Guys what is the best cpu for reason?

This forum is for discussing Propellerhead's music software. Questions, answers, ideas, and opinions... all apply.
User avatar
EnochLight
Posts: 5744
Joined: 17 Jan 2015
Location: your mom

Post 30 Oct 2018

Breach The Sky wrote:
30 Oct 2018
Zen 2/Ryzen 3 is coming sometimes in the first half off 2019. Apparently the rumors say that instructions per cycle is improved. Maybe it will be better for low latency audio to, who knows.

The thing is, Ryzen 2700x is almost half the prize off core i9 9900k. I could never justify Intel over Amd with that prize to performance ratio.
Unless they completely redesign the way that they connect their dies, the latency issue will likely remain.

But I get what you mean by price. But still, the 2700x is substantially slower in single core than the 9900k - like noticeably. And multi-threaded is slower as well.


1AFE0998-5A97-42B7-BB2C-462E3F4D592D.jpeg
You do not have the required permissions to view the files attached to this post.
Win 10 | Reason 11 |  Studio One 4.5 | i7 3770k @ 3.5 Ghz | 16 GB RAM | Reactor 1TB SSD | RME Babyface Pro | Nektar Panorama P-4 | Akai MPC Live | Roland System 8 and System 1 | Roland TR-8 with 7x7 Expansion | Roland TB-3 | Roland VT-4 | Roland MX-1

Breach The Sky
Posts: 196
Joined: 14 Jul 2015
Location: Sweden

Post 30 Oct 2018

EnochLight wrote:
30 Oct 2018
Breach The Sky wrote:
30 Oct 2018
Zen 2/Ryzen 3 is coming sometimes in the first half off 2019. Apparently the rumors say that instructions per cycle is improved. Maybe it will be better for low latency audio to, who knows.

The thing is, Ryzen 2700x is almost half the prize off core i9 9900k. I could never justify Intel over Amd with that prize to performance ratio.
Unless they completely redesign the way that they connect their dies, the latency issue will likely remain.
Is that their "infinity fabric" thing? Yeah.. I have to think hard about this when I build my new pc next year. :|

User avatar
EnochLight
Posts: 5744
Joined: 17 Jan 2015
Location: your mom

Post 30 Oct 2018

Breach The Sky wrote:
30 Oct 2018
EnochLight wrote:
30 Oct 2018

Unless they completely redesign the way that they connect their dies, the latency issue will likely remain.
Is that their "infinity fabric" thing? Yeah.. I have to think hard about this when I build my new pc next year. :|
Right, their "infinity fabric" blah blah blah. That said, if you don't work with really tight buffers (64-128 sample buffer), you'll be just fine. At higher buffers (256-512) the Ryzen and Threadripper line starts to get in alignment with their Intel competition (but for a lower price). It's that single-thread performance you need to look out for, though (as far as DAW/plugins are concerned).
Win 10 | Reason 11 |  Studio One 4.5 | i7 3770k @ 3.5 Ghz | 16 GB RAM | Reactor 1TB SSD | RME Babyface Pro | Nektar Panorama P-4 | Akai MPC Live | Roland System 8 and System 1 | Roland TR-8 with 7x7 Expansion | Roland TB-3 | Roland VT-4 | Roland MX-1

User avatar
Boombastix
Posts: 826
Joined: 18 May 2018
Location: Bay Area, CA

Post 30 Oct 2018

I don't understand why the performance discussion always focuses on CPU cores and CPU frequency but omits RAM performance. In the CFD world, computer fluid dynamics, it is all about solving mathematical equations, isn't DSP the same, a lot of math? The computer performance gurus in the CFD world really puts an emphasis on RAM performance as the CPU has to shuffle info back and forth to RAM as it is solving the equations, RAM being the bottle neck, not CPU performance. When I built my workstation some years ago I made sure I picked a MB that had four parallel RAM busses and not the typical two, dramatically increasing the math solving performance. I put in 4x 4Gb of RAM with the fastest RAM I could find. Shouldn't this be part of the discussion for how to build a fast music making machine?

Sent from my Moto G (5) Plus using Tapatalk

10% off at Waves with link: https://www.waves.com/r/6gh2b0
Disclaimer - I get 10% as well.

