Melodyne rewired to Reason

This forum is for discussing Reason. Questions, answers, ideas, and opinions... all apply.
Puckboy2000

05 Jun 2015

Does anybody know if this can be done? The Melodyne site says its a slave. Can I slave it to Reason? And how would that work? Would the audio from Melodyne be imported directly to an audio channel in Reason? I have never used Rewire before. Thanks!
"Think of how stupid the average person is, and realize half of them are stupider than than that" - George Carlin

QVprod

05 Jun 2015

No Rewire slaves can only be connected to hosts. Reason only functions as a slave.

eusti

05 Jun 2015

I don't think it works like this... That is one of the reasons why people have asked for the feature to be able to make Reason a rewire master...
The only way I know should work is rewire Reason to another DAW and then use Melodyne as a plugin from there... I usually just bounce my reference audio and my roughly adjusted vocals and import them into Garageband... Then do my Melodyne edits there...

D.

Puckboy2000

05 Jun 2015

Cool! I was thinking then to bounce my vocals to Melodyne (as a stand alone) the export the audio back out and reimport it into reason as an audio file. Would that work?
"Think of how stupid the average person is, and realize half of them are stupider than than that" - George Carlin

eusti

05 Jun 2015

Puckboy2000 wrote:Cool! I was thinking then to bounce my vocals to Melodyne (as a stand alone) the export the audio back out and reimport it into reason as an audio file. Would that work?
Yes, that would work. Sometimes it's nice though to hear what you are trying to pitch it to...
But maybe you are so close that you don't need it. ;)

D.

JNeffLind

05 Jun 2015

Puckboy2000 wrote:Cool! I was thinking then to bounce my vocals to Melodyne (as a stand alone) the export the audio back out and reimport it into reason as an audio file. Would that work?
eusti wrote: