Akai APC64 and Reason 13...is it possible?

Want to talk about music hardware or software that doesn't include Reason?
Roberto Tafuro
Posts: 5
Joined: 06 Jun 2024

Post 22 Jun 2024

Hello and sorry for my bad English. As the title says, I'm struggling to understand how MIDI works in Reason. I don't care if the Play/Stop/Rec functions don't work. I'm only mapping the 8 faders to CC16 and onwards in the APC project manager. I save the settings, enable MIDI send from everywhere, set the APC to standalone mode, and in Custom settings, I'm sending MIDI from everywhere :)

When I look at the fader map in the controller, everything is set up correctly: faders are mapped from CC16 to CC23.

In Reason's MIDI preferences, I've chosen a generic MIDI keyboard. It recognizes the APC as a controller and receives MIDI data from the faders. I've tried the sync option, selecting the APC, but nothing seems to work. I have to manually map the faders with an override action.

Can someone help me or at least tell me if this "auto map" is not possible at all?

Thank you in advance!

User avatar
artotaku
Posts: 653
Joined: 09 May 2015
Location: Munich, Germany

Post 22 Jun 2024

You are nearly there but there are some manual steps required since you are using a generic codec for APC64 and the controller must be "locked" to the Reason Big Mixer master section so the auto mapping can apply.

1. Open remote map file (MIDI Keyboard w Controls.remotemap) for the generic keyboard remote codec. On Windows it´s somewhere here C:\Program Files\Propellerhead\Reason 13\Remote\DefaultMaps\Other\MIDI Keyboard w Controls.remotemap in a text editor, search for "Reason Master Section". There, you see that the channel level entries are commented out.
This is because the generic codec does not know about any controller specific MIDI CCs so you have to set them manually.

Code: Select all

//<	20110628
Scope	Propellerheads	Reason Master Section
//	Control Surface Item	Key	Remotable Item	Scale	Mode
Map	CC 07		Master Level
Map	CC 12		Threshold
Map	CC 13		Attack
Map	CC 14		Release
Map	CC 16		Ratio
Map	CC 18		Make-Up Gain
//Map	CC ??		Channel 1 Level
//Map	CC ??		Channel 2 Level
//Map	CC ??		Channel 3 Level
//Map	CC ??		Channel 4 Level
//Map	CC ??		Channel 5 Level
//Map	CC ??		Channel 6 Level
//Map	CC ??		Channel 7 Level
//Map	CC ??		Channel 8 Level
Remove the // from channel level entries and replace the ?? by your specific CCs in decimals (0 - 127) of the APC64
and save the file

2. Restart Reason, add some mix channels and lock the MIDI keyboard control surface to the master section (right click on master section -> Context Menu -> Lock ....

I think the lock is saved with the Reason document so it keeps the lock assignment per document.


Roberto Tafuro wrote:
22 Jun 2024
Hello and sorry for my bad English. As the title says, I'm struggling to understand how MIDI works in Reason. I don't care if the Play/Stop/Rec functions don't work. I'm only mapping the 8 faders to CC16 and onwards in the APC project manager. I save the settings, enable MIDI send from everywhere, set the APC to standalone mode, and in Custom settings, I'm sending MIDI from everywhere :)

When I look at the fader map in the controller, everything is set up correctly: faders are mapped from CC16 to CC23.

In Reason's MIDI preferences, I've chosen a generic MIDI keyboard. It recognizes the APC as a controller and receives MIDI data from the faders. I've tried the sync option, selecting the APC, but nothing seems to work. I have to manually map the faders with an override action.

Can someone help me or at least tell me if this "auto map" is not possible at all?

Thank you in advance!

User avatar
jam-s
Posts: 3128
Joined: 17 Apr 2015
Location: Aachen, Germany

Post 22 Jun 2024

To get it mapped properly sadly you'll have to dig into Remote unless you can find a Remote codec that somebody already made for the device and was kind enough to share it.

Roberto Tafuro
Posts: 5
Joined: 06 Jun 2024

Post 22 Jun 2024

jam-s wrote:
22 Jun 2024
To get it mapped properly sadly you'll have to dig into Remote unless you can find a Remote codec that somebody already made for the device and was kind enough to share it.
Thank you so much for the reply. I'll look into Remote, i've seen that it is a bit "deep", but i'll check it!

Roberto Tafuro
Posts: 5
Joined: 06 Jun 2024

Post 22 Jun 2024

Thank you so much for the reply! Iìl try it now. Thank you again!
Last edited by Roberto Tafuro on 22 Jun 2024, edited 1 time in total.

Roberto Tafuro
Posts: 5
Joined: 06 Jun 2024

Post 22 Jun 2024

artotaku wrote:
22 Jun 2024
You are nearly there but there are some manual steps required since you are using a generic codec for APC64 and the controller must be "locked" to the Reason Big Mixer master section so the auto mapping can apply.

1. Open remote map file (MIDI Keyboard w Controls.remotemap) for the generic keyboard remote codec. On Windows it´s somewhere here C:\Program Files\Propellerhead\Reason 13\Remote\DefaultMaps\Other\MIDI Keyboard w Controls.remotemap in a text editor, search for "Reason Master Section". There, you see that the channel level entries are commented out.
This is because the generic codec does not know about any controller specific MIDI CCs so you have to set them manually.

Code: Select all

//<	20110628
Scope	Propellerheads	Reason Master Section
//	Control Surface Item	Key	Remotable Item	Scale	Mode
Map	CC 07		Master Level
Map	CC 12		Threshold
Map	CC 13		Attack
Map	CC 14		Release
Map	CC 16		Ratio
Map	CC 18		Make-Up Gain
//Map	CC ??		Channel 1 Level
//Map	CC ??		Channel 2 Level
//Map	CC ??		Channel 3 Level
//Map	CC ??		Channel 4 Level
//Map	CC ??		Channel 5 Level
//Map	CC ??		Channel 6 Level
//Map	CC ??		Channel 7 Level
//Map	CC ??		Channel 8 Level
Remove the // from channel level entries and replace the ?? by your specific CCs in decimals (0 - 127) of the APC64
and save the file

2. Restart Reason, add some mix channels and lock the MIDI keyboard control surface to the master section (right click on master section -> Context Menu -> Lock ....

I think the lock is saved with the Reason document so it keeps the lock assignment per document.


Roberto Tafuro wrote:
22 Jun 2024
Hello and sorry for my bad English. As the title says, I'm struggling to understand how MIDI works in Reason. I don't care if the Play/Stop/Rec functions don't work. I'm only mapping the 8 faders to CC16 and onwards in the APC project manager. I save the settings, enable MIDI send from everywhere, set the APC to standalone mode, and in Custom settings, I'm sending MIDI from everywhere :)

When I look at the fader map in the controller, everything is set up correctly: faders are mapped from CC16 to CC23.

In Reason's MIDI preferences, I've chosen a generic MIDI keyboard. It recognizes the APC as a controller and receives MIDI data from the faders. I've tried the sync option, selecting the APC, but nothing seems to work. I have to manually map the faders with an override action.

Can someone help me or at least tell me if this "auto map" is not possible at all?

Thank you in advance!
Thank you fo the reply! I'll try it now. Thank you again!

  • Information
  • Who is online

    Users browsing this forum: CommonCrawl [Bot] and 0 guests