User avatar
EnochLight
Posts: 5744
Joined: 17 Jan 2015
Location: your mom

Post 30 Oct 2018

Boombastix wrote:
30 Oct 2018
I don't understand why the performance discussion always focuses on CPU cores and CPU frequency but omits RAM performance. In the CFD world, computer fluid dynamics, it is all about solving mathematical equations, isn't DSP the same, a lot of math? The computer performance gurus in the CFD world really puts an emphasis on RAM performance as the CPU has to shuffle info back and forth to RAM as it is solving the equations, RAM being the bottle neck, not CPU performance. When I built my workstation some years ago I made sure I picked a MB that had four parallel RAM busses and not the typical two, dramatically increasing the math solving performance. I put in 4x 4Gb of RAM with the fastest RAM I could find. Shouldn't this be part of the discussion for how to build a fast music making machine?

Sent from my Moto G (5) Plus using Tapatalk
These days, while RAM speed can certainly affect your overall performance, in the DAW and plugin realm it is vastly more affected by CPU speed. There are far more learned people than me who I’m sure can chime in on this, though.
Win 10 | Reason 11 |  Studio One 4.5 | i7 3770k @ 3.5 Ghz | 16 GB RAM | Reactor 1TB SSD | RME Babyface Pro | Nektar Panorama P-4 | Akai MPC Live | Roland System 8 and System 1 | Roland TR-8 with 7x7 Expansion | Roland TB-3 | Roland VT-4 | Roland MX-1

User avatar
Boombastix
Posts: 826
Joined: 18 May 2018
Location: Bay Area, CA

Post 30 Oct 2018

EnochLight wrote:
Boombastix wrote:
30 Oct 2018
I don't understand why the performance discussion always focuses on CPU cores and CPU frequency but omits RAM performance. In the CFD world, computer fluid dynamics, it is all about solving mathematical equations, isn't DSP the same, a lot of math? The computer performance gurus in the CFD world really puts an emphasis on RAM performance as the CPU has to shuffle info back and forth to RAM as it is solving the equations, RAM being the bottle neck, not CPU performance. When I built my workstation some years ago I made sure I picked a MB that had four parallel RAM busses and not the typical two, dramatically increasing the math solving performance. I put in 4x 4Gb of RAM with the fastest RAM I could find. Shouldn't this be part of the discussion for how to build a fast music making machine?

Sent from my Moto G (5) Plus using Tapatalk
These days, while RAM speed can certainly affect your overall performance, in the DAW and plugin realm it is vastly more affected by CPU speed. There are far more learned people than me who I’m sure can chime in on this, though.
Total RAM speed is very dependent on number of RAM busses, 2 or 4 busses. Any MoBo with 8 busses, I don't know? But if this is the No 1 issue in the CFD world, but not discussed in the DAW world, it makes me wonder...

Sent from my Moto G (5) Plus using Tapatalk

10% off at Waves with link: https://www.waves.com/r/6gh2b0
Disclaimer - I get 10% as well.

User avatar
EnochLight
Posts: 5744
Joined: 17 Jan 2015
Location: your mom

Post 30 Oct 2018

Boombastix wrote:
30 Oct 2018
Total RAM speed is very dependent on number of RAM busses, 2 or 4 busses. Any MoBo with 8 busses, I don't know? But if this is the No 1 issue in the CFD world, but not discussed in the DAW world, it makes me wonder...
CFD world... do you mean Computational Fluid Dynamics?
Win 10 | Reason 11 |  Studio One 4.5 | i7 3770k @ 3.5 Ghz | 16 GB RAM | Reactor 1TB SSD | RME Babyface Pro | Nektar Panorama P-4 | Akai MPC Live | Roland System 8 and System 1 | Roland TR-8 with 7x7 Expansion | Roland TB-3 | Roland VT-4 | Roland MX-1

User avatar
Boombastix
Posts: 826
Joined: 18 May 2018
Location: Bay Area, CA

Post 30 Oct 2018

EnochLight wrote:
Boombastix wrote:
30 Oct 2018
Total RAM speed is very dependent on number of RAM busses, 2 or 4 busses. Any MoBo with 8 busses, I don't know? But if this is the No 1 issue in the CFD world, but not discussed in the DAW world, it makes me wonder...
CFD world... do you mean Computational Fluid Dynamics?
Yes, that's correct.

