Routing midi from VST to a Reason synth?

This forum is for discussing Propellerhead's music software. Questions, answers, ideas, and opinions... all apply.
Post Reply
reso
Posts: 2
Joined: 16 Dec 2017

16 Dec 2017

Hello everyone, first post here :D

So, I'm interested in this VST = http://feelyoursound.com/melodicflow

Roughly speaking, it's supposed to receive midi from a midi keyboard, remap the notes in a desired melodic scale, and output to one of Reasons device's. However I don't know how to route the midi signal through the VST and into one of Reason's synths. The developer has information about to setup in various applications here : http://www.feelyoursound.com/melodicflow-manual/#setup. But Reason isn't included. Anyone can help?

User avatar
Ahornberg
Posts: 1066
Joined: 15 Jan 2016
Location: Vienna, Austria
Contact:

16 Dec 2017

this is not possible if you are using VSTs inside Reason

but you can run the VST in a VST-host and use MIDI-loopback to access the MIDI output of the VST (or use Rewire instead)

reso
Posts: 2
Joined: 16 Dec 2017

16 Dec 2017

That's a shame, thanks anyway Ahornberg.

User avatar
QVprod
Posts: 1390
Joined: 15 Jan 2015
Contact:

16 Dec 2017

You can't use midi VSTs in Reason right now, But Auto Theory (RE in the shop) does pretty much the same thing as Melodic Flow. You can also use the Scales and Chords player (included in Reason 9 and above) for similar results.

sdst
Posts: 537
Joined: 14 Jun 2015

16 Dec 2017

cv tuner can do something similar, but need to know cv in depth

but sure they will solve this in next updates, would be nice a new midi cable

Post Reply
  • Information
  • Who is online

    Users browsing this forum: Bing [Bot] and 4 guests