IEMs VS Headphones and Speakers

Want to talk about music hardware or software that doesn't include Reason?
RobC

30 Aug 2022

So, once again, I'm here confused, since I was told that I'm 100% wrong about IEMs.

People say that IEMs have worse dynamics than Headphones, or Speakers.
Well, I guess that since IEMs need less power, noise floor can become a problem. This can be solved with lowering gain, but that drops the dynamic range as well. The headphone amp I will be using, will still be able to provide 100 dB dynamic range in the worst case. Otherwise it might even nail way more than the recommended best case for human hearing, aka. 116 dB, noise and distortion free.
So, going by that, I'm at the point that I guess I was WRONG that IEMs can't compete when it comes to dynamic range.

(BTW, I'm using triple driver, BA IEMs and they did an excellent job with them. There's literally nothing I can complain about. And I have 17 years of experience as a musician (both analytical and critical listening), and 20 with sound editing. Majorly on Headphones and IEMs.)

Stereo, or rather binaural separation. Seriously, who can argue that IEMs, wouldn't be the best at having the widest possible sound?

Stereo depth and sound stage. I guess the experience is more fun with open back headphones (though I think, there are open back IEMs, too now), and obviously the best with speakers. However, if you know music and how the depth sounds with closed back headphones and IEMs, then what's your excuse, not being able to set it up properly? Why couldn't you make it translate back and forth?