Reason crashing

This forum is for discussing Reason. Questions, answers, ideas, and opinions... all apply.
DNGmaestro
Competition Winner

20 Jun 2019

The new version of Reason started freezing quite a few times on me. I already lost long work a couple of times because of time.
It happens mostly when the pc goes to sleep with reason turned on, then i wake it up again.

I've been using reason for more than 15 years now and this has never happened before. I don't even remember when reason crashed on me before this new update.

Is this happening to more people ?

Loque

20 Jun 2019

Which devices do you use? Any VSTs? Reason only without any devices in hybernation mode? Always remember, that VSTs and RE are not part of Reason, so please try to be more precise and we can help.

Its quite common in my experience, that a lot of devs do not test their stuff with hibernation/sleep mode of the computer - and they should, because it shows some weak spots in their applications.

I remembered a beta of a RE, where the dev was looking quite a long time to find a bug only happening in suspended->wakeup phase. He didnt wanted to release it without a fix. Cudos to this dev. Wish there were more devs like this!
Reason12, Win10

reasonsuser88

20 Jun 2019

I developed the habit of compulsively hitting CTRL+S every fifteen minutes. Otherwise, change your power settings so it doesn't sleep.
The time has come for you to take care and comb your hair. :wave:

DNGmaestro
Competition Winner

20 Jun 2019

Reason never crashed for me, with or without vsts. Now it sometimes crashes when the pc goes into sleep mode. With or without vsts.

chimp_spanner

20 Jun 2019

If you're working on music and you intend to put the computer to sleep, save and exit the program. I wouldn't expect any DAW to restore properly from sleep tbh. It's just a bad idea!

Loque

20 Jun 2019

chimp_spanner wrote:
20 Jun 2019