Drum routing: Mixer 14:2 vs. SSL Mixer

This forum is for discussing Reason. Questions, answers, ideas, and opinions... all apply.
xRwu8

02 May 2016

I'm new to mixing in Reason, so I had a question for everyone about drum routing, which probably just comes down to preference and workflow. When using Redrum/Kong, do you typically:

A) send the individual drum samples directly into their own mixer SSL channels, add insert FX to each of those channels, and then route those channels to a SSL Mixer group bus for drum bus processing, OR

B) send the individual drum samples directly into insert effects, send those into a 14:2 Mixer for drum bus summing, and then send that summed stereo mix into a single stereo SSL Mixer channel (and then do drum bus processing on that channel)?

There's probably a million other ways to do it, but those seemed at a high level like the two most obvious ways. I guess I'm curious if anyone swears by one way because they've run into obstacles with the other way.

Method A seemed most natural to me, but visually it seems that Method B would be nice for containing literally every drum device and channel you're using into one collapsible insert rack space and when you need to focus on any drum issues just go there to tweak. Plus it prevents the SSL Mixer from being horizontally ridiculous :P

Maybe a downside of B is having to scroll through FX for all the drums to find the one you're looking for, although using Remark or Commentator would probably organize things nicely.
:reason: :recycle: :refill: :re: :rt:

jamiefbolton

02 May 2016

A. Keeps is simple and "normal" for me

MannequinRaces

02 May 2016

A for sure. Ever since the SSL was added to Reason I have not used method B.

xRwu8

03 May 2016

MannequinRaces wrote:A for sure. Ever since the SSL was added to Reason I have not used method B.
Is that because of workflow preference or because of the SSL's sound? Or both?

Loque

03 May 2016