Looking to buy next MacBook help!!!

Want to talk about music hardware or software that doesn't include Reason?
gritz

17 Nov 2022

Hi all,

Circumstances have occurred which will allow me to purchase a new macbook and looking at the newer models however, not sure which would
Be best for music production especially with using Reason 12.

I don’t want to just get the most expensive version all singing and dancing if the high end additions are not really adding to my music production quality of life,
I understand for instance that GPU size is really for graphics and would I need 16gb of GPU, sure if I was a video editor but not for music production.

So my question is this, simply I want to update my macbook (2015) to a new one, which would be most suitable for me?

I use REASON 12 as my DAW and I use arturia V9 and native instruments Konkakt as well as cherry audio soft synths and 8DIO orchestra packages for strings.
With that in mind, what is the best MACBOOK for memory and speed, E.G. 2021 Apple MacBook Pro 16", M1 Max Processor, 32GB RAM, 1TB SSD ?

Heater

17 Nov 2022

I've got a MacBook Air M1 8G and it's been more than fine for music production.

stillifegaijin

17 Nov 2022

I just got the base model 14" MacBook Pro. M1 Pro chip. It's amazing and more than enough. I'm not sure that any upgrade aside from maybe more storage would be particularly useful.

I did not go with the M2 Air because I was concerned about throttling from heat due to lack of fan, especially at live shows.

Yonatan

18 Nov 2022

I am in similar situation and wonder how the fans in Macbook Pro is working. One of the biggest annayances in my earlier macbook is the loud fan noise.

gritz

18 Nov 2022

I think my main concern is getting a MacBook where I’m paying for elements I won’t need eg more for video editing etc - but need more memory and more storage availability

stillifegaijin

19 Nov 2022

Yonatan wrote:
18 Nov 2022