Sent from my Moto G (5) Plus using Tapatalk

10% off at Waves with link: https://www.waves.com/r/6gh2b0
Disclaimer - I get 10% as well.

User avatar
jam-s
Posts: 761
Joined: 17 Apr 2015
Location: Aachen, Germany

Post 30 Oct 2018

In CFD you've got quite a large memory region (for the cells of the simulation) that has to be read and updated each cycle. For audio processing you've only got a few small buffers that have to written to quite fast (and can most likely be kept in the CPU cache). So the situation is quite different for CFD simulations and audio processing.
If you're in Aachen, come and visit us at the Voidspace.

prophecy
Posts: 48
Joined: 18 Oct 2018
Location: Liverpool

Post 31 Oct 2018

Without wanting to diss the theory, has anyone built with a recent AMD chip and seen/heard issues? I'm in the soon to build boat and can't justify paying twice the price for my musical hobby.
I'm so new as to not know what my buffer and latency is off the top of my head, and I might have missed many threads with these experiences already in.
Reason 10 Lite | Surface Pro 3 i5 | Akai MPK Mini II | Yamaha Clavinova CVP5 | Fingers | Ears |

User avatar
EnochLight
Posts: 5744
Joined: 17 Jan 2015
Location: your mom

Post 31 Oct 2018

prophecy wrote:
31 Oct 2018
I'm so new as to not know what my buffer and latency is off the top of my head, and I might have missed many threads with these experiences already in.
Well, this is a serious part of the equation, and one facet you should become aware of. Open up Reason, go into Preferences, and check your audio card's sample buffer setting. Do you typically run it at 256-512 samples? If so, you'll likely be perfectly fine on AMD's Ryzen or Threadripper. Do you typically run at 64-128 samples? If so, you'll likely be fine - but won't be able to run nearly as many plugin instances as you would at that latency compared to a newer Intel system. What your threshold tolerance is will obviously vary, depending on what you expect out of plugin instances.
Win 10 | Reason 11 |  Studio One 4.5 | i7 3770k @ 3.5 Ghz | 16 GB RAM | Reactor 1TB SSD | RME Babyface Pro | Nektar Panorama P-4 | Akai MPC Live | Roland System 8 and System 1 | Roland TR-8 with 7x7 Expansion | Roland TB-3 | Roland VT-4 | Roland MX-1

User avatar
sonicbyte
Posts: 231
Joined: 16 Jan 2015
Location: Argentina

Post 31 Oct 2018

Anyone knows how good are the Razer notebooks for Reason or audio production in general ?

https://www.razer.com/gaming-laptops/ra ... de-stealth

For instance the 13 inch comes in two CPU options:
- Quad-Core 8th Gen Intel® Core™ i7-8550U Processor with Hyper Threading 1.8 GHz / 4.0 GHz (Base/Turbo)
- Dual-Core 7th Gen Intel® Core™ i7-7500U Processor with Hyper Threading 2.7 GHz / 3.5 GHz (Base/Turbo)

I asume quad always is better for Reason... any tips about this brand ?

User avatar
EnochLight
Posts: 5744
Joined: 17 Jan 2015
Location: your mom

Post 31 Oct 2018

sonicbyte wrote:
31 Oct 2018
Anyone knows how good are the Razer notebooks for Reason or audio production in general ?

https://www.razer.com/gaming-laptops/ra ... de-stealth

For instance the 13 inch comes in two CPU options:
- Quad-Core 8th Gen Intel® Core™ i7-8550U Processor with Hyper Threading 1.8 GHz / 4.0 GHz (Base/Turbo)
- Dual-Core 7th Gen Intel® Core™ i7-7500U Processor with Hyper Threading 2.7 GHz / 3.5 GHz (Base/Turbo)

I asume quad always is better for Reason... any tips about this brand ?
Forget laptop model or brand - it always boils down to the actual CPU. And with that said, cpubenchmark.net is your friend:

https://www.cpubenchmark.net/compare/In ... 4vs2863vs2

The 8550U model would be your best bet, but seriously - in single-thread performance (which, again, is what all DAW really benefit from) it's barely faster than my almost 7 year old desktop chip. They're both slower in multi-thread.


