Sending/routing MIDI between tracks?

This forum is for discussing Reason. Questions, answers, ideas, and opinions... all apply.
kenchiltk

22 Jul 2018

I use kontakt a lot, for this i create a setup of say drums in a kontakt instance each drum reacting to a different MIDI channel and then I need to setup a MIDI track where I set the channel it's sending to, say track 2 channel 5 where the kontakt instance is loaded.

I use this a lot to create setups in kontakt so I can easily load a complete setup of various instruments and route midi to the track it's on.

Can't really figure this out, but such a simple thing must be possible or else I need to load something like 18 kontakt instances just for the drums which would be extremely wastefull.

I have other multichannel instruments that I need this for.

Anyone know how to handle this in Reason? I can do it in all other DAWs but I'm stumped figuring this simple task in Reason since I'm still pretty new at it :)

I tried using note lanes but there doesn't seem to be any way to set the channel they are sending on :(

Thanks for any help :)

jam-s

22 Jul 2018

Reason does not support multi channel instruments, yet.

kenchiltk

22 Jul 2018

Thanks.

That's crazy, say I load LA Scoring strings which uses often 20 or more instruments in a single kontakt instance I need to load 20 tracks with 20 kontakt instances and the interplay scripting between instruments won't work anymore.

jam-s

22 Jul 2018

In short: yes.

One possible workaround is using a virtual midi cable (software) and (a lot of) External Midi Instruments from Reason to send the Midi to standalone Kontakt. Getting the Audio back into Reason is a little troublesome, but there are some tutorials on this. (That's pretty much how you could already do VST in Reason before Reason had VST support.)

kenchiltk

22 Jul 2018

Yeah some virtual midi loopback driver and sending to a standalone kontakt is what I'm going to try.

Carly(Poohbear)
Competition Winner