Anyway to take out the "scratch noise" in Audiomatic's vinyl ??

This forum is for discussing Reason. Questions, answers, ideas, and opinions... all apply.
User avatar
wellman
Posts: 23
Joined: 17 Jan 2015

Post 29 Jan 2015

Hi!

I'm working on a track and I really like the "flavor" the Audiomatic's vinyl preset put into the whole mix,except the vinyl's noise. So there's anyway I can keep the "warmth" of the preset without the noisy scratch? 

User avatar
selig
RE Developer
Posts: 9989
Joined: 15 Jan 2015
Location: The NorthWoods, CT, USA

Post 29 Jan 2015

wellman wrote:Hi!

I'm working on a track and I really like the "flavor" the Audiomatic's vinyl preset put into the whole mix,except the vinyl's noise. So there's anyway I can keep the "warmth" of the preset without the noisy scratch? 
Sorry, but no. It's been requested but will probably not see the light of day for whatever reasons (my opinion). Can't say much, but I have wished the Props would share the development device with users so they could "roll their own" or tweak the presets. But I don't see that happening any time soon either, and is probably even less likely than modifying the current preset because of backwards compatibility issues. :)
Selig Audio, LLC

User avatar
wellman
Posts: 23
Joined: 17 Jan 2015

Post 29 Jan 2015

selig wrote:
Sorry, but no. It's been requested but will probably not see the light of day for whatever reasons (my opinion). Can't say much, but I have wished the Props would share the development device with users so they could "roll their own" or tweak the presets. But I don't see that happening any time soon either, and is probably even less likely than modifying the current preset because of backwards compatibility issues. :)
Thanks for the detailed explanation Selig. Now the other question would be..: There;s any way to replicate the warmth of the Audiomatic's vinyl preset with lets say the Scream? I tried the vinyl sample's preset on the Scream, and it isn't the same. 

My big issue is that my track start with a piano riff, and the Audiomatic's vinyl preset puts too much noise. I would even be happy with the noise in the song with all the music going on, but at the beginning with just the piano?!?!? It is a bummer :-( 

User avatar
selig
RE Developer
Posts: 9989
Joined: 15 Jan 2015
Location: The NorthWoods, CT, USA

Post 29 Jan 2015

selig wrote:
Sorry, but no. It's been requested but will probably not see the light of day for whatever reasons (my opinion). Can't say much, but I have wished the Props would share the development device with users so they could "roll their own" or tweak the presets. But I don't see that happening any time soon either, and is probably even less likely than modifying the current preset because of backwards compatibility issues. :)
wellman wrote:
Thanks for the detailed explanation Selig. Now the other question would be..: There;s any way to replicate the warmth of the Audiomatic's vinyl preset with lets say the Scream? I tried the vinyl sample's preset on the Scream, and it isn't the same. 

My big issue is that my track start with a piano riff, and the Audiomatic's vinyl preset puts too much noise. I would even be happy with the noise in the song with all the music going on, but at the beginning with just the piano?!?!? It is a bummer :-( 
You would have to talk to the person who created that particular preset, and I'm not sure who that is. I created the Tape and Wash preset, so I can only explain those fwiw! ;)
Selig Audio, LLC

kloeckno
Posts: 177
Joined: 16 Jan 2015

Post 29 Jan 2015

We should try to reverse engineer the preset using frequency and harmonic distortion analysis!

User avatar
joeyluck
Moderator
Posts: 9661
Joined: 15 Jan 2015

Post 29 Jan 2015

selig wrote:
Sorry, but no. It's been requested but will probably not see the light of day for whatever reasons (my opinion). Can't say much, but I have wished the Props would share the development device with users so they could "roll their own" or tweak the presets. But I don't see that happening any time soon either, and is probably even less likely than modifying the current preset because of backwards compatibility issues. :)
wellman wrote:
Thanks for the detailed explanation Selig. Now the other question would be..: There;s any way to replicate the warmth of the Audiomatic's vinyl preset with lets say the Scream? I tried the vinyl sample's preset on the Scream, and it isn't the same. 

My big issue is that my track start with a piano riff, and the Audiomatic's vinyl preset puts too much noise. I would even be happy with the noise in the song with all the music going on, but at the beginning with just the piano?!?!? It is a bummer :-( 
selig wrote:
You would have to talk to the person who created that particular preset, and I'm not sure who that is. I created the Tape and Wash preset, so I can only explain those fwiw! ;)
You made the Wash?  Thanks!!!  It's one of my favs!
I used it on most all the drums for the music I wrote for this ballet :)







Lots of the Wash preset and Echobode.  Would love some more control over that patch as well ;)  Maybe one day when the SDK allows, the Audiomatic could be updated with a dropdown editor.