yep.JPG
You do not have the required permissions to view the files attached to this post.
Last edited by EnochLight on 31 Oct 2018, edited 1 time in total.
Win 10 | Reason 11 |  Studio One 4.5 | i7 3770k @ 3.5 Ghz | 16 GB RAM | Reactor 1TB SSD | RME Babyface Pro | Nektar Panorama P-4 | Akai MPC Live | Roland System 8 and System 1 | Roland TR-8 with 7x7 Expansion | Roland TB-3 | Roland VT-4 | Roland MX-1

antic604

Post 31 Oct 2018

sonicbyte wrote:
31 Oct 2018
For instance the 13 inch comes in two CPU options:
- Quad-Core 8th Gen Intel® Core™ i7-8550U Processor with Hyper Threading 1.8 GHz / 4.0 GHz (Base/Turbo)
- Dual-Core 7th Gen Intel® Core™ i7-7500U Processor with Hyper Threading 2.7 GHz / 3.5 GHz (Base/Turbo)
13'' screen will be really painful for Reason, so I'd recommend 15'' Razer Blade with a i7-8750h CPU. Recently they've introduced a "base" model that is relatively cheap (for the brand). It smokes the two you mentioned out of the water (https://www.cpubenchmark.net/compare/In ... 3064vs2863)

User avatar
sonicbyte
Posts: 231
Joined: 16 Jan 2015
Location: Argentina

Post 31 Oct 2018

antic604 wrote:
31 Oct 2018
sonicbyte wrote:
31 Oct 2018
For instance the 13 inch comes in two CPU options:
- Quad-Core 8th Gen Intel® Core™ i7-8550U Processor with Hyper Threading 1.8 GHz / 4.0 GHz (Base/Turbo)
- Dual-Core 7th Gen Intel® Core™ i7-7500U Processor with Hyper Threading 2.7 GHz / 3.5 GHz (Base/Turbo)
13'' screen will be really painful for Reason, so I'd recommend 15'' Razer Blade with a i7-8750h CPU. Recently they've introduced a "base" model that is relatively cheap (for the brand). It smokes the two you mentioned out of the water (https://www.cpubenchmark.net/compare/In ... 3064vs2863)
Yeah, the laptop screen size doesn't matter for me too much because I use Reason in multiple screens... but thanks for the model tip

antic604

Post 31 Oct 2018

sonicbyte wrote:
31 Oct 2018
thanks for the model tip
No problem. Just found the review of the "new" base model - the one with 256GB SSD / 2TB HDD at $1800 is the one I'd get:
https://www.notebookcheck.net/Razer-Bla ... 591.0.html

User avatar
EnochLight
Posts: 5744
Joined: 17 Jan 2015
Location: your mom

Post 31 Oct 2018

sonicbyte wrote:
31 Oct 2018
Yeah, the laptop screen size doesn't matter for me too much because I use Reason in multiple screens... but thanks for the model tip
Curious: if you're using it hooked up to multiple displays, why don't you just get a desktop (which will have a vastly faster CPU and return on investment)?
Win 10 | Reason 11 |  Studio One 4.5 | i7 3770k @ 3.5 Ghz | 16 GB RAM | Reactor 1TB SSD | RME Babyface Pro | Nektar Panorama P-4 | Akai MPC Live | Roland System 8 and System 1 | Roland TR-8 with 7x7 Expansion | Roland TB-3 | Roland VT-4 | Roland MX-1

kitekrazy
Posts: 725
Joined: 19 Jan 2015

Post 31 Oct 2018

sonicbyte wrote:
31 Oct 2018
Anyone knows how good are the Razer notebooks for Reason or audio production in general ?

https://www.razer.com/gaming-laptops/ra ... de-stealth

For instance the 13 inch comes in two CPU options:
- Quad-Core 8th Gen Intel® Core™ i7-8550U Processor with Hyper Threading 1.8 GHz / 4.0 GHz (Base/Turbo)
- Dual-Core 7th Gen Intel® Core™ i7-7500U Processor with Hyper Threading 2.7 GHz / 3.5 GHz (Base/Turbo)

I asume quad always is better for Reason... any tips about this brand ?
They are also built for DAWs. Imageline partners with them. Usually you go for highest clocking base core. Odd the 1.8 jump to 4.0.

User avatar
Boombastix
Posts: 826
Joined: 18 May 2018
Location: Bay Area, CA

Post 31 Oct 2018

sonicbyte wrote:Anyone knows how good are the Razer notebooks for Reason or audio production in general ?

https://www.razer.com/gaming-laptops/ra ... de-stealth

For instance the 13 inch comes in two CPU options:
- Quad-Core 8th Gen Intel[emoji2400] Core[emoji769] i7-8550U Processor with Hyper Threading 1.8 GHz / 4.0 GHz (Base/Turbo)
- Dual-Core 7th Gen Intel[emoji2400] Core[emoji769] i7-7500U Processor with Hyper Threading 2.7 GHz / 3.5 GHz (Base/Turbo)

I asume quad always is better for Reason... any tips about this brand ?
If I were you I'd look into how they perform under constant load. Can the laptop handle Turbo speed without heat issues? If it cannot take a constant high DSP load due to heat it will dial back the CPU speed and cut performance dramatically.

Sent from my Moto G (5) Plus using Tapatalk

10% off at Waves with link: https://www.waves.com/r/6gh2b0
Disclaimer - I get 10% as well.

prophecy
Posts: 48
Joined: 18 Oct 2018
Location: Liverpool

Post 31 Oct 2018

EnochLight wrote:
31 Oct 2018
prophecy wrote:
31 Oct 2018
I'm so new as to not know what my buffer and latency is off the top of my head, and I might have missed many threads with these experiences already in.
Well, this is a serious part of the equation, and one facet you should become aware of.
I'll make sure to put on my serious trousers.
Reason 10 Lite | Surface Pro 3 i5 | Akai MPK Mini II | Yamaha Clavinova CVP5 | Fingers | Ears |

User avatar
EnochLight
Posts: 5744
Joined: 17 Jan 2015
Location: your mom

Post 31 Oct 2018

prophecy wrote:
31 Oct 2018
EnochLight wrote:
31 Oct 2018


Well, this is a serious part of the equation, and one facet you should become aware of.
I'll make sure to put on my serious trousers.
Good idea! Just be sure to zip up your fly. No one needs to see that stuff.
Win 10 | Reason 11 |  Studio One 4.5 | i7 3770k @ 3.5 Ghz | 16 GB RAM | Reactor 1TB SSD | RME Babyface Pro | Nektar Panorama P-4 | Akai MPC Live | Roland System 8 and System 1 | Roland TR-8 with 7x7 Expansion | Roland TB-3 | Roland VT-4 | Roland MX-1

User avatar
FlowerSoldier
Posts: 467
Joined: 03 Jun 2016

Post 31 Oct 2018

Just...Don't buy what Hydlide bought.

User avatar
Catblack
Posts: 839
Joined: 15 Apr 2016

Post 01 Nov 2018

FlowerSoldier wrote:
31 Oct 2018
Just...Don't buy what Hydlide bought.
He spent so much on a cpu that he can't afford light bulbs.
If you ain't hip to the rare Housequake, shut up already.

Damn.

User avatar
EnochLight
Posts: 5744
Joined: 17 Jan 2015
Location: your mom

Post 01 Nov 2018

Catblack wrote:
01 Nov 2018
FlowerSoldier wrote:
31 Oct 2018
Just...Don't buy what Hydlide bought.
He spent so much on a cpu that he can't afford light bulbs.
LOL! You guys... :lol:

Seriously though, a simple cursory search would have revealed that the single thread performance of the CPU he chose was pretty lame by current standards. More cores does not necessarily equal better, I'm afraid.
Win 10 | Reason 11 |  Studio One 4.5 | i7 3770k @ 3.5 Ghz | 16 GB RAM | Reactor 1TB SSD | RME Babyface Pro | Nektar Panorama P-4 | Akai MPC Live | Roland System 8 and System 1 | Roland TR-8 with 7x7 Expansion | Roland TB-3 | Roland VT-4 | Roland MX-1

User avatar
Heigen5
Posts: 595
Joined: 25 Sep 2018
Location: Finland / Suomi

Post 01 Nov 2018

You can't polish a turd but you can route it via a million dollar Reverb and make it a "million dollar reverbera turd".
That said, soundquality is oftenly in a source and not in a saviour magic-chain. Did my i7 @3,4 become a victim of these million dollar Reverberas?

  • Information
  • Who is online

    Users browsing this forum: Ahrefs [Bot], CommonCrawl [Bot], DotNetDotCom.org [Bot], Trendiction [Bot] and 3 guests