What do I need in Reason to make music like this?

This forum is for discussing Reason. Questions, answers, ideas, and opinions... all apply.

aeox
Competition Winner

18 Jul 2018

Time

aeox
Competition Winner

18 Jul 2018

KirkMarkarian

18 Jul 2018

aeox wrote:
18 Jul 2018
Time
I own the 2020 app, but I prefer the workflow and ability to save properly in Reason. I've been using Reason since 2001, but I do not own every RE.

This is as close as I've gotten:

It's the closest I've gotten so far, but there's gotta be something that can get me closer. The Torsion RE pretty much allowed me to get there. Anything else that might work? I've got the Kompulsion RE too.

Ahornberg

19 Jul 2018

Maybe take a look at KRON https://shop.propellerheads.se/rack-extension/kron/ ... btw you made a great album!

MannequinRaces

19 Jul 2018

PSQ for some unpredictability , Distillery (for glitches, etc.). Torsion is AWESOME! Like Ahornberg Kron can do some crazy things with CV.

scratchnsnifff

19 Jul 2018

Basically you need some lectric panda instruments (nostromo or torsion) probably more so torsion. But you could use the grain oscillator in grain and automate the grain length and spacing using a CV out from a 3rd party sequencer or matrix curve.

Get the air raid audio grain delay because we don’t have access to the U-he grain thing anymore :/
(Luckily I snagged it before it went away but it sucks that I can’t really recommend it anymore)

The idea is to make a song using pattern sequencers. Arpeggios and to have the sequencer control everything. The psq from lectric panda will be your best friend as it has random options. This will make your loop sound more like a song because of variations. You could also use the free Rostromo device and use random spacey sounding patches.

But like I said a lot of granular morphing and run stuff using a sequencer don’t forget reverb
Mayor of plucktown :evil:

KirkMarkarian

19 Jul 2018