Reason 9.5 & above CPU Stress Tests (2017, two different songfiles included)!

This forum is for discussing Propellerhead's music software. Questions, answers, ideas, and opinions... all apply.
User avatar
Voyager
Posts: 499
Joined: 21 Dec 2015

Post 21 Jan 2018

drloop wrote:
12 Jun 2017

Intel i5 3570K 4Ghz (overclocked)
8 Gb RAM
M-Audio Audiophile 2496 PCI
44100 Hz @ 1024 samples
CPU Usage Limit 95%

COMPLEX RE ----> 0.00.00.697
COMPLEX RE 4096 samples ----> 0.00.02.694

Simple FX Chain ----> 0.01.29.234


Exact same setup as you except i use a different soundcard ( echo audiofire ) but for the test i used the primary sound driver and same results as well for Simple FX chain 1:29s, complex Re i got stopped at 1s.

drloop
Posts: 178
Joined: 27 Jan 2015

Post 21 Jan 2018

Voyager wrote:
21 Jan 2018
drloop wrote:
12 Jun 2017

Intel i5 3570K 4Ghz (overclocked)
8 Gb RAM
M-Audio Audiophile 2496 PCI
44100 Hz @ 1024 samples
CPU Usage Limit 95%

COMPLEX RE ----> 0.00.00.697
COMPLEX RE 4096 samples ----> 0.00.02.694

Simple FX Chain ----> 0.01.29.234


Exact same setup as you except i use a different soundcard ( echo audiofire ) but for the test i used the primary sound driver and same results as well for Simple FX chain 1:29s, complex Re i got stopped at 1s.
Nice! I have overclocked my 3570K so with R10 I get 1:35 with the simple test and this after the Microsoft patch installed.

User avatar
Voyager
Posts: 499
Joined: 21 Dec 2015

Post 21 Jan 2018

drloop wrote:
21 Jan 2018

Nice! I have overclocked my 3570K so with R10 I get 1:35 with the simple test and this after the Microsoft patch installed.



Btw i'm thinking on changing the ram for 16gb. You're still on your 8gb ?

drloop
Posts: 178
Joined: 27 Jan 2015

Post 21 Jan 2018

Voyager wrote:
21 Jan 2018
drloop wrote:
21 Jan 2018

Nice! I have overclocked my 3570K so with R10 I get 1:35 with the simple test and this after the Microsoft patch installed.



Btw i'm thinking on changing the ram for 16gb. You're still on your 8gb ?
Yes still on 8GB.
FYI! RAM will not make a better result in this benchmark. RAM helps if you use a lot of samples.

User avatar
bsp
Posts: 214
Joined: 18 Jan 2015

Post 21 Jan 2018

here's an(other) interesting observation regarding Reason's multi-core utilization (on my new i9):

- 1 instance of Diva + 4 TSAR-1 send effects: "too slow" message

- 13 instances of Diva + 13 instances of TSAR-1 (i.e. one per track): 6 dsp bars but no dropouts (@44.1kHz/64 samples)

in other words: the master send FX are not being processed in parallel (argh!*)

*"argh!":
this is not completely trivial of course since you'd either have to increase the output latency, i.e. process all tracks, then feed the resulting sample buffer to the send fx which could then process the samples while the other cores process the next (64-sample) buffers of the tracks (this may be problematic in Reason when there's cross CV modulation between the send FX and the tracks),
OR you could simply delay the send FX by 64 samples which would hardly be noticeable with (long) reverbs.
I'd suggest to add at least the latter optimization since especially reverbs can be very CPU intensive (e.g. add a button that lets you turn this feature on per send effect).
Last edited by bsp on 21 Jan 2018, edited 1 time in total.

User avatar
Voyager
Posts: 499
Joined: 21 Dec 2015

Post 21 Jan 2018

drloop wrote:
21 Jan 2018

Yes still on 8GB.
FYI! RAM will not make a better result in this benchmark. RAM helps if you use a lot of samples.


You mean rex player, nn-xt, nn-19 etc... ? I actually use those device very rarely, i'm more building my sound from synths and redrum essentially.

User avatar
Psuper
Posts: 524
Joined: 29 May 2016

Post 22 Jan 2018

That i9 7980xe is a $2000 processor.

