VST Automation — Disaster??

This forum is for discussing Propellerhead's music software. Questions, answers, ideas, and opinions... all apply.
Klaus—Morlock
Posts: 17
Joined: 29 Mar 2018

Post 06 Dec 2018

Hi folk.

I just bought Psychicmodulations new drum machine — Pulsecode. Unfortunately, the parameter that I most want to automate, i.e. the "fracture" parameter (which is essentially randomised fills) will NOT AUTOMATE. This renders the plug-in unusable, as far as I'm concerned. Is this a known thing with Reason? The same thing happens with G-Force's Oddity — one of the FILTERS is not automatable. Does Reason just provide automatable parameters at random? If so, what a disaster, as the most important parameters for performance cannot be automated.

Am I missing something?

This is a deal-breaker for the DAW, if I can't automate these perameters.

Is there a workaround? I've tried putting Pulsecode into a Combinator, but the parameters I need to automate don't appear in the drop-down.

If anyone can help, I'd be most grateful.

Best, Klaus

User avatar
Loque
Posts: 4262
Joined: 28 Dec 2015

Post 06 Dec 2018

At first, is the parameter automatable at all and in other DAWs?

Reason has a limited number of supported parameters. If this is here the case, you can try to automate it via midi loop back.
:reason: 10, Win10 64Bit.

Klaus—Morlock
Posts: 17
Joined: 29 Mar 2018

Post 06 Dec 2018

Thank you, Loque.

bronsoncox
Posts: 5
Joined: 14 Dec 2017
Location: Republic, MO USA

Post 07 Dec 2018

On a quick scan of Pulsecode's manual, it looks like Fracture is controlled by the pitchbend parameter with Fracture note controls for each drum assignable in the MIDI panel of the VST itself.

I am guessing that the automation would be note w/ pitchbend to control Fracture and and note w/ modwheel to control Flow.


https://www.psychicmodulation.com/pulse ... manual.pdf

User avatar
antic604
Posts: 1452
Joined: 23 Oct 2017
Location: Warsaw, Poland

Post 07 Dec 2018

I'm not familiar with this VST, but can you map that parameter to one of the CV ins? If so, then you could use this free RE (https://shop.propellerheads.com/rack-ex ... generator/) to automate it's knobs and connect them to the CV in on the VST?

Also maybe try if you can map that parameter to button in a Combi?
Reason 10 // Bitwig 2 // Live 10 @ Surface Pro 4 i7 8/256GB
My music: https://soundcloud.com/antic604

  • Information
  • Who is online

    Users browsing this forum: Adabler, chrischrischris, CommonCrawl [Bot] and 3 guests