Does Reason 8.0 provide a way to automate patching changes somehow?

This forum is for discussing Reason. Questions, answers, ideas, and opinions... all apply.
jedijunk

28 Jun 2015

I'm new to Reason (Reason 8.0, late 2013 MBP computer). I have a Behringer x32 sound desk that I'm setting up to use as a USB audio interface for multitracking into Reason. 

WHAT I WANT: to record 32 audio tracks from the x32 while monitoring/playing back using the headphone jack on my MBP, but being able to quickly switch playback to the 32 outputs to the x32 interface. By "quickly" I mean I don't want to click-drag 32 virtual cables to re-patch them between the Internal Mixer and the Hardware Interface.

WHAT I'VE DONE: Set up a Reason file with 32 audio tracks and broken the internal mixer routing by patching from the Left direct out of each audio track to the corresponding Audio Output in the Hardware Interface. It works to record from the x32 and to play back to the x32, but not for headphone monitoring from the MBP's internal audio output to the headphone jack. If I use "Preferences" to switch back to internal output after recording, I only hear tracks one and two (of the 32) in my headphones. Which makes sense but isn't what I want. 

SO... is there a way to repatch all the audio tracks with one button or some kind of saved patch settings? I hope my description and question are clear...

ScuzzyEye

28 Jun 2015

There's no way to save output routing in a patch. It's a song file only thing.

What you could do, and it's a bit messy, is make parallel channels for all of the tracks. It might be best to limit yourself to 30, instead of the full 32. Once you have these 30 parallels, bus them all into one, and use the direct out of that bus to go to hardware channels 1&2.

So you 30 tracks, all with their direct outs going to your hardware.
They all have parallel channels.
Those parallel channels are all sent to a single bus.
That bus's direct output goes to hardare 1&2.