Windows 11 - dive in or wait?

Want to talk about music hardware or software that doesn't include Reason?
User avatar
mcatalao
Posts: 1565
Joined: 17 Jan 2015

Post 04 Nov 2021

This might change if you upgrade your pc in the next months to a 12th gen Intel.
Windows 11 has a new scheduler for it and for now, Win 10 is not patched for 12th gen. Maybe in the next months W10 gets a patch and upgrading the Hardware still in Win 10 is worth it. I don't know.

If you're not upgrading hardware, stick with 10!

User avatar
Neo
Posts: 214
Joined: 21 May 2015
Location: Melbourne Australia

Post 07 Nov 2021

I might wait for official hardware/audio drivers before updating.. that and VST3 support before doing a full clean install.

No issues from this user:
:reason: :re: :ignition: Atari 1040ST | R11 Suite 🡭 R12 | i7 | RME

Goriila Texas
Posts: 728
Joined: 31 Aug 2015
Location: Houston TX

Post 07 Nov 2021

Hell I have a fairly new Alienware computer and Microsoft is saying my computer isn't compatible with with v11 because of some TPM 2.0 setting. I'm tired of Windows my last laptop couldn't be upgraded and stuck on v8 and now my 2 year old 6 core that I maxed out with 64 Gb of ram at 3200mhz and 2 TB M.2 can't be upgraded because TPM is greyed out in my bios. My next computer will be a M1 chip Mac.


Neo wrote:
07 Nov 2021
I might wait for official hardware/audio drivers before updating.. that and VST3 support before doing a full clean install.

No issues from this user:

User avatar
DaveyG
Posts: 1322
Joined: 03 May 2020

Post 07 Nov 2021

Goriila Texas wrote:
07 Nov 2021
My next computer will be a M1 chip Mac.
Mine probably will also be an M1 despite the price premium. Not because of any disillusionment about Windows but because Apple seem to have absolutely nailed it

User avatar
Neo
Posts: 214
Joined: 21 May 2015
Location: Melbourne Australia

Post 08 Nov 2021

Goriila Texas wrote:
07 Nov 2021
Hell I have a fairly new Alienware computer and Microsoft is saying my computer isn't compatible with with v11 because of some TPM 2.0 setting. I'm tired of Windows my last laptop couldn't be upgraded and stuck on v8 and now my 2 year old 6 core that I maxed out with 64 Gb of ram at 3200mhz and 2 TB M.2 can't be upgraded because TPM is greyed out in my bios. My next computer will be a M1 chip Mac.
Neo wrote:
07 Nov 2021
I might wait for official hardware/audio drivers before updating.. that and VST3 support before doing a full clean install.
You checked the BIOS yeah? A quick toggle and you should be ok.

https://www.wepc.com/how-to/enable-tpm-for-windows-11/

Is TPM Version 2.0 Enabled On My PC:
WIN + R
type: tpm.msc
DaveyG wrote:
07 Nov 2021


Mine probably will also be an M1 despite the price premium. Not because of any disillusionment about Windows but because Apple seem to have absolutely nailed it
How tempting! Lets see how Intel's next generation performs.
:reason: :re: :ignition: Atari 1040ST | R11 Suite 🡭 R12 | i7 | RME

Goriila Texas
Posts: 728
Joined: 31 Aug 2015
Location: Houston TX

Post 08 Nov 2021

I did all that and it didn’t work so I checked my TPM settings in my BIOS and it’s greyed out. Dell has said some computers have to download the TPM 2.0 software and Bios update. I’m just tired of PC BS I shouldn’t have to be digging all in my Bios trying to figure shyt out. In 3 years I’ll be on a Mac 🖥.


Neo wrote:
08 Nov 2021
Goriila Texas wrote:
07 Nov 2021
Hell I have a fairly new Alienware computer and Microsoft is saying my computer isn't compatible with with v11 because of some TPM 2.0 setting. I'm tired of Windows my last laptop couldn't be upgraded and stuck on v8 and now my 2 year old 6 core that I maxed out with 64 Gb of ram at 3200mhz and 2 TB M.2 can't be upgraded because TPM is greyed out in my bios. My next computer will be a M1 chip Mac.



You checked the BIOS yeah? A quick toggle and you should be ok.

https://www.wepc.com/how-to/enable-tpm-for-windows-11/

Is TPM Version 2.0 Enabled On My PC:
WIN + R
type: tpm.msc



How tempting! Lets see how Intel's next generation performs.

kitekrazy
Posts: 894
Joined: 19 Jan 2015

Post 11 Nov 2021

challism wrote:
04 Nov 2021
The old saying, "if it ain't broken, don't fix it" seems to apply here.
If only a majority of developers believed that.

jlgrimes
Posts: 573
Joined: 06 Jun 2017

Post 12 Nov 2021

CaptainBlack wrote:
05 Oct 2021
Is Reason going to be fine under the newly available OS or should I wait till some future optimisation?
It's usually not a good idea to be the early adopter of Operating Systems. As a general rule I try to wait about 6 months or so (usually by then major issues are usually sorted out). That said chances are early adopter issues are usually minor but you never know and you usually gain very little anyway by instantly going to a new OS immediately on a DAW Computer as your DAW software would most likely still support the older version or even recommend the older version for some time.

  • Information
  • Who is online

    Users browsing this forum: CommonCrawl [Bot] and 1 guest