That processor alone cost $600 more than my entire system cost at $1400.
https://pcpartpicker.com/list/fbVYVY
Reason needs to DAW.viewtopic.php?f=6&t=7504985

User avatar
Kategra
Posts: 264
Joined: 18 Jan 2015

Post 23 Jan 2018

Przemyslaw wrote:
21 Jan 2018
Mega ! So its time to make complex V3 Kategra :)
Hahaha, and some other members suggested that the Complex is too demanding on the CPU! It only took 7 months for the "benchmark" to be maxed out by a desktop CPU (although, an expensive one) :)))

User avatar
bsp
Posts: 214
Joined: 18 Jan 2015

Post 23 Jan 2018

Psuper wrote:
22 Jan 2018
That i9 7980xe is a $2000 processor.
Image
well, when you consider that just 23 years ago, it would have taken 30 of these (for a measly 330 million US$ -- not including the storage facility, and the small nuclear power plant necessary to generate the required ~12 MegaWatts) to roughly match the performance of that i9 (approximately 1 TeraFlops), it is kind of a bargain, actually :-)

but yeah, this is the most expensive rig I've ever used. none of my previous PCs cost more than ~500 bucks (mobo+cpu+ram+psu) ;)

User avatar
bsp
Posts: 214
Joined: 18 Jan 2015

Post 23 Jan 2018

Kategra wrote:
23 Jan 2018
Przemyslaw wrote:
21 Jan 2018
Mega ! So its time to make complex V3 Kategra :)
Hahaha, and some other members suggested that the Complex is too demanding on the CPU! It only took 7 months for the "benchmark" to be maxed out by a desktop CPU (although, an expensive one) :)))
it was a really close call, though (DSP meter already in the red zone) :D

User avatar
Psuper
Posts: 524
Joined: 29 May 2016

Post 24 Jan 2018

Haha ya I spent plenty back in my C64 and Amiga days, hell my 2mb Amiga SupraDrive drive was $500 in 1990, which equates to $8,000,000 for 32gb of memory today. I still have it in my Amiga archive called the Attic!

I try to stick with around the $1200 mark for building a new system. Depending on what I'm building it for I can maximize the performance per dollar and find I get a minimum of 5 good years out of it.
Reason needs to DAW.viewtopic.php?f=6&t=7504985

User avatar
bsp
Posts: 214
Joined: 18 Jan 2015

Post 25 Jan 2018

I had a second hand A500, then an A1200 before I switched over to PCs (when I started studying.. first one was a second hand 486sx33.. running Linux).
but yeah, the Amiga add-on HW was insanely expensive. As a pennyless teenager I couldn't afford anything but a 512kb expansion card, then an Action Replay, and later a 120mb HD for the 1200 :D

The technological advancements, especially between the mid 90ies and late 00s, have really been nothing but astonishing (!).
During that time I always bought last-gen equipment, knowing that the HW would become obsolete after a rather short while anyway.


Anyways.. today I put on my lab coat and did some preliminary benchmarks with my (at the moment highly experimental, and heavily multi-threaded) VST host:

Here are some of my notes (grain of salt and all..):
// (note) all benchmarks w/o dropouts, all init-presets
// (note) CPU load according to task manager
// (note) 16 cores used for audio processing

// @2600Mhz / 44.1kHz / 1024 samples:
// (note) 16 * 118 instances of Dexed => ~68% CPU load (1888 instances!!)
// (note) 10 instances of Diva -> 58% CPU load (11 cause crackles)
// (note) 16 * 4 instances of Pianoteq6 => ~84% CPU load (64 instances)
// (note) 16 * 17 instances of ZebraHZ => ~78% CPU load (272 instances)

// @2600Mhz / 44.1kHz / 128 samples:
// (note) 16 * 7 instances of ZebraHZ => ~36% CPU load (112 instances)

