Why Reason?

This forum is for discussing Reason. Questions, answers, ideas, and opinions... all apply.
wils

22 Dec 2017

Just wondering why you guys chose Reason and if you find it does everything you need or whether you need to augment it with VSTs or even other DAWs.

For me, it's the first DAW I've actually owned (I've had some experience with lite versions of others). What made me buy this, and not cubase, Ableton live, sonar etc is very simple. Reason has everything in the box and it's designed that way. Ok others have instruments, effects and things included but Reason is the only one that I feel doesn't *need* additional stuff (mostly as a result of its sandbox approach).

My PC has crashed and died various times and this has meant new hard drives etc, with fresh installs of countless instruments and effects. It just takes too long. It's soooooooo frustrating to open up song 678 and get a "plugin XYZ could not be found" popup just because you went mad and wrote every new song with a different eight synths and twenty new send effects :P

In contrast, I know that won't happen with reason (my intention is to resist every single refill and rack extension that doesn't come bundles with it, and concentrate on making music with what I have and getting the most out of every included bit of kit).

TritoneAddiction
Competition Winner

22 Dec 2017

At first I started out with Reaper for a short while. Then a friend introduced me to Reason and I just switched. For some reason I got slightly better results with my music and I just stuck with it.
At this point I just don't see any big reason to change DAW. Even though I'm far from an expert with Reason I know what I need to know to make my music. Tbh I'm not sure Reason is the best DAW for me but now I've developed a workflow and I have no energy or desire to try out every DAW out there.