So how come taskmanager says cpu usage is around 40% but my DSP meter is in the red?

This forum is for discussing Reason. Questions, answers, ideas, and opinions... all apply.
Soufyen

16 Oct 2017

My dsp Meter was running in the reds, then I bought an extra 8gb memory stick. I have 16GB ram now, but it's JUST as bad as before. Which is extremely annoying.

My multicore rendering is on btw, always has been.

I'm not a great techie, but shouldn't this have brought upon an improvement?

Any ideas? Anything I can do to squeeze out the max?
Attachments
reasondsp.jpg
reasondsp.jpg (655.38 KiB) Viewed 2261 times

normen

16 Oct 2017

Its because DSP load *is not* the same as CPU load.

What the DSP meter shows is a percentage of the time of one buffer (e.g. 512 samples at 44.1kHz) - the time the computer needs to process the data and output it again. If the computer needs more than the time of the buffer the DSP meter is at 100% and the buffer can't be delivered in time - you get crackles and dropouts.

The time the computer needs is in part depending on the CPU power - a lot of the processing is simple number crunching. However there can be many other things that take time - transferring data from the USB bus, copying it in memory etc. On top of that the computer does all kinds of other work that might require the CPU to do work that isn't actually crunching numbers.

So in the end there can be all kinds of things driving up your DSP load without the CPU doing much at all.

Edit: Usually upping the buffer size will make the percentage of time needed for other things lower. E.g. your CPU might spend half a millisecond doing USB stuff, thats a relatively big part of a 64 sample buffer and not much of a 512 sample buffer.

sublunar

16 Oct 2017

My DSP meter usually only spikes when I'm loading a project and it has large wav samples in it.