// @2600Mhz / 44.1kHz / 256 samples:
// (note) 16 * 15 instances of ZebraHZ => ~71% CPU load (240 instances)
// (in Reason: 5 * 14 => 2 DSP bars (70 instances))
// (note) 16 * 3 instances of Pianoteq6 => ~74% CPU load (48 instances)
// (in Reason: 5 * 3 => 2 DSP bars => ~34% CPU load (15 instances), BUT: heavy CPU spikes + crackles around every 2 seconds)
// (note) 16 * 32 instances of MicroShift => ~80% CPU load (512 instances)
// (note) 16 * 2 instances of Adaptiverb => ~66% CPU load (32 instances)
// (note) 16 * 130 instances of SparkVerb => ~73% CPU load (2080 instances)
// (note) 16 * 40 instances of Valhalla Plate => ~77% CPU load (640 instances)
// (note) 16 * 10 instances of Soundtoys LittlePlate => ~66% CPU load (160 instances)
// (note) 16 * 3 instances of Outer Space => ~52% CPU load (48 instances)
// (note) 16 * 2 instances of Satin => ~81% CPU load (32 instances)
// (note) 16 * 48 instances of Saturn => ~70% CPU load (768 instances)
// (note) 16 * 20 instances of Oddity2 => ~42% CPU load (320 instances)

All VSTs were processed in 64 sample frame chunks (just like in Reason).

Why 64 frames ? Since these are all VST2s, the host needs a chance to insert note ons/offs, program+ctl changes, even when using relatively large ASIO buffers.
In VST3, it is possible to pass a queue to the plugin, but I seriously dislike the VST3 API (who doesn't..:)).

Well, I did these benchmarks just to get a rough idea of what's technically possible on this i9 CPU.
Keep in mind that all plugins ran their init patches, i.e. the real-world performance with real-world patches can differ dramatically (especially with modular-like synths like Zebra).
I also did not really try to find the absolute maximum (some plugins need over a second to initialize - for example Little Plate - but most of these were rather fast (20..30 milliseconds)).

Ok, don't wanna turn this into my personal blog, just thought some of you might find this interesting, even it is only remotely Reason-related.

MatsNo
Posts: 4
Joined: 29 Jan 2018

Post 29 Jan 2018

Motherboard: ASUS Prime x299-A
Processor: Core i7-7820x @4,3GHz
Memory: 16GB DDR4 (2x8) 2666MHz
Audio Interface: RME UFX
Windows 10
Limit set to 95%

Reason 9.5 2017 COMPLEX RE benchmark song V2
44,100 Hz, 1024 samples
Stopped playing at 40 seconds

MatsNo
Posts: 4
Joined: 29 Jan 2018

Post 30 Jan 2018

Psuper wrote:
08 Dec 2017
Motherboard: ASRock - Fatal1ty Z370 Gaming-ITX/ac Mini ITX
Processor: Core i7-8700K Vanilla
Memory: 32GB DDR4
Audio Interface: Antelope Discrete 4 (currently on USB).
Windows 10 Vanilla (only optimized to background services, nothing else)
Limit set to 95%

Reason 9.5 2017 COMPLEX RE benchmark song V2
44,100 Hz, 1024 samples
Stopped playing at 50 seconds, bar 26.2
Additional note: all cores over 90% load, max temp was 50c and box was silent, didn't even increase fan speed.

Simple never got above 50% CPU
50 seconds is impressive for that setup. I'm only getting 40 sec on my 7820x. Which RAM are you using?

User avatar
4filegate
Posts: 860
Joined: 16 Jan 2015

Post 30 Jan 2018

MatsNo wrote:
30 Jan 2018
Psuper wrote:
08 Dec 2017
Motherboard: ASRock - Fatal1ty Z370 Gaming-ITX/ac Mini ITX
Processor: Core i7-8700K Vanilla
Memory: 32GB DDR4
Audio Interface: Antelope Discrete 4 (currently on USB).
Windows 10 Vanilla (only optimized to background services, nothing else)
Limit set to 95%

Reason 9.5 2017 COMPLEX RE benchmark song V2
44,100 Hz, 1024 samples
Stopped playing at 50 seconds, bar 26.2
Additional note: all cores over 90% load, max temp was 50c and box was silent, didn't even increase fan speed.

Simple never got above 50% CPU
50 seconds is impressive for that setup. I'm only getting 40 sec on my 7820x. Which RAM are you using?
memory running in quad channel with XMP enabled, but that requires 4 x 4GB/8GB kit?
The LGA 2066 socket supports quad-channel mode, which allows simultaneous access to up to 4 DDR4 memory modules, doubling the transfer rate compared to dual-channel memory controllers.
Last edited by 4filegate on 30 Jan 2018, edited 1 time in total.
R10 msi gt72 windows10 abluesky mediadesk 2.1 CME WaveIdea Bitstream 3X/Xkey37 4filegate YT ▢▢ allihoopa

User avatar
Psuper
Posts: 524
Joined: 29 May 2016

Post 30 Jan 2018

Here's my part list:

https://pcpartpicker.com/list/fbVYVY

Yes I'm extremely pleased how it ended up.

The memory is 2x16gb
Reason needs to DAW.viewtopic.php?f=6&t=7504985

MatsNo
Posts: 4
Joined: 29 Jan 2018

Post 31 Jan 2018

Psuper wrote:
30 Jan 2018
Here's my part list:

https://pcpartpicker.com/list/fbVYVY

Yes I'm extremely pleased how it ended up.

The memory is 2x16gb
Thanks, interesting. It definitely seems like Reason likes fast RAM. When I was buying RAM all my research concluded with dual channel 2666 being fine, but it seems like I should have gone with 3200 quad..

MatsNo
Posts: 4
Joined: 29 Jan 2018

Post 31 Jan 2018

4filegate wrote:
30 Jan 2018
MatsNo wrote:
30 Jan 2018


50 seconds is impressive for that setup. I'm only getting 40 sec on my 7820x. Which RAM are you using?
memory running in quad channel with XMP enabled, but that requires 4 x 4GB/8GB kit?
The LGA 2066 socket supports quad-channel mode, which allows simultaneous access to up to 4 DDR4 memory modules, doubling the transfer rate compared to dual-channel memory controllers.
He's on a 8700k so he's not in quad, but he has faster ram though. Still puzzled that it's that huge of a difference in Reason.. Might be this specific benchmark that's requiring the massive bandwith or something though.

User avatar
4filegate
Posts: 860
Joined: 16 Jan 2015

Post 02 Feb 2018

MatsNo wrote:
31 Jan 2018
He's on a 8700k so he's not in quad, but he has faster ram though. Still puzzled that it's that huge of a difference in Reason.. Might be this specific benchmark that's requiring the massive bandwith or something though.
...his motherboard only have 2 RAM slots. That aside, my point was that it might be worth. 4000+MHz RAM on DIMM and SODIMM Q1/18
R10 msi gt72 windows10 abluesky mediadesk 2.1 CME WaveIdea Bitstream 3X/Xkey37 4filegate YT ▢▢ allihoopa

michael.jaye
Posts: 118
Joined: 18 Jan 2015
Location: Sydney, Australia

Post 03 Feb 2018

SimpleFX Stopped @ 37.1.2.145
Complex Stopped @ 11.4.1.92

Reason 10

Windows 10 Pro
Processor: Intel(R) Core(TM) i7-8700 CPU @ 3.20GHz 3.19 GHz / up to 4.6 GHz
Installedd memory (RAM): 16.00GB (15.8GB usable)
System type: 64-bit Operating System, x64-based processor
USB Interface: Steinberg UR22mkII
Buffer: 2048 samples



Multi core rendering & hyper-threading audio rendering ON
Not overclocked

User avatar
Voyager
Posts: 499
Joined: 21 Dec 2015

Post 03 Feb 2018

drloop wrote:
21 Jan 2018

Voyager wrote:
21 Jan 2018



Exact same setup as you except i use a different soundcard ( echo audiofire ) but for the test i used the primary sound driver and same results as well for Simple FX chain 1:29s, complex Re i got stopped at 1s.


Nice! I have overclocked my 3570K so with R10 I get 1:35 with the simple test and this after the Microsoft patch installed.


I notice that for the simple FX chain we got better results with our simple I5 3570K than some more expensive cpu...Tha'ts odd.

User avatar
syncanonymous
Posts: 356
Joined: 16 Mar 2015
Location: UK and France

Post 04 Feb 2018

I just gave a quick try on my new build:
i7 8700K @ stock out of the box 3.7GHz
ASRock Z370 Fatal1ty Gaming Pro
Corsair - Vengeance LED 64GB (4 x 16GB) DDR4-3000 Memory (set at 3000)
Samsung 960 M.2 drive
Presonus Firestudio Mobile ( StarTech PCIe ) Driver version 4.2.1.46437; 44.1/2048 with Safe Mode at Normal
iLok Gen2

No audio tweaks done so far
wifi running

COMPLEX
CTS dialog stop at 0:0:48:715 (or B&B: 25.2.2.172)
I heard one click and then she stopped; task manager open

I tried again w/o task manager: 0:0:48:948 (or B&B: 25.2.4.140)

SIMPLE
0:1:20:16 (or B&B: 44.2.2.113)

User avatar
4filegate
Posts: 860
Joined: 16 Jan 2015

Post 04 Feb 2018

syncanonymous wrote:
04 Feb 2018
I just gave a quick try on my new build:
i7 8700K @ stock out of the box 3.7GHz
ASRock Z370 Fatal1ty Gaming Pro
Corsair - Vengeance LED 64GB (4 x 16GB) DDR4-3000 Memory (set at 3000)
Samsung 960 M.2 drive
Presonus Firestudio Mobile ( StarTech PCIe ) Driver version 4.2.1.46437; 44.1/2048 with Safe Mode at Normal
iLok Gen2

No audio tweaks done so far
wifi running

COMPLEX
CTS dialog stop at 0:0:48:715 (or B&B: 25.2.2.172)
I heard one click and then she stopped; task manager open

I tried again w/o task manager: 0:0:48:948 (or B&B: 25.2.4.140)

SIMPLE
0:1:20:16 (or B&B: 44.2.2.113)
entry into quad channel RAM support starts with the i7-7800x - CPU has approximately the same purchase price!
https://www.intel.com/content/www/us/en ... ssors.html
R10 msi gt72 windows10 abluesky mediadesk 2.1 CME WaveIdea Bitstream 3X/Xkey37 4filegate YT ▢▢ allihoopa

michael.jaye
Posts: 118
Joined: 18 Jan 2015
Location: Sydney, Australia

Post 04 Feb 2018

drloop wrote:
21 Jan 2018
Voyager wrote:
21 Jan 2018


Exact same setup as you except i use a different soundcard ( echo audiofire ) but for the test i used the primary sound driver and same results as well for Simple FX chain 1:29s, complex Re i got stopped at 1s.
Nice! I have overclocked my 3570K so with R10 I get 1:35 with the simple test and this after the Microsoft patch installed.
What is the Microsoft patch?

User avatar
syncanonymous
Posts: 356
Joined: 16 Mar 2015
Location: UK and France

Post 04 Feb 2018

4filegate wrote:
04 Feb 2018
syncanonymous wrote:
04 Feb 2018
I just gave a quick try on my new build:
i7 8700K @ stock out of the box 3.7GHz
ASRock Z370 Fatal1ty Gaming Pro
Corsair - Vengeance LED 64GB (4 x 16GB) DDR4-3000 Memory (set at 3000)
Samsung 960 M.2 drive
Presonus Firestudio Mobile ( StarTech PCIe ) Driver version 4.2.1.46437; 44.1/2048 with Safe Mode at Normal
iLok Gen2

No audio tweaks done so far
wifi running

COMPLEX
CTS dialog stop at 0:0:48:715 (or B&B: 25.2.2.172)
I heard one click and then she stopped; task manager open

I tried again w/o task manager: 0:0:48:948 (or B&B: 25.2.4.140)

SIMPLE
0:1:20:16 (or B&B: 44.2.2.113)
entry into quad channel RAM support starts with the i7-7800x - CPU has approximately the same purchase price!
https://www.intel.com/content/www/us/en ... ssors.html
and i7 7800x is Skylake x299...I would have gone i9 in that case...and future upgrade path would have been...?!?
I chose z370 with potential to upgrade ...this new build is soooo far beyond where I was (2011 i3 laptop)...£2k for i9 z370 currently makes no sense for me...next year? yep! and I should only need upgrade CPU :-)
that said, audio interface upgrade is required for me soon

  • Information
  • Who is online

    Users browsing this forum: anko, CommonCrawl [Bot], Data_Shrine, Djstarski, Simontho and 3 guests