If Boss Roland can do it PropellerHeads can do it!

This forum is for discussing Reason. Questions, answers, ideas, and opinions... all apply.
calebbrennan

12 Apr 2019

Many of you know I am guitarist who loves synthesis

I have been an advocate for Props solving the polyphonic guitar from a single 1/4 jack equation
that electroharmonix pedals can do and now this Boss SY 300?

If Props can create an interface to allow guitarists to play poly synth it would result massive in sales.
Maybe an RE dedicated synth, or just an interface that translates audio data to oscillators

https://www.boss.info/us/products/sy-300/

Jackjackdaw

12 Apr 2019

I am a guitarist and I have spent some time thinking about this. I was initially intrigued by the idea of guitar synths, where the notes played are translated to midi and then drive a synth engine. But in reality to my ears this always sounds terrible and on top of that there is always latency with makes the playing feel unnatural. I had a eureka moment when I started thinking about what a synth is, essentially an oscillator sending a sound through a signal path and getting shaped by lfos, filters, envelopes and fx. What makes the oscillator sound ‘synthy’ is the all the movement and modulation that goes on through the signal path.

In contrast what makes a guitar sound ‘guitary’ is the lack of movement in the signal chain. Guitar fx are traditionally very static, you set the overdrive to sound nice and leave it, the settings never evolve over time. Even phasers and choruses are very linear , operating on a basic lfo.

So my theory is that rather than pursuing synth triggers , you can get much more satisfying results building a synth where your guitar note is the oscillator and the sound moves through a synth signal path, maybe with a buffer in there for extra long sustain, fx modulated by long envelopes etc, filters sweeping and swelling...