017

Post 13 Sep 2019

It was much faster for me. I'm content.
Producer/Sound Designer.
Currently checking out peff & hydlide's archives.
FL & Reason 11.

User avatar
selig
Moderator
Posts: 7902
Joined: 15 Jan 2015

Post 13 Sep 2019

Oquasec wrote:
13 Sep 2019
It was much faster for me. I'm content.
Who/what are you replying to?
Selig Audio, LLC

RobC
Posts: 1118
Joined: 10 Mar 2018

Post 14 Sep 2019

selig wrote:
13 Sep 2019
That's how I prototype all my product ideas.
You cannot effectively prototype with the SDK, nor is it designed for that work.
Well, I hope learning the SDK will be only twice as difficult as Reaktor. x D

Proboscis
Posts: 78
Joined: 28 Aug 2019

Post 14 Sep 2019

It would be great to see a magic tool to press a button and convert Combinators to Rack Extensions :lol:

  • Information
  • Who is online

    Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 0 guests