Is this an Octave change bug?

This forum is for discussing Propellerhead's music software. Questions, answers, ideas, and opinions... all apply.
Post Reply
User avatar
C//AZM
Posts: 230
Joined: 20 Jan 2015

16 Apr 2018

I'm working on a song and there are a series of seven notes buried in my busy piano track that I think may sound better up an octave so I F8 and click, click, click the transpose gizmo till it reads+12. Upon listening, I conclude that it's not better up an octave... So perhaps down an octave from the original will be better?
Still with me?
Ctr-Z undoes the transpose and puts it back to the original octave, but I lose the seven note selection. So instead of doing that, I click,click,click,click,click,click,click,click,click,click and change the transpose number thingy to -24 while the seven notes are still selected.
No problem, right?
This should transpose just the notes down to an octave BELOW the original position right? But instead of only transposing the seven selected notes down, it transposes the entire track!! Happened to me several times. I'm sure it's me doing something wrong... WTF?

User avatar
chimp_spanner
Posts: 1570
Joined: 06 Mar 2015

16 Apr 2018

Not able to check atm but if this is something you're consistently running into then you could always just double click the note value in the key editor and type in -24, or + whatever and it'll do the same as using the F8 toolbox.
Enjoy!

http://www.paulortizmusic.com

HP Envy J130ea | i7 4700MQ | 12 GB DDR | 2GB GeForce 740m | Komplete Audio 6

WongoTheSane
Posts: 1384
Joined: 14 Sep 2015
Location: Paris, France

16 Apr 2018

I think it's because you clicked inside the clip (but not on a note) before transposing down. This has the effect of deselecting the notes and selecting the clip itself (i.e. all its content), which you then transposed.

chimp_spanner's suggestion is the fastest one, as it avoids bringing up the F8 toolbox, but if it's already displayed, you can also edit the number of semitones to transpose by, by clicking on the value and typing a number (-12, +7 or whatever). Alternately, you can also click on the value and move the mouse up or down.

User avatar
Ahornberg
Posts: 1131
Joined: 15 Jan 2016
Location: Vienna, Austria
Contact:

16 Apr 2018

Yes, it's tricky. If in a clip the vertical white lines are not visible then the whole clip is selected.

User avatar
C//AZM
Posts: 230
Joined: 20 Jan 2015

16 Apr 2018

Thanks for the responses. I'm positive that only those notes were selected and they were still selected with the little arrows on either side... I'm going to try to repeat it when I get back. Yes I know you can change the note pitch in the note value window, but the way I described should work too.

Post Reply
  • Information
  • Who is online

    Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 11 guests