Reason 8 won't download soundbanks

This forum is for discussing Reason. Questions, answers, ideas, and opinions... all apply.
rezelscheft

25 Nov 2018

No idea if anyone still uses Reason 8, but in case they do...

Long story short: I tried to install Reason 8 on my new MacBook, but I can't get it to open because it cannot find the soundbanks (even after I download them).

More details below. Any thoughts much appreciated.
-rez

I have been using Reason 8 on an older MacBook for a few years now. It's great.
I recently got a new 2017 MacBook Air running OS 10.13.6 and downloaded Reason 8.3.2d7.

When I tried to open it, it told me that "Reason needs sound banks and additional content to run. Please click the Download button to download all missing content!" I did that, and watched my computer download and verify the soundbanks. But then Reason told me it couldn't find the soundbanks (again), and asked me to re-install them (again).

After this happened 3 times, I uninstalled Reason, shut down my computer, and re-downloaded it. When I opened it, it again told me the sound banks were missing. I downloaded them again, and again it told me that the banks can't be found, and need to be re-installed.

I also tried downloading the Soundbanks off of the site, and that did not work either.

MannequinRaces

25 Nov 2018

The sound banks have to be in the Reason folder to work properly I think. Find where you are downloading them and put them in there. More info here: https://www.propellerheads.com/download ... soundbanks

rezelscheft

26 Nov 2018

Thanks. I tried downloading those files and putting them in the main Reason 8 folder (which, incidentally, is exactly where they are when you first install Reason from the .dmg file), but sadly, it just collapsed into the same cycle it's been doing. Which is this:

*I open Reason
*it tells me "Reason wants to make changes". I click "OK."