Running intro on a low powered computer

Want to talk about music hardware or software that doesn't include Reason?
Mishon
Posts: 4
Joined: 23 Nov 2021

Post 23 Nov 2021

Hi all,
I want to get back into making music (its been quite a while).

I have quite a low powered machine and am looking at buying a friends copy of reason 11 intro.
Would it be able to run on an intel G3258? (I intend to overclock).

It dosent need to run great, just enough for me to tinker.

Cheers all

User avatar
EnochLight
Moderator
Posts: 7430
Joined: 17 Jan 2015
Location: Useless Moderator

Post 23 Nov 2021

Mishon wrote:
23 Nov 2021
looking at buying a friends copy of reason 11 intro.
Would it be able to run on an intel G3258? (I intend to overclock).

It dosent need to run great, just enough for me to tinker.

Cheers all
Will it run? Probably. Barely. That G3258 scores noticeably slower than my 3770k, plus it’s only dual-core. Reason 11 will run, but I wouldn’t expect it to run great.

I’d also look at this:

https://help.reasonstudios.com/hc/en-us ... Reason-12-
Win 10 | Abelton Live 11 Suite |  Reason 12 | i7 3770k @ 3.5 Ghz | 16 GB RAM | Sumsung 870 QVO 2 TB SSD | RME Babyface Pro | Akai MPC Live 2 & Akai Force | Roland System 8, TR-8 7x7, MX1, TB3 | Dreadbox Typhon | Korg Minilogue XD

Mishon
Posts: 4
Joined: 23 Nov 2021

Post 23 Nov 2021

If it works (even barely) I'm happy. Plus it gives me a good reason to get a new cpu down the line 😁.

Many thanks EnochLight

User avatar
EnochLight
Moderator
Posts: 7430
Joined: 17 Jan 2015
Location: Useless Moderator

Post 23 Nov 2021

Mishon wrote:
23 Nov 2021
If it works (even barely) I'm happy. Plus it gives me a good reason to get a new cpu down the line 😁.

Many thanks EnochLight
No problem - just make sure you turn off Hyperthreading (in Reason) and turn on multi-core in the Preferences. You'll get some life out of that G3258. Just make sure your system has at least 4 GB of RAM, though 8 GB or more is much, much better. :thumbup:
Win 10 | Abelton Live 11 Suite |  Reason 12 | i7 3770k @ 3.5 Ghz | 16 GB RAM | Sumsung 870 QVO 2 TB SSD | RME Babyface Pro | Akai MPC Live 2 & Akai Force | Roland System 8, TR-8 7x7, MX1, TB3 | Dreadbox Typhon | Korg Minilogue XD

Mishon
Posts: 4
Joined: 23 Nov 2021

Post 24 Nov 2021

Legend thanks mate :D :thumbup:

User avatar
fullforce
Posts: 559
Joined: 18 Aug 2018

Post 24 Nov 2021

EnochLight wrote:
23 Nov 2021
Mishon wrote:
23 Nov 2021
If it works (even barely) I'm happy. Plus it gives me a good reason to get a new cpu down the line 😁.

Many thanks EnochLight
No problem - just make sure you turn off Hyperthreading (in Reason) and turn on multi-core in the Preferences. You'll get some life out of that G3258. Just make sure your system has at least 4 GB of RAM, though 8 GB or more is much, much better. :thumbup:
4GB for Reason 11? Are you joking?
This is a block of text that can be added to posts you make. There is a 255 character limit.

User avatar
Billy+
Posts: 3165
Joined: 09 Dec 2016

Post 24 Nov 2021

fullforce wrote:
24 Nov 2021
EnochLight wrote:
23 Nov 2021


No problem - just make sure you turn off Hyperthreading (in Reason) and turn on multi-core in the Preferences. You'll get some life out of that G3258. Just make sure your system has at least 4 GB of RAM, though 8 GB or more is much, much better. :thumbup:
4GB for Reason 11? Are you joking?
I'm running R11 on an old laptop with only 4GB of ram that I setup to trial R12+ and it's perfectly ok for a dozen or so tracks to get an idea going its quad core though ;)
VST 2.4 MIDI It's definitely on the list of todos
Using Reason since version 1 is R11 going to be my final version :shock:

ˁ˚ᴥ˚ˀ Time for a good long sleep ˁ˚ᴥ˚ˀ

Mishon
Posts: 4
Joined: 23 Nov 2021

Post 24 Nov 2021

I'm waiting on the licence transfer.
If it works I'll list my specs so you can all have a chuckle :D

User avatar
reusenoise
Posts: 64
Joined: 21 Dec 2019

Post 24 Nov 2021

I'm running R11 on an old Asus laptop from 2010 bought on a backyard sale for 20 euro,it's works quite well with a dozen of tracks,enought ti sketches some ideas

User avatar
EnochLight
Moderator
Posts: 7430
Joined: 17 Jan 2015
Location: Useless Moderator

Post 25 Nov 2021

:thumbup:
fullforce wrote:
24 Nov 2021

4GB for Reason 11? Are you joking?
:thumbup:

https://help.reasonstudios.com/hc/en-us ... Reason-12-
Win 10 | Abelton Live 11 Suite |  Reason 12 | i7 3770k @ 3.5 Ghz | 16 GB RAM | Sumsung 870 QVO 2 TB SSD | RME Babyface Pro | Akai MPC Live 2 & Akai Force | Roland System 8, TR-8 7x7, MX1, TB3 | Dreadbox Typhon | Korg Minilogue XD

  • Information
  • Who is online

    Users browsing this forum: CommonCrawl [Bot] and 1 guest