Where do I start?!

This forum is for discussing Reason. Questions, answers, ideas, and opinions... all apply.
markjason

26 Aug 2015

Hi everyone,
I have been using Reason for about 6 years, and although I find it easy to use now, I really struggle with having some decent sounds for the dance/house tracks I make. I have bought refills/patches over the years from Propellerheads shop, Wave Alchemy, Loopmasters and a few other places, but never really found anywhere amazing. They all have great sounds in the loops (which I don't want), but the packages with refills are not so great. If anyone could recommend a few good stores, I would really appreciate it.

Also, while I'm here, can I ask if one can use Native Instruments Massive with Reason?

Thanks,
Mark

zeebot

26 Aug 2015

You should check out exode's refills...

https://soundcloud.com/exodesound
I have embraced Allihoopa. Come listen and play with my crap Figure loops here:
https://allihoopa.com/zeebot

They really are crap.

Benedict
Competition Winner

26 Aug 2015

Hi

The real trick is not in finding the right ReFill or sounds but in making the right composition coupled with the right mix for what you want to achieve.

Think of music as like painting only using sound. If you look closely at the painting it may have lots of what seem like technical errors. yet a good painting transcends all those by telling a story. Focus on your story and let that decide what sounds and mixing is used. That is how your style will be found. Maybe you won't turn out to be a House man after all.

Also as you make pieces that are successful then you will grow in confidence and skills. In time that will lead you closer to what you hear in your head (or on the radio).

:)
Benedict Roff-Marsh
Completely burned and gone

Namahs Amrak

26 Aug 2015