User avatar
Julibee
Posts: 291
Joined: 15 Jan 2015
Location: Southern California

Post 29 Jan 2015

Selig! I didn't know you made those!  I LOVE THOSE!   :love:

Who made the vinyl?? I want MOAR scratch! MOAR warp-age! Would pay for a separate RE *just* for that!!!!
I'm still doing it wrong.
8.1    
Bandcamp | Soundcloud | Twitter | .com

User avatar
wellman
Posts: 23
Joined: 17 Jan 2015

Post 29 Jan 2015

selig wrote:
You would have to talk to the person who created that particular preset, and I'm not sure who that is. I created the Tape and Wash preset, so I can only explain those fwiw! ;)
Any idea of who could that be? :-) By the way Im using the Tape preset on my piano in this track!

User avatar
Raveshaper
Posts: 1089
Joined: 16 Jan 2015

Post 29 Jan 2015

Wouldn't it be possible to isolate the frequency or frequencies of the scratch and then either cancel out those pops and clicks or use the isolated audio to drive a gain reduction to minimize their presence?

Edit: did I misunderstand? I don't use that preset very often.
:reason: :ignition: :re: :refillpacker: Enhanced by DataBridge v5

User avatar
FrankJaeger
Posts: 176
Joined: 17 Jan 2015

Post 29 Jan 2015

wellman wrote:Hi!

I'm working on a track and I really like the "flavor" the Audiomatic's vinyl preset put into the whole mix,except the vinyl's noise. So there's anyway I can keep the "warmth" of the preset without the noisy scratch? 
Why not just automate the dry/wet and the transform knobs in relation to how many instruments are playing? With the piano solos find a sweet spot for the transform knob and find the right amount of wetness to accent but not overpower.
GED Aggro
Producer, Rapper, Songwriter, Worst DIY Mixing Engineer currently living on earth... :lol:

User avatar
FrankJaeger
Posts: 176
Joined: 17 Jan 2015

Post 29 Jan 2015

joeyluck wrote:




Nice tracks there Mr. Luck.  :t2018:
GED Aggro
Producer, Rapper, Songwriter, Worst DIY Mixing Engineer currently living on earth... :lol:

User avatar
selig
RE Developer
Posts: 9989
Joined: 15 Jan 2015
Location: The NorthWoods, CT, USA

Post 29 Jan 2015

selig wrote:
Sorry, but no. It's been requested but will probably not see the light of day for whatever reasons (my opinion). Can't say much, but I have wished the Props would share the development device with users so they could "roll their own" or tweak the presets. But I don't see that happening any time soon either, and is probably even less likely than modifying the current preset because of backwards compatibility issues. :)
wellman wrote:
Thanks for the detailed explanation Selig. Now the other question would be..: There;s any way to replicate the warmth of the Audiomatic's vinyl preset with lets say the Scream? I tried the vinyl sample's preset on the Scream, and it isn't the same. 

My big issue is that my track start with a piano riff, and the Audiomatic's vinyl preset puts too much noise. I would even be happy with the noise in the song with all the music going on, but at the beginning with just the piano?!?!? It is a bummer :-( 
selig wrote:
You would have to talk to the person who created that particular preset, and I'm not sure who that is. I created the Tape and Wash preset, so I can only explain those fwiw! ;)
joeyluck wrote:
You made the Wash?  Thanks!!!  It's one of my favs!
I used it on most all the drums for the music I wrote for this ballet :)
joeyluck wrote:
joeyluck wrote:
joeyluck wrote:
joeyluck wrote:
joeyluck wrote:
Lots of the Wash preset and Echobode.  Would love some more control over that patch as well ;)  Maybe one day when the SDK allows, the Audiomatic could be updated with a dropdown editor.
Fun Fact, Wash was submitted with the name "Dirty Washing Machine", which I thought was funny and clever - but they went with one-word names in the end… ;(

Cool sounding tracks, btw!
:)
Selig Audio, LLC

User avatar
selig
RE Developer
Posts: 9989
Joined: 15 Jan 2015
Location: The NorthWoods, CT, USA

Post 29 Jan 2015

selig wrote:
You would have to talk to the person who created that particular preset, and I'm not sure who that is. I created the Tape and Wash preset, so I can only explain those fwiw! ;)
wellman wrote:
Any idea of who could that be? :-) By the way Im using the Tape preset on my piano in this track!
Sorry, I can't remember everyone who was involved, and I don't think I heard who contributed what preset. There are a few folks I can ask - worth a try.

