Sequencer tracks for Combinators can disappear?

This forum is for discussing Reason. Questions, answers, ideas, and opinions... all apply.
xRwu8

06 May 2016

I'm a newbie with Combinators, so I've just been using some prebuilt Combi instruments lately (e.g. an NN-XT keyboard combi'd with compression, reverb, and delay) and after recording the desired MIDI part for one, I wanted to go about cleaning up the rack. It's pretty standard for me to move any given standalone instrument device (e.g. Thor), as well as its insert effects, into the insert section of that instrument's mix channel, just to make all sound & FX devices easily collapsible.

However, I've just done the same thing with a Combi for the first time - dragged it into the mixer channel's insert section - and it removed the Combi faceplate/controls and broke it down into its component parts. A little annoying, since as far as I can tell it also removed any identification of what Combi setting it used to be, but I simply added a Commentator to label what the original Combi was.

The real problem is that it deleted the sequencer track for that Combinator instrument, and therefore all the MIDI data I recorded. I assume it did this because the Combinator "dissolved" and no longer exists. Is there a workaround for this? Do people with these same OCD organizational methods simply drag the Combinator into the inserts section from the start, create a track for the Combi's base instrument, and record MIDI there?
:reason: :recycle: :refill: :re: :rt:

tibah

06 May 2016