Reason 10 and Ozone 8

This forum is for discussing Reason. Questions, answers, ideas, and opinions... all apply.
moozak

14 Oct 2018

Hi guys,
I am a noob when it comes to mastering. Thankfully, Ozone 8 has a Master Assistant which does most of the work, and I simply tweak the things that I don't like. It's really helpful, and it's a great starting point for people like me, who don't know much about mastering.

However, there's something that I don't understand. The Reason MASTER SECTION equalizer goes into red, while the Ozone 8 equalizer does not. Which one is the accurate one? I attached a screenshot to show what I mean.

Thank you :)
master-screenshot.jpg
master-screenshot.jpg (142.88 KiB) Viewed 1641 times

jam-s

14 Oct 2018

That's most likely because you do have another effect or something that is altering the gain of the signal after Ozone and before the hardware interface device in reason.

PhillipOrdonez

15 Oct 2018

See that true peak button? Have it on, and turn the ceiling to -0.3 if going to print to cd or -1 for streaming.

Also, I rather master in the standalone; having a whole mix project and mastering on top is an unnecessary strain on your system.

It probably clips on Reason because while the master assistant is doing is processing and applying settings, it may go overboard or perhaps it was clipping from before and you forgot to reset it?

mcatalao
Competition Winner

15 Oct 2018

From my experience they are both right.

So first and foremost do you have anything after Ozone on the master bus? Also... If you have th inserts pre compressor option on, and then have the main bus compressor on it will be applied after ozone (wich in the main bus is an insert).

Finally, be sure to have your main fader at unity (0) as this is another stage where you can add gain after Ozone.
For this to work Ozone must be the last effect on the master bus (specially if you're adding noize shaping and dither from ozone when exporting).