In other news, I just checked and I actually submitted over 30 presets originally - need to check some of the "rejects" out for any ideas! :)
Selig Audio, LLC

User avatar
joeyluck
Moderator
Posts: 9661
Joined: 15 Jan 2015

Post 29 Jan 2015

selig wrote:Fun Fact, Wash was submitted with the name "Dirty Washing Machine", which I thought was funny and clever - but they went with one-word names in the end… ;(

Cool sounding tracks, btw!
:)
I'd buy the Dirty Washing Machine RE! :)

User avatar
wellman
Posts: 23
Joined: 17 Jan 2015

Post 30 Jan 2015

For anyone interested, this is the answer I got from the Props:

@PropellerheadSW: @wellmanlake That’s a shame! :frown: But yeah, the transform rotary is the only setting for the vinyl preset

But they give me some kind of solution too..:

@PropellerheadSW: @wellmanlake The Tape setting in Scream on really light settings can work wonders!

User avatar
Ecopro
Posts: 133
Joined: 15 Jan 2015

Post 30 Jan 2015

Julibee wrote:Selig! I didn't know you made those!  I LOVE THOSE!   :love:

Who made the vinyl?? I want MOAR scratch! MOAR warp-age! Would pay for a separate RE *just* for that!!!!
I didn't know either. Cool stuff Selig.

Juli, if you want more, give the FutzBox a try and see if you like. It's like the Audiomatic on Steroids. 

To the OP: have you tried the Pulverizer apart for the Scream device?
Guts Electronic Mayhem

   


User avatar
wellman
Posts: 23
Joined: 17 Jan 2015

Post 30 Jan 2015

Ecopro wrote:
To the OP: have you tried the Pulverizer apart for the Scream device?
Yes I did! Didn't get the result I was looking for. Right now trying with the Scream's Tape setting. I think I will get something with that. I'll keep you posted. Thanks for all your help guys!

User avatar
Emian
Posts: 708
Joined: 16 Jan 2015

Post 30 Jan 2015

wellman wrote:Hi!

I'm working on a track and I really like the "flavor" the Audiomatic's vinyl preset put into the whole mix,except the vinyl's noise. So there's anyway I can keep the "warmth" of the preset without the noisy scratch? 
 
hi !
i remember someone made an preset for REQ131 simulating what the ART vinyl setting does and also an "inverted" preset.

i "zipped" both presets & share them here, so assuming you have "REQ131" or haven't trialled it yet, i hope this works for you :)
 
  ART Vinyl.zip    
 
Cheers !
 
Jan
You do not have the required permissions to view the files attached to this post.


"i might be established, but i'll never be establishement "
- Dave Clarke -www.soundcloud.com/emian

User avatar
selig
RE Developer
Posts: 9989
Joined: 15 Jan 2015
Location: The NorthWoods, CT, USA

Post 30 Jan 2015

OK, I've gone and done it. I've faithfully re-created the Vinyl setting from ART, but without the scratches. Added more controls etc. Read more (and get the free Combinator!) here:

http://www.reasontalk.com/post/selig-ar ... trail=25#1
:)

Image 
Selig Audio, LLC

User avatar
wellman
Posts: 23
Joined: 17 Jan 2015

Post 31 Jan 2015

Emian wrote:  
hi !
i remember someone made an preset for REQ131 simulating what the ART vinyl setting does and also an "inverted" preset.

i "zipped" both presets & share them here, so assuming you have "REQ131" or haven't trialled it yet, i hope this works for you :)
 
  ART Vinyl.zip    

 
Cheers !
 
Jan
Thanks  a lot Emian! I Will check it out!!!

User avatar
Emian
Posts: 708
Joined: 16 Jan 2015

Post 31 Jan 2015

wellman wrote:
Thanks  a lot Emian! I Will check it out!!!
 
You're welcome ! :)
 
i recommend you take a look at Seligs combinator as well tough !!!!


"i might be established, but i'll never be establishement "
- Dave Clarke -www.soundcloud.com/emian

  • Information
  • Who is online

    Users browsing this forum: CommonCrawl [Bot] and 4 guests