arturia augmented piano cpu heavy

Want to talk about music hardware or software that doesn't include Reason?
User avatar
gritz
Posts: 215
Joined: 08 May 2018
Location: London

Post 15 Nov 2022

Anyone experiencing dropouts cracking and stuttering on reason 12 when using this and the string version

User avatar
joeyluck
Moderator
Posts: 10105
Joined: 15 Jan 2015

Post 15 Nov 2022

Augmented Strings is one of the most CPU intensive plugins I've ever used. Arturia stuff has never been very CPU efficient IMO.

MuttReason
Posts: 227
Joined: 28 Jan 2021

Post 15 Nov 2022

Second that. I love their soft synths (great design and GUI) but they are pretty heavy on CPU. Similar to Roland Cloud instruments in that sense. A good reminder that Reason is still pretty damn efficient under the hood. I can load up the rack with Europas all day long - more than I could ever use in any track I’ve ever created - and barely nudge the CPU (on my Intel iMac Pro). Can’t say the same about most plugins I use.

User avatar
Jackjackdaw
Posts: 1125
Joined: 12 Jan 2019

Post 15 Nov 2022

The strings rinsed my laptop. Sounded really lush though on the patches that didn’t max out. I had no problems with Arturia v7 but updates of stuff since then have been hogging. I rolled everything back to the versions that worked on my gear and remind myself not to hit update.

User avatar
gritz
Posts: 215
Joined: 08 May 2018
Location: London

Post 16 Nov 2022

Damn thanks guys that’s annoying - wonder how other daw users get on

Chi-Individual
Posts: 272
Joined: 09 Apr 2020

Post 16 Nov 2022

gritz wrote:
16 Nov 2022
Damn thanks guys that’s annoying - wonder how other daw users get on
I used AS in Studio One 5 Pro which is almost as efficient on my M1 MBP as R12 and one chord sequence still spiked it to 45% usage in an instant. Arturia is just heavy handed.

Oh, and that one instance was the only instrument in the project. I tried it on purpose just to see if R12 was performing bad. It’s just auturia.

User avatar
gritz
Posts: 215
Joined: 08 May 2018
Location: London

Post 16 Nov 2022

But surely no one could possibly use their soft synths on anything unless you have a massive computer

User avatar
DaveyG
Posts: 1842
Joined: 03 May 2020

Post 16 Nov 2022

gritz wrote:
16 Nov 2022
But surely no one could possibly use their soft synths on anything unless you have a massive computer
Track freeze, brother. Track freeze.

Chi-Individual
Posts: 272
Joined: 09 Apr 2020

Post 16 Nov 2022



He’s using nothing but Arturia Products in this vid. Just keep an eye on the Bitwig dsp meter at the top. They still have some of the best sounding synths and fx despite being so heavy handed on your system.

User avatar
selig
RE Developer
Posts: 10563
Joined: 15 Jan 2015
Location: The NorthWoods, CT, USA

Post 16 Nov 2022

Chi-Individual wrote:
16 Nov 2022


He’s using nothing but Arturia Products in this vid. Just keep an eye on the Bitwig dsp meter at the top. They still have some of the best sounding synths and fx despite being so heavy handed on your system.
Or maybe BECAUSE of being so heavy handed? ;)
I have V collection 8 which doesn’t include the ‘augmented’ series, so I haven’t noticed any huge difference between Arturia and others.
Selig Audio, LLC

User avatar
StephenHutchinson
Posts: 378
Joined: 27 Sep 2019

Post 16 Nov 2022

gritz wrote:
15 Nov 2022
Anyone experiencing dropouts cracking and stuttering on reason 12 when using this and the string version
I had this happen on my MacBook Air (2015), but when installing it on my Mac mini M1 (16GB) no stutters or anything. Tested in Reason 12, Bitwig 4.4.3, and Ableton LIVE 11.5.
:reason: Reason User Since Version 1.0
:refill: Reason Sound Design & Content Creation
Sound Dimension https://www.sounddimension.io

ReFiils: Ambientia Cinematic Soundscapes | String Theory (Friktion) | Algoritmo (Algoritm)

Chi-Individual
Posts: 272
Joined: 09 Apr 2020

Post 16 Nov 2022

selig wrote:
16 Nov 2022
Or maybe BECAUSE of being so heavy handed? ;)
I have V collection 8 which doesn’t include the ‘augmented’ series, so I haven’t noticed any huge difference between Arturia and others.
I cannot argue that point. I’m still eyeing V9. And pigments just works. I’m trying to be strong and not buy it but my will is slowly breaking :lol:

Goriila Texas
Posts: 854
Joined: 31 Aug 2015
Location: Houston TX

Post 17 Nov 2022

I'm on Studio One v6 Pro could only get it to go up to 25% even when I turned the Poly up to 16 playing chords with both hands. Must be a Mac or Reason thing I have no issue on my PC using S1 V6 and I tested it with my template song which loads up with RRP loaded with Mimmic and Radical Pianos, Maschine, Scaler and Impact drum module.


Chi-Individual wrote:
16 Nov 2022
gritz wrote:
16 Nov 2022
Damn thanks guys that’s annoying - wonder how other daw users get on
I used AS in Studio One 5 Pro which is almost as efficient on my M1 MBP as R12 and one chord sequence still spiked it to 45% usage in an instant. Arturia is just heavy handed.

Oh, and that one instance was the only instrument in the project. I tried it on purpose just to see if R12 was performing bad. It’s just auturia.

User avatar
manisnotabird
Posts: 471
Joined: 20 Feb 2015
Location: Austin, TX

Post 22 Nov 2022

Both the other augmented instruments are extremely CPU heavy. I can get other plugins to use as much CPU as the average augemented strings/voices patch, but I have to go out of my way to set every quality knob to maximum and set a huge maximum polyphony and set a massive unison detune.

  • Information
  • Who is online

    Users browsing this forum: CommonCrawl [Bot], CrunkNationEnt and 3 guests