CLOUDKEYS; an innovative Touch Workspace software for the Reason DAW.

Want to talk about music hardware or software that doesn't include Reason?
PGR
Posts: 79
Joined: 19 Jan 2015

Post 19 Jan 2021

For controlling Reason with a touchscreen:
https://www.zendaw.com/

User avatar
sonicbyte
Posts: 277
Joined: 16 Jan 2015
Location: Argentina

Post 19 Jan 2021

Interesting !

User avatar
marcuswitt
Posts: 178
Joined: 17 Jan 2015

Post 19 Jan 2021

Looks nice, indeed, but currently available for Windows only, which is a bummer for Mac users.

bigguy1
Posts: 90
Joined: 28 Sep 2018

Post 19 Jan 2021


User avatar
Loque
Moderator
Posts: 8652
Joined: 28 Dec 2015

Post 19 Jan 2021

bigguy1 wrote:
19 Jan 2021
This is an interesting news:
https://www.gearnews.de/namm-2021-zenda ... recording/

Image
I merged the topics.
:reason: 11, Win10 64Bit.

User avatar
guitfnky
Posts: 3061
Joined: 19 Jan 2015

Post 19 Jan 2021

so what’s the use case for this? do you use it directly on the computer you’re running Reason in? or does it connect a separate laptop so you can control an instance of Reason running on another computer?

it seems like it’s only available on PC, so not really available on any tablets? the main use for me would be to use shortcuts on a tablet to easily perform functions on my desktop PC. this doesn’t seem to fill a pressing need I can think of (of course I’m biased).

User avatar
pushedbutton
Posts: 1336
Joined: 16 Jan 2015
Location: Lancashire, UK

Post 19 Jan 2021

guitfnky wrote:
19 Jan 2021
so what’s the use case for this? do you use it directly on the computer you’re running Reason in? or does it connect a separate laptop so you can control an instance of Reason running on another computer?

it seems like it’s only available on PC, so not really available on any tablets? the main use for me would be to use shortcuts on a tablet to easily perform functions on my desktop PC. this doesn’t seem to fill a pressing need I can think of (of course I’m biased).
It looks like they're expecting you to dedicate one of your monitor outputs to it and that monitor needs to be a touchscreen.
If it was an android application that controlled Reason over wifi I'd be shopping for a new tablet right now but it's just a windows program.
@pushedbutton on twitter, add me, send me a message, but don't try to sell me stuff cos I'm skint.
Using Reason since version 3 and still never finished a song.

User avatar
guitfnky
Posts: 3061
Joined: 19 Jan 2015

Post 19 Jan 2021

pushedbutton wrote:
19 Jan 2021
guitfnky wrote:
19 Jan 2021
so what’s the use case for this? do you use it directly on the computer you’re running Reason in? or does it connect a separate laptop so you can control an instance of Reason running on another computer?

it seems like it’s only available on PC, so not really available on any tablets? the main use for me would be to use shortcuts on a tablet to easily perform functions on my desktop PC. this doesn’t seem to fill a pressing need I can think of (of course I’m biased).
It looks like they're expecting you to dedicate one of your monitor outputs to it and that monitor needs to be a touchscreen.
If it was an android application that controlled Reason over wifi I'd be shopping for a new tablet right now but it's just a windows program.
yeah, that’s weird. might be fun to mess around with got a few minutes, but having to physically reach over to a monitor to use a touchscreen would get old really quickly.

User avatar
moalla
Posts: 77
Joined: 20 Oct 2017

Post 20 Jan 2021

New Touch Interface for 130 Reason Shortcuts at FUll HD Touchscreens.
Really Interresting, but i don’t have a Screen like this, so retouchduo is more useable for me. So maybe someone could has a comparable display https://www.zendaw.com/products/p3981-CLOUDKEYS/
there is no right life in the wrong one [T.W. Adorno]
MAKE REALITY GREAT AGAIN

Läpptop mit zuviele Plugins :)

User avatar
mcatalao
Posts: 1398
Joined: 17 Jan 2015

Post 20 Jan 2021

CloudKeys is not a control surface, I think retouchDuo does different stuff than this. So controlling a fader in the mix or a device, is not on the scope of cloudkeys.

CloudKeys probably uses keyboard automation to send keystrokes to reason. I was reading what that does, and the functions are pretty bound to whatever key commands exist. TBH, though it's interesting from the concept of having this on a monitor, it's quite limited imho.

I'm doing some similar stuff with AHK, it works. But tbh, for my usage scenario i prefer to use my keyboard and controllers for additional HotKeys than having a 4th monitor, specially when they are quite costly. I have a surface, but i don't think CloudKeys can run on the Surface and send keys to reason. So you'd be spending a good amount on a touch screen just for this. PLUS, i can do pretty slick stuff with AHK, and this software is stuck with whatever commands reason allows it.

User avatar
gullum
Posts: 896
Joined: 15 Jan 2015
Location: Faroe Islands

Post 21 Jan 2021

might be cool the first 1 or 2 weeks then going back to using keyboard again I would rather get a Elgato Stream Deck they cost more but to add in the cost of a touch screen they are still cheaper

User avatar
kaplain
Posts: 1
Joined: 21 Jan 2021

Post 21 Jan 2021

Well you don't necessarily need a big and expensive touch monitor to run CLOUDKEYS. I have a 15'6 Waveshare and they cost $200/€210.

https://www.waveshare.com/15.6inch-fhd-monitor.htm

https://www.kubii.fr/ecrans-afficheurs/ ... 98453.html

User avatar
Proboscis
Posts: 889
Joined: 28 Aug 2019

Post 22 Jan 2021

It's great that a developer is coding this type of thing for Reason (and Bitwig & ProTools).

Where's the developer though ? It would be great of he/she/they joined this thread for an open discussion on their $65 app.

My two cents worth of general queries are:

1. Why would I dedicate a monitor to shortcuts that are available on the keyboard ? I run two monitors when using Reason - one for the sequencer, and one for the rack. I've also detached the SSL for quick F5 display focus, and I know which monitor its going to open in. If I had three monitors (which I don't, and my PC doesn't support it), I'm not sure I would run CloudKeys on it, but instead have the SSL on permanent display.

2. How popular are touch-screens in the hobby/enthusiast market of music producers/songwriters/composers ? I run a pretty basic studio rig of an 'all in one' i5, 8GB RAM, integrated graphics PC with a 27" display, and a HDMI-connected 29" secondary monitor. I also recently purchased a reasonably spec'd laptop in mid 2020 ($1,800.. ouch!), but that also doesn't have touch-screen.

3. Didn't an outfit called "Slate Audio' or something similar a couple of years ago, a touch-screen DAW integration platform, for controlling the actual elements of a DAW, programmable, rather than just shortcuts ? If I were to dedicate a monitor to touch screen control, I would probably assign the SSL to it.

User avatar
Proboscis
Posts: 889
Joined: 28 Aug 2019

Post 22 Jan 2021

Ok here's the touch-screen app from Slate.

This seems like a brilliant execution. Better than a screen for shortcuts. Not sure it will work with Reason, though. Have vague recollections of reading something on this forum that suggested Reason doesn't offer multi-touch commands.

.

  • Information
  • Who is online

    Users browsing this forum: CommonCrawl [Bot] and 0 guests