Build a new hardware setup for making music - no display anymore

Want to talk about music hardware or software that doesn't include Reason?
Eddi-16
Posts: 172
Joined: 12 Aug 2017

Post 16 Nov 2021

Hi all,

because of my job and projects I am very often in front of the computer-displays and I am really thinking about to put my loved reason 12 behind the track buildup for mixing only and start a complete new music producing new life with hardware. Then I want to record it live with - lets say maximum 8 tracks - in adobe audition or reason. I already learned an instrument the last years and I really love reason, but my spare time needs now really more distance from all kind of monitors.

I already have a piano like midi keyboard with own sounds and an aturia Beatstep Pro to control Redrum or Kong and make the beats.

So: where to start to go analogue now completely? i want to jam and mix and the nroute my mix live into adobe audition with up to 8 seperate tracks?

I want to jam and record this kind of dubby electronic techno music:



Any ideas, inspirations or any experiences with setting up a small music hardware setup? I have around 1000€ budget. I already have speakers, software and interface its only about to transform the virtual reason devices into reality with not that much money :)

Cheers

Edit: No "big" displays anymore - for shure I want to master the tracks in adobe audition or reason in the end after recording with my laptop....with its display.

User avatar
bxbrkrz
Posts: 2666
Joined: 17 Jan 2015

Post 16 Nov 2021

Have you heard of www.elektron.se ?
757365206c6f67696320746f207365656b20616e73776572732075736520726561736f6e20746f2066696e6420776973646f6d

Eddi-16
Posts: 172
Joined: 12 Aug 2017

Post 16 Nov 2021

Thanks - yes, but it feels - but I have to say that I have not a clue about it - really fiddly to me.....feels like to move through a small display and many submenus....in my opinion a really "reason/hardware - unlike - flow".

Or am I wrong?

User avatar
bxbrkrz
Posts: 2666
Joined: 17 Jan 2015

Post 16 Nov 2021

You are not wrong. It is one of many possibilities, based on your need for "no big displays anymore."
757365206c6f67696320746f207365656b20616e73776572732075736520726561736f6e20746f2066696e6420776973646f6d

User avatar
miyaru
Posts: 278
Joined: 28 Oct 2019
Location: Zaanstad, The Netherlands

Post 16 Nov 2021

Try to get hold of an old hardware sequencer. I mean something like my Yamaha RM1x or so.

Image

These can be used stand alone or being hooked up to Reason. These older machines are fun to use, and can be bought for reasenable prices often.

Greetings from Miyaru.
Prodaw i7-7700, 16Gb Ram, Focusrite Scarlett 18i20 3rd gen, ESI M4U eX, Reason Suite 11, Live Suit 10, Push2, Presonus Eris E8 and Monitor Station V2, Lexicon MPX1,
Korg N1, Yamaha RM1x :thumbup:

User avatar
deeplink
Posts: 563
Joined: 08 Jul 2020
Location: Dubai / Cape Town

Post 16 Nov 2021

Eddi-16 wrote:
16 Nov 2021
Thanks - yes, but it feels - but I have to say that I have not a clue about it - really fiddly to me.....feels like to move through a small display and many submenus....in my opinion a really "reason/hardware - unlike - flow".

Or am I wrong?
Not much menu diving.. or any besides project/device settings. The screen simply tells you what your encoders are controlling, and you change their destination using buttons.

It's more button diving actually. With a lot dual function buttons, that's where the learning curve comes from.
Combinators, ReFills and RS SoundPacks my GoogleDrive: [deeplink] Open RS-Project

User avatar
jam-s
Posts: 1698
Joined: 17 Apr 2015
Location: Aachen, Germany

Post 16 Nov 2021

Not an analogue box, but a Novation circuit Tracks might be something you fancy: https://novationmusic.com/en/circuit/circuit-tracks

If you're in Aachen, come and visit us at the Voidspace. ... Pool's closed due to corona.

PhillipOrdonez
Posts: 2601
Joined: 20 Oct 2017
Location: Norway

Post 17 Nov 2021

You need a sample player, sequencer, synth, (how many inputs does your card have?

I would start with a digitakt cause of overbridge and sequencer, plus a small synth, the microfreak is a good, versatile option. Or one of those Yamaha reface ones.


RT Warning level: 1

🏁

Eddi-16
Posts: 172
Joined: 12 Aug 2017

Post 17 Nov 2021

Thanks! I have a Scarlet 2i2 only, 2 Inputs, no Midi in, but can change if I have to...

+ I have a beatstep pro & 61 Keyboard with own Sound already
Last edited by Eddi-16 on 17 Nov 2021, edited 1 time in total.

User avatar
miyaru
Posts: 278
Joined: 28 Oct 2019
Location: Zaanstad, The Netherlands

Post 17 Nov 2021

Or to end it all, you do not need nothing anymore:

https://www.sweetwater.com/store/detail ... -sequencer

I would get along with it anyway!!!! :clap:
Greetings from Miyaru.
Prodaw i7-7700, 16Gb Ram, Focusrite Scarlett 18i20 3rd gen, ESI M4U eX, Reason Suite 11, Live Suit 10, Push2, Presonus Eris E8 and Monitor Station V2, Lexicon MPX1,
Korg N1, Yamaha RM1x :thumbup:

PhillipOrdonez
Posts: 2601
Joined: 20 Oct 2017
Location: Norway

Post 17 Nov 2021

Eddi-16 wrote:
17 Nov 2021
Thanks! I have a Scarlet 2i2 only, 2 Inputs, no Midi in, but can change if I have to...

+ I have a beatstep pro & 61 Keyboard with own Sound already
Two inputs is enough cause with the DT you get to multitrack all 8 outputs separately via overbridge. You can also record the input (microfreak for example) directly through overbridge so you still have the two inputs on your card free for your keyboard plus another instrument you may add later on.


RT Warning level: 1

🏁

Eddi-16
Posts: 172
Joined: 12 Aug 2017

Post 17 Nov 2021

So thsi AKAI Force is really interesting, maybe its a good compromise

User avatar
artotaku
Posts: 616
Joined: 09 May 2015
Location: Munich, Germany

Post 17 Nov 2021

Eddi-16 wrote:
16 Nov 2021
Hi all,

because of my job and projects I am very often in front of the computer-displays ...
I´m in the same situation. Sitting in front of a computer all day at my job makes it quite exhausting working with a DAW in my spare time. To try something different I bought a Digitone (my first hardware synth since 20 years).
While it´s fun working with it, the difference is that I now stare at a very tiny screen ;-)

Joking aside, I don´t know if a workstation like Akai Force or MPC X Series makes the situation better. Their display play an important role I assume that you end up further staring at screens.

The modular route, analog type step sequencers or learning how to play keyboard/finger drumming is maybe a better option.

Eddi-16
Posts: 172
Joined: 12 Aug 2017

Post 17 Nov 2021

OK, makes sense, but youre not working with the mouse and keyboard anymore, aren't you? Its a bit other feeling than sitting in front of a classic DAW?

User avatar
bxbrkrz
Posts: 2666
Joined: 17 Jan 2015

Post 17 Nov 2021

Beyond a mouse and a keyboard, some may want to stay away from a touch screen. With a touch screen you absolutely need to focus, then move your finger, like a mouse, to validate your decisions. Gestures, like zoom in and out, are obviously the same when using a phone, or a tablet. You may want to check and compare the total weight and size (Digitack vs Force) of the gear before a final purchase.

https://comparesizes.com
757365206c6f67696320746f207365656b20616e73776572732075736520726561736f6e20746f2066696e6420776973646f6d

User avatar
Zac
Posts: 1770
Joined: 19 May 2016

Post 17 Nov 2021

If I wanted a very compact good value for money set up that also plays well with a DAW I'd get an Elektron Digitone and a Roland MC-101.

I have the Digitone, it's just plain great. 4 audio tracks and 4 midi tracks... So you could sequence the mc-101 from it.

I had the mc-101 and will get one again. 4 audio tracks, all the roland drum sounds and 1000s of synth sounds.

Both have audio and midi over USB.

Probably looking at £450+ and £280+ on eBay.

User avatar
stillifegaijin
Posts: 88
Joined: 27 Oct 2020

Post 17 Nov 2021

Saw a video on this recently - https://synthstrom.com/product/deluge/

Might be the sort of thing you are looking for....I've never used it myself but it looks pretty cool.

PhillipOrdonez
Posts: 2601
Joined: 20 Oct 2017
Location: Norway

Post 17 Nov 2021

stillifegaijin wrote:
17 Nov 2021
Saw a video on this recently - https://synthstrom.com/product/deluge/

Might be the sort of thing you are looking for....I've never used it myself but it looks pretty cool.
That's definitely a winner if op wants as little display as possible.


RT Warning level: 1

🏁

User avatar
jam-s
Posts: 1698
Joined: 17 Apr 2015
Location: Aachen, Germany

Post 17 Nov 2021

PhillipOrdonez wrote:
17 Nov 2021
That's definitely a winner if op wants as little display as possible.
The Circuit Tracks has even less (=no) display. :puf_bigsmile:
If you're in Aachen, come and visit us at the Voidspace. ... Pool's closed due to corona.

User avatar
fieldframe
Posts: 1006
Joined: 19 Apr 2016

Post 17 Nov 2021

If you want less screen than an Akai Force but more external sequencing than a Novation Circuit, the Korg SQ-64 might be what you’re looking for: https://www.korg.com/us/products/dj/sq_64/
The Iron Law of Reason forums: All topics eventually turn into feature request threads; the only difference is how many posts it takes.

User avatar
QVprod
Moderator
Posts: 3019
Joined: 15 Jan 2015

Post 18 Nov 2021

Worth noting that moving to a hardware setup does mean you lose some flexibility that you have with software and you’re likely still gonna look at some kind of screen. Also sending midi to hardware synths when you’re used to working with software can be a bit of a chore, dealing with multiple midi channels…etc… With that in mind, I’d suggest Machine Plus. Gives you the most sound flexibility with included instruments and some expansion options. While still being standalone. You can then load the the project on a computer later to bounce stems/files for mixing elsewhere rather than having to record it. https://www.sweetwater.com/store/detail ... instrument

Another option is some have found success using one of the Nektar panorama controllers to make Reason feel almost like hardware and minimize computer screen time. Since you already have a keyboard and drum controller, perhaps a Nektar P1 might be an option https://www.sweetwater.com/store/detail ... ol-surface.

PhillipOrdonez
Posts: 2601
Joined: 20 Oct 2017
Location: Norway

Post 18 Nov 2021

jam-s wrote:
17 Nov 2021
PhillipOrdonez wrote:
17 Nov 2021
That's definitely a winner if op wants as little display as possible.
The Circuit Tracks has even less (=no) display. :puf_bigsmile:
Haha that is true 😀


RT Warning level: 1

🏁

User avatar
artotaku
Posts: 616
Joined: 09 May 2015
Location: Munich, Germany

Post 18 Nov 2021

Eddi-16 wrote:
17 Nov 2021
OK, makes sense, but youre not working with the mouse and keyboard anymore, aren't you? Its a bit other feeling than sitting in front of a classic DAW?
True, turning more than one knob at once is cool. And it´s more immediate when changing sound parameters. Entering notes or chords in step mode is a bit cumbersome where you´d wish to have full blown sequencer display but you get another way of access for doing an arrangement (e. g. limit yourself, more minimalistic etc). All in all Elektron did a really good job packing stuff in such a compact device and it sounds great.

  • Information
  • Who is online

    Users browsing this forum: CommonCrawl [Bot] and 2 guests