Reason beginner.

This forum is for discussing Reason. Questions, answers, ideas, and opinions... all apply.
ComposersDiePoor

23 May 2019

Hi all, I'm new to reason and just joined today. I've a silly question to ask. I was on reason expert's and downloaded the 2016 refill pack. It is an awesome piece of work but my question is this, is there a way to install the refill into my reason or do I use it as an extension when opening a file, ( my refill is on my desktop). Also, I've been watching a lot of propeller heads video on YouTube and I was wondering, what's the best thing to do first and experiment with? Sorry, long winded statement but looking to excel in my music and I hope reason can do this. Thanks.

NekujaK

23 May 2019

Welcome to the big wonderful world of Reason!

Refills are containers (think of them as a special type of folder) that can contain device presets, Rex loops, and samples. You can access the contents of a refill by examining it in Reason's Browser - either navigating directly to it in the Browser, or when trying to load a preset for a device and selecting Browse from the preset menu.

Most folks maintain a dedicated directory on their file system where they keep all their refills. You can organize them any way you want, in a folder structure works for you. You can add this folder as a shortcut in Reason's Browser (see the manual for how to do this).

Have fun!
Last edited by NekujaK on 23 May 2019, edited 1 time in total.
wreaking havoc with :reason: since 2.5
:arrow: https://soundcloud.com/nekujak-donnay/sets

bitley

23 May 2019

Create a folder for refills, place it there, keep it backed up. Point out the folder from Reason & always place refills there and you will find them at once. Grab some of the ones from my site as well :)

Boombastix
Competition Winner

23 May 2019

ComposersDiePoor wrote:
23 May 2019