Meter in SSL mixer's Dynamics section

This forum is for discussing Reason. Questions, answers, ideas, and opinions... all apply.
xRwu8

03 May 2016

I'm a newbie mixing with the SSL (which is pretty enjoyable) but I'm a bit confused about the meter in the dynamics section. Supposedly the meter lights up when the compressor is actively applying compression, but it I can hear it working well before the lowest yellow light is lit. Is that correct? Is the lowest yellow light like 3db compression or something, and it's already working before that lights up?

Just want to make sure I'm not going crazy :shock:
:reason: :recycle: :refill: :re: :rt:

selig
RE Developer

03 May 2016

xRwu8 wrote:I'm a newbie mixing with the SSL (which is pretty enjoyable) but I'm a bit confused about the meter in the dynamics section. Supposedly the meter lights up when the compressor is actively applying compression, but it I can hear it working well before the lowest yellow light is lit. Is that correct? Is the lowest yellow light like 3db compression or something, and it's already working before that lights up?

Just want to make sure I'm not going crazy :shock:
You got it exactly right. The lowest segment lighting means it's already 3 dB GR. I find for many things I like to "just" light the first LED, and use RMS (not Peak) mode.

FWIW, the meters are calibrated thusly:
#1 = 3 dB
#2 = 6 dB
#3 = 10 dB
#4 = 14 dB
#5 = 20 dB
Selig Audio, LLC

scifunk

03 May 2016

Run the dynamics section post EQ and Inserts, crank the ratio fully clockwise, the release fully anti clockwise and then slowly dial in the threshold for a very nice final touch of compression - #1 light or less is enough.

xRwu8

04 May 2016

This is a huge help, thanks! And the make-up gain is not editable, correct? If not I'll just insert an instance of Selig Gain to get levels where I need them ;)

selig
RE Developer

